We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Indian with wide range of options” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Simply Indian

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Simply Indian
130 High Street, Motueka 7120, New Zealand
+64 3-528 6364
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 24 Restaurants in Motueka
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Vercelli, Italy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Indian with wide range of options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Good service, very kind waiter. Quite delicate food, the mild dishes were actually mild. Dine in and take away with a wide range of dishes, not just the usual ones.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    9
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Motueka, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We have been going to Simply Indian ever since it opened. Consistently good curries - don't understand the reviewer who called them bland, just ask for 'indian hot' and you are guaranteed a spicy treat. Keep up the great work Raj.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Food OK, Service OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

This is a basic Indian restaurant, as stated in the name of the restaurant. The food is OK but a bit bland. The service was very slow on the night we went (Saturday) because it's so busy with takeaways too but as long as you order an entree to keep yourself occupied it should be fine. Not the best but it's fine for an Indian in the middle of nowhere.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Deutschland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Regular Food, Good Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

the food was yummy but rather regular. service was good and there was nothing to complain about. we had differnet dishes and shared them among our group. leftovers were packed in a plastic box for us to take away.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalgoorlie, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely curries”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

The chicken Madras (Hot) was lovely with flavors well balanced between the spice of chile and the cooling of coconut cream. I had an onion naan also, which went well with the curry.

I went with a group of 10 and there were no negative comments of the food by anyone at our table.

The service was very fast considering how busy the restaurant was.

The naan was large and came out in baskets between two orders, and the rice came out in bowls center table to share around.

Nicely renovated building and stylish artworks.

I would visit again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simply Indian also viewed

Motueka, Nelson-Tasman Region
Motueka, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Motueka, Nelson-Tasman Region
Motueka, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Simply Indian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Simply Indian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.