We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything is perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Equestrian Lodge Motel

Save Saved
You added Equestrian Lodge Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Equestrian Lodge Motel
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   2 Avalon Court, Motueka, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Motueka
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Everything is perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

I cannot describe my feelings enough with words. It's a perfect place for my family. It's definitely the best accommodation we've ever experienced, super friendly and helpful staff (Alan&Lisa), super clean and comfortable rooms, super value for money, and super handy to everything. This is my first time to write a review, because I'm usually a bit lazy and cannot be bothered to write. Now, I'm sitting in the lounge and so impressed. I feel that I need to write it down to appreciate. Thank you for the bottom of our hearts for everything you have offered to us!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    184
    27
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
57
115
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottdale, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The motel is perfect for being convenient to Abel Tasman Park and the activities there. We went on a kayak trip that was fantastic. The room was large, clean and quiet. It's a short walk to restaurants, groceries, etc. The owner was friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed in 10 different hotels on our 3 week trip to New Zealand and this was one of our favorites. The rooms were great and we really liked all the features in the room and hotel. We liked have a full kitchen (with dishes and cookware). The room was also a nice size and really liked the porch with sitting area. The hotel is in a nice location, close to downtown, but nestled in a nice residential area. The owners are also one of the highlights of this hotel. Incredibly, nice, personable and professional. If we ever get back to New Zealand, we would absolutely stay here again and recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We recently stayed at the Equestrian Lodge Motel in a room arrangement with two bedrooms. The sitting area was the biggest of all the places we stayed in NZ. It came with an efficiency kitchen that was fully furnished. The beds were the best we encountered on our 17 day trip in NZ. Alan was one of the owners of the motel and could not have been more helpful or accommodating. Upon arrival he helped us schedule a sea kayaking trip for the very next day. This motel was very clean and convenient to town and to the Abel Tasman National Park area. We would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We had the most enjoyable stay here while touring NZ. The hosts were extremely friendly and welcoming and the rooms very comfortable. The facilities offered were above what could be expected for the price. This is an excellent base for visiting Able Tasmin national park and the surrounding area. Well deserving of the top ratings given.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Pros: Appartments are located in a quiet part of Motueka and this is a great point to plan a day trip to Abel Tasman national park. The appartments are clean and comfortable for a family with children. Outside is a big shared garden where you can let your childs to play. Very green and well-maintained. In fact they do have an extra charge for children/infants but as soon as we have not used any extra beds or cot, it was free for us, much appreciated.

Cons: The frying pan provided had no cover. Well, unless you are using a shared barbeque facility in the garden, this is a bit frustrating as we had to use large plate as a cover. Otherwise you may expect fat everywhere around the pan if you are doing steaks inside. - Complimentary internet access was limited to 300mb per stay (2 nights). If you need more, charges are applicable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellfleet, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Went there on Active NZ trip..lovely gardens, hot tub, comfortable and relaxing motel..it was clean and comfortable..person at desk helpful. Relaxing oasis on fast paced trip..Recommend this motel ..that about says it all

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Equestrian Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Equestrian Lodge Motel

Also Known As:
Equestrian Hotel Motueka
Equestrian Motel Motueka
Equestrian Lodge Motel Motueka, New Zealand - Nelson-Tasman
Address: 2 Avalon Court, Motueka, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Motueka
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Motueka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Equestrian Lodge Motel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and unwind in our peaceful oasis just 5 minutes short stroll from Motueka high street. Our 15 ground floor units open out to our 2 acres of landscaped gardens. There is plenty of off-street parking for cars, boats and trailers. BBQ, dine or picnic in the shade of trees and sun umbrellas. Our facilities include children’s play area, solar heated swimming pool (seasonal) and private spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Equestrian Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Equestrian Lodge Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.