We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely relaxing spot with beautiful flora and fauna and wonderful hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kahurangi Brown Trout B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Motueka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kahurangi Brown Trout B&B
Save
You added Kahurangi Brown Trout B&B to your Saves list
2292 Motueka River West Bank Road | Pokororo, Motueka 7196, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 26 Motueka B&B and Inns
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“A lovely relaxing spot with beautiful flora and fauna and wonderful hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

We were met by our friendly hosts who made us feel welcome and comfortable right from the start. We were given free rein of the grounds and started picking all sorts of fruits and nuts for an afternoon snack. Fresh organic apples off the trees. Walnuts, hazelnuts and chestnuts. Dried prunes still on the trees. Fresh raspberries and grapes from the pergola around the verandah. Our first night's dinner was wood-fired pizzas which we topped ourselves from the generous spread made available to us. The hosts even allowed us to cook in their kitchen for the next two nights and were even game enough to try our exotic food. Breakfasts were more than satisfying with homemade cereals topped with fresh organic bluebrries and raspberries. There was also local free range bacon and eggs plus lots of pancakes. An overall great B&B experience.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

David, Heather and their adult son Body really welcomed us into their home. We found them all friendly and easy to chat with. The evening meal included steaks from their own cows, wonderful bread with home made herb mayonnaise and blueberry pie with their own fruit. Having this kind of meal is a rare if not a unique experience.

The rooms were well appointed and the hosts kindly upgraded us to two rooms which was appreciated.

We enjoyed checking out their farm and feeding the cows.

Overall we enjoyed it very much and would be keen to return!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinborough
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

What a fantastic stay. Our room was superb, extremely comfortable and well serviced. All amenities were provided. Added to that we had a meal of the most superb fruit, vegetables freshly out of the garden and locally grown meat. This is a halcyon haven which is nestled right on the Motueka River. Our hosts took us inner tubing down the river which even for a bunny like me who is scared of most things proved to be not only benign but a real pleasure. Gorgeous deep swimming pools and the rapids not too difficult to negotiate. Right on the doorstep of Mt Arthur with so many walking trails you could not ask for anything more.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

Welcoming hosts and a lovely setting. Rooms were comfortable. The only gripe was the evening meal which was charged at $60 a head (this is the most expensive meal we've ever had in NZ and we live in Auckland!) We should have asked the price first, but we were tired and assumed the cost would be commensurate with the accomodation which is reasonably priced. It's a long way from civilisation to nip out to eat somewhere else, so eat in Motueka first.
But a nice quirky place to stay nonetheless

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pearlysnap
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

the kahurnagi brown trout is a beautiful, laid back, down home kind of place, that also happens to provide delicious food and top notch hosts. couldn't ask for a more relaxing time... thanks so much!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrappyknees
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

I have traveled all over New Zealand and have been fortunate to stay in may wonderful places. This is however, one of the most amazing places I have stayed at. Not only is the setting beautiful, but it is obvious that the owners of this B&B have put a lot of work into creating a setting that is relaxed, welcoming, and intriguingly creative. If you weren't considering passing through Pokororo, it is well worth it just to stay at a place that you won't soon want to leave. While it may seem off the beaten path-- it is situated next to a wonderful river for floating or swimming and is within a short drive of the Abel Tasmen. Well worth the visit!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

What can I say I had a great time and hopfully I will return someday.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kahurangi Brown Trout B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahurangi Brown Trout B&B

Address: 2292 Motueka River West Bank Road | Pokororo, Motueka 7196, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Motueka
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Motueka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique home and organic gardens, beside the beautiful Motueka River in the top of the south island of NZ. Close to the Abel Tasman National Park and Kahurangi National Park. Step across the road for trout fishing, or a refreshing swim. Come "home" for a delicious meal made with our home grown organic fruit and veggies. A quiet rural setting with lots of birdsong. Big comfy beds, roomy en-suites, your own veranda entrance. Pizza oven, bush bath, pet ducks, cows, goldfish, friendly border terrier dog. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kahurangi Brown Trout B&B Motueka, New Zealand - Nelson-Tasman

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kahurangi Brown Trout B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.