We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chokdee Thai Cuisine

Chokdee Thai Cuisine
109 High St, Motueka, New Zealand
03 528 0318
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 19 Restaurants in Motueka
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

If you want great Thai food, the closest you will get in New Zealand and friendly staff,then this is the place to go. The meal sizes are large on my standard, and value for money.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    30
    7
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not authentic about the Thai food here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We love Thai cuisine and visited Thailand frequently. The food was not very authentic... or even good... the green curry was not good and neither was the fish in chilli sauce that we ordered. It seems more like a bad chinese cuisine and has no resemblance to any Thai food we have ever eaten. The place however is very popular with the locals. We don't know why. The service was good. This is the third time we have tried Thai restaurants (the other times were in Wellington & Rotorua) in New Zealand and it was very disappointing each time.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Chokdee - a classic game of two halves”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We ate here one midweek night when staying in Riwaka. The restaurant wasn't too busy; a table of eight or so on a girls night out, another table of four and a table for two. We were seated closeby.

The first half of our visit unfolded with the warm, typically Asian welcome, the well prepared food, the polite service and everything boding well.

The second half deteriorated unfortunately. Once the girls and the other couple left, the staff en masse began clearing up for the night and even though it was still 'early' it was clear that they weren't expecting any other clientele. Our waitress changed into a plain tracksuit type outfit and proceeded to clean the lavatory, appearing after a while in rubber gloves and with a rubbish sack presumably containing the waste paper towels, the male waiter restocked the beer fridge, cleaned out the coffee machine (no he didn't ask whether we wanted any first - or any dessert) and cashed up. One of the kitchen staff appeared with with a bucket and mop and swabbed the floor behind the bar.

This didn't worry our adjoining table of four who had finished some time before and were chatting away unaware. We however just sat there waiting for something to happen - but it didn't. The deadlock was broken by me getting up and approaching the bar and asking for our bill.

There was no problem here with the food but the service left much to be desired. Go on a busy night when there is no possibility of the staff just 'going through the motions'.

The second half

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandisfield, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great food, great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

It's no wonder that this restaurant was bustling and seemed to be filled with locals. The menu is extensive and the portions are large. Our meal was delicious and the service was attentive. The only caution I would offer is that the hotness of the curries was surprising. We ordered a medium hot curry and it was HOT....tasty but HOT! We enjoyed chatting with one of the waitresses, who happened to be from China and is in NZ on a work/vacation visa. She asked if her English was "OK" and we joked with her that we found her easier to understand than the Kiwis!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Top Thai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This restaurant specialises in very good Thai food and moderate prices which makes for excellent value for money. The descriptions of mild, moderate and hot curries are accurate and can be relied upon. The wine list is adequate.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chokdee Thai Cuisine also viewed

Motueka, Nelson-Tasman Region
Motueka, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Motueka, Nelson-Tasman Region
Motueka, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Chokdee Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chokdee Thai Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.