We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to relax” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park

Save Saved
You added Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Jabiru Drive, Jabiru, Northern Territory 0886, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Wodonga, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good place to relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

This place was a great rest stop for an overnight stay in Kakadu however you could make it a base if you were looking at a few nights. The pool was fantastic and the restaurant food was great, it was also nice to have the option of a grassy site away from the red dirt! The camp kitchen was fairly basic but it did have a freezer which was fantastic on long hot days. Recommend.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pjhh, General Manager at Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at Kakadu Lodge. We value all feedback.
We consider our location to be easily accessable to many of Kakadu's natural attractions.
It was great to read that you enjoyed our bistro, it is very popular with tourist as well as the local residents of Jabiru and the surrounding areas.
We trust you enjoyed the rest of your travels within our region and look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Kind regards
Peter Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    86
    22
    1
    3
See reviews for
56
65
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Arrived at Kakadu Lodge to book a powered caravan site. very helpful attendant. Found lovely quiet site in natural setting.. Pool looked inviting but we wished to explore Ubirr which we could do with a drive from here via the Bowali visitor centre to buy a permit. Lodge is situated near to Jabiru so we were able to visit supermarket, post office, bank, petrol station and a wonderful bakery. Would have like to stay longer but time did not permit

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pjhh, General Manager at Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Kakadu Lodge is central to many of the attractions that Kakadu has to offer. It is a pity that you did not have sufficient time to explore its vast wilderness.
It was great to read that you had a peaceful stay, although you did not have the opportunity to get full use of our facilities, maybe next time.
We look forward to seeing you again soon at Kakadu Lodge or one of our other Aurora properties

Kind regards
Peter Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
138 hotel reviews
Reviews in 136 cities Reviews in 136 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We camped here for two nights, enjoying the shady site, camp kitchen, and lovely pool area. The toilets/showers were a bit tired, but I understand that they are gradually being refurbished - and they were always clean. The park is well-sited to see the National Park, and we made early starts then came back to the site to cool off in the pool.

However, on our third evening, disaster struck when we returned to our tent to find that it had been wrecked during the day by dingoes. Peter the manager was very apologetic, annoyed on our behalf, and helpful, preparing a report for our insurance company, and offering us a cabin for our last night. Apparently we should have been warned about dingoes upon arrival - although I'm not sure we'd have done anything differently.

Anyway, we don't want that story to scare anyone off, as this is an excellent site, especially the sparkling pool area, and the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pjhh, General Manager at Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at Kakadu Lodge. We value all feedback.
It certainly was an unfortunate incident in relation to your tent being attacked on the last night of your stay. The rangers from Kakadu National Park along with the Shire Council have undertaken a relocation program within the township of Jabiru to help reduce the chances of these kinds of incidents.
We provide information on Dingoes and what to do in their presence but we still get guests who are intent on feeding them, which is where the trouble initially stems from.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and I am pleased to inform you that we have commenced a refurbishment of our ablution facilities which should be ready by January 2013.
We look forward to seeing you again at Kakadu Lodge or one of our other Aurora properties

Kind regards
Peter Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

I have lived in Jabiru for 5 months and am leaving tomorrow! I have shared many meals with friends and its GREAT! The food can be somewhat hit and miss but mostly its great, the menu changes all the time and is fresh and tasty! Breakfast on Sundays is awesome!! Food is expensive but everything is out here! Drinks are well priced and the beer of the week is good!
If I can make a suggestion, I would like to see two lines when its busy! One for food and one for drinks! I have waited along time for a beer in the past after me meal!

Apart from that! Thanks for a lovely couple of months! Its been awesome in a really nice part of the country

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pjhh, General Manager at Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thanks for reviewing our bistro. The chefs appreciate your feedback. We take on board your comments in relation to service issues into the future.
We think that we offer good value for the product we deliver. We will not compromise on items such as buying local product wherever possible and will never serve imported produce, which is something that is becoming increasingly difficult.
Thank you for your patronage during your time spent in Jabiru and we look forward to welcoming you back should you return to this wonderful part of the country.

Kind regards
Peter Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed in a Cabin with our two kids. It was very exciting for the kids, weather was great in August and the service provided was excellent. Location is very central to most things to do at Kakadu.

Prices are a bit high for Asian travellers, but that can be said of most things in Australia.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pjhh, General Manager at Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our property. It was pleasing to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. The staff at the property are appreciative of the positive service comments.

We look forward to seeing you again at Kakadu Lodge or one of our other Aurora properties

Kind regards
Peter Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights at this caravan park with our two small children. It was great to be able to choose our own caravan site and we were fortunate to get a shady site close to the pool. The park was located within reasonable driving distance to the majority of the attractions in Kakadu and was handy to access the shops in Jabiru for grocery supplies. We were there in July and the day time temperature was very warm in the afternoon. We planned to do most of our sightseeing in the morning and it was great to come back to the pool and cool off in the afternoon - a must to keep the kids happy.

The amenity blocks were a little on the old side but were always clean and tidy.

This park was great value for money and we would definitely recommend it to others.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pjhh, General Manager at Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to reveiw our property. It was pleasing to read that you stayed 5 nights with us and had a pleasant stay. We have a tree planting programme to ensure that there is adequate shade throughout the park. Our pool and bistro area is very popular and we are happy that you were not dissappointed even though the locals consider the water to be a little chilly to swim in at this time of the year.
We have 5 ablutions blocks at kakadu Lodge. we refurbished 1 block at the begining of 2012 and are targeting 2 more blocks towards the end of this year which should make a significant difference to our valued guests.
We look forward to seeing you again at Kakadu Lodge or one of our other Aurora properties.

Kind regards
Peter Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

This is by far one of the best laid out parks we have stayed at. Heaps of room for vans and no chance of being book out. It is very central to every thing of interest together with all services close by. The staff were excellent and not in your face as in some caravan parks. We will be back.

Room Tip: You are give free reign to pick you own site, close to ablutions, or on the quite fringe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pjhh, General Manager at Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our property. It was great to read that you had an enjoyable time. My staff appreciate your comments and it ceratainly gives them a lift in what has been a busy time, to receive positive feedback.
We look forward to seeing you again soon at Kakadu Lodge or one of our other Aurora properties.

Kind regards
Peter Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park

Address: Jabiru Drive, Jabiru, Northern Territory 0886, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Jabiru
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty lodging in Jabiru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
also 286 caravan and camping sites ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kakadu Lodge And Caravan Park Hotel Jabiru
Kakadu Hotel National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.