We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best day trip to Jim Jim !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Top End Explorer Tours

Top End Explorer Tours
6 Civic Drive, Jabiru, Northern Territory 0886, Australia
+61 8 8979 3615
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 12 attractions in Jabiru
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Kakadu National Park protects an amazing variety of plants and animals as well as the values of one of the world's oldest cultures. Join a small group of like-minded people and explore Kakadu National Park’s outstanding beauty, its awe-inspiring escarpment country and stunning waterfalls, observe its diverse flora and fauna, and learn about Aboriginal culture on an adventurous 4WD day tour with Top End Explorer Tours!
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best day trip to Jim Jim !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

Six kids and five adults in our family came to Kakadu to celebrate Mum's 70 th birthday. We booked a trip to Jim Jim with Steve. He has been doing these tours for years and it shows - so much knowledge and so many great stories.
The walk was really too hard for mum, but she was determined to conquer it - and Steve made it happen. He took extra time to help her through, and when he said "take your time" and "no stress" he really meant it.
We could not have asked for a better day out or for a better host.
Thanks again Steve - you're a champion!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopEndExplorerTours, Manager at Top End Explorer Tours, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Hello Barber5

What a way to celebrate a 70th birthday!
Thank you so much for coming along for the ride and the scramble! We hope you'll still be talking about your trip for many happy and healthy birthdays to come.

Steve certainly knows how to tell a yarn or two and loves sharing his passion for Kakadu -- after all, he's spent most of his life in this beautiful part of the world (and...pssssst...the lady at the visitor centre wasn't cranky at all!).

Happy travels always!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Experience of our Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Our first trip to Kakadu and thank heavens we booked a tour with Top End Explorer Tours and had the informative, experienced and friendly guide Anja introduce us and 2 other couples to a very special part of the Northern Territory. Due to crocs still inhabiting Jim Jim falls area she quickly organsied an alternative tour of Motor Car Falls, Gunlom Falls and a 3rd amazing and hidden spring only available to designated tour companies. Nothing was too much trouble, the day was relaxed but exhilerating. I'm sure we would not have appreciated the region had we not booked this tour. Thank you Anja and to Steve for delivering my 'lost camera'. We will definatley revisit and recomend you.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopEndExplorerTours, Manager at Top End Explorer Tours, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Hello Tracey,
Thank you so much for your review -- and my sincere apologies that we haven't responded earlier (the last few weeks have been pretty busy for us).

Kakadu's six seasons are as different and extreme as its many habitats, we would love to welcome you back sometime down the track and show you different sites at a different time of the year.
Until then, happy and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Kakadu was not what I expected, it was more & this was due in part to the great tour & guide (anya). She took us to some fabulous hidden locations & even when we had to change plans due to a smoke issue she came up trumps with the gorgeous rockpool for a final dip. A great & informative day and we left with recommendations on where we could safely & easily explore for ourselves the next day....no 4WD required. I would recommend Top End Explorer Tours to anyone travelling into Kakadu

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopEndExplorerTours, Manager at Top End Explorer Tours, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
Hello TravelCouplePerth,
Thank you so much for finding the time to write about your recent trip to Kakadu National Park!

It was my absolute pleasure to take you along for the day and show you some of the places in Kakadu's south that Steve and I feel so passionate about. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed the rest of your time in Kakadu as well, it means a lot to us!

Boh boh!
Anja Toms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A Great Day Out in Kakadu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

We went on an 'Early Dry Season" tour at the beginning of April - unfortunately a lot of the roads were still closed due to flooding, but we still had a lovely day out - our tour guide (Anja) was very knowledgable about the local area, culture, flora and fauna. We did a short loop hike (~3K) to a rock art site, and then a second loop (~6k) to Gubara pools where we had a lovely relaxed swim and lunch.
Will definitely be going back later in the year next year to experience more of what Kakadu has to offer.
Would highly recommend this tour!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopEndExplorerTours, Manager at Top End Explorer Tours, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
Hello PinkPinkPinkSydney,
My apologies for the delayed response to your review, your feedback is much appreciated nonetheless!

It was an "interesting" wet season with a long break from the monsoonal weather during January and heavy rain very late in the wet -- it even rained some more after you'd visited, causing a further delay in site openings.

Thank you so much for giving us the opportunity to show you parts of Kakadu during the late wet/ early dry season, a time of year not too many travellers make the effort to come out here and experience what makes this place so special!
We hope we'll be able to welcome you again when you explore other areas of Kakadu National Park during a different season.

Boh Boh!
Anja Toms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic Day at Jim Jim Falls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

I would have no hesitation in recommending Top End Explorer Tours based on my experience with them. We were picked up from Cooinda, where I was staying, nice and early. There were seven people (including the tour guide) on our tour. John, our guide, was very professional and knowledgeable, answering our many questions with enthusiasm. Unfortunately Twin Falls was still closed after the wet season, on the day of our tour. However, that really didn't detract from an amazing day at Jim Jim Falls and the surrounding area, which is spectacular. Oh, and they provided us with an excellent lunch too!

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopEndExplorerTours, Manager at Top End Explorer Tours, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Hello CambridgeTrav1984,
Thank you for your review on our tour, your kind words are much appreciated!

The Top End, including Kakadu National Park, has seen an incredible amount of rain last wet season resulting in high waterlevels in many places well into the dry season.

But Kakadu National Park has so much to offer -- even when some of the better known destinations are still under seasonal closure -- and we're glad you gave us the opportunity to show you what the park has to offer!

Happy travels always!
Anja Toms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Top End Explorer Tours also viewed

Kakadu National Park, Top End
Jabiru, Northern Territory
 
Kakadu National Park, Top End
Jabiru, Northern Territory
 

Been to Top End Explorer Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Top End Explorer Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Top End Explorer Tours to your Saves list