We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Equestrian Lodge Motel

Save Saved
You added Equestrian Lodge Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Equestrian Lodge Motel
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   2 Avalon Court, Motueka, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Motueka
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

I stayed at this motel in Motueka twice within a week, the place is so peaceful, clean and the staff are so helpful and a great laugh. Would recommend this place to anyone. I hope to return here one day on another trip from the UK.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    194
    31
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
61
118
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eppstein, Germany
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We stayed in 2BR unit which was spacious & clean & great state. As I set foot into the unit the owner showing the unit already raced out again to get a wipe as she spotted a handprint on the sliding door to garden.... A small but telling sign about what they consider spottlessly clean (and it was!) and how they care. Great garden with pool just steps away. 2 washers & 1 dryer in laundry room that both worked well. Comfy beds. Very quiet. Close enough to main street to stroll over if you do not want to take car. Well stocked kitchen. Really cannot think what else one could possibly want in a motel: do yourself a favour and STAY HERE! The owners also help you with making reservations for trips into Abel Tasman.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

Great location, right in the centre of Motueka, not far from supermarket if you want cook. There is a BBQ and a solar heated swimming pool on site which was lovely. There is a swing and trampoline on site which is great for kids. Would stay here again

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Clean, well-appointed, friendly owners/hosts, and a great location within walking distance of Motueka shops and restaurants and a short drive from Kaiteriteri and Abel Tasman N.P. We were in a one-bedroom and thought it was a good value. We especially liked the lawns front and back and enjoyed sipping drinks outside after a long day, as did most of the other guests. Pool, trampoline and swings would be nice for children, too. Our mattress was soft, so I'd recommend requesting a firm one if that's important.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We fell in love with this motel as soon as we met Alan and Lisa when we checked in. Alan was so helpful and accommodating. Went out of his way try to explain, inquiry and book our Abel Tasman trip because we wanted to hike and my daughter wanted to kayak. Took my husband's laundry to dry in his own home after hour. Let us rent LOTR trilogy. It was just so, so, so nice. The 2 bedrooms unit was very comfortable with lovely gardens. The unit was well maintained and clean, fully equipped kitchen with decent size bathroom. The motel located just off the city main street, very close to all the restaurants, shops and big supermarket. But it was very quiet at night. A short distance walk to the beach was really nice and an excellent place to stay for Abel Tasman.
Thank you Alan and Lisa for your warmest NZ hospitality. We would certainly stay in your lovely motel again and highly recommend to all my friends!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndhurst
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Only stayed one night but this is a very nice place to stay. The rooms are set around a very nice garden with a pool and spa. All well equipped very clean and comfortable. The owner/managers offer a friendly helpful service and run an excellent motel. I should have asked them where the name comes from, there isn't a horse in sight.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We were impressed when we first met Alan as we checked in. He could not have ben more helpful. Very comfortable accommodation with lovely gardens and a pool. The unit was well maintained with a very comfortable bed. All the equipment was of good quality. Lisa, Alan's wife, was very friendly and eager to please. The unit was quite large and bright. Located just off the Main Street.
We would stay there again. It had been recommended to us by a friend and we in turn would also recommend it.
An excellent location for Abel Tasman.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Equestrian Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Equestrian Lodge Motel

Address: 2 Avalon Court, Motueka, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Motueka
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Motueka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Equestrian Lodge Motel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and unwind in our peaceful oasis just 5 minutes short stroll from Motueka high street. Our 15 ground floor units open out to our 2 acres of landscaped gardens. There is plenty of off-street parking for cars, boats and trailers. BBQ, dine or picnic in the shade of trees and sun umbrellas. Our facilities include children’s play area, solar heated swimming pool (seasonal) and private spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, T4B, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Equestrian Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Equestrian Hotel Motueka
Equestrian Motel Motueka
Equestrian Lodge Motel Motueka, New Zealand - Nelson-Tasman

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Equestrian Lodge Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.