We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Kiwi spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Waters

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Waters to your Saves list
The Waters
4.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   182 Kina Peninsula Road, Motueka 7173, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 26 Motueka B&B and Inns
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
“Great Kiwi spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed 5 nights at 'The Waters' and really enjoyed the experience. Hosts Claire and Phil are very welcoming, relaxed and unobtrusive. The BB is modern and well equipped with extremely comfortable bed and very relaxing lounge area. Bathroom facilities are fresh with great view across the pond and olive trees. Front view across Tasman Bay is enchanting with almost compulsory pre-breakfast stroll along the beach. Great central location for spending time around Tasman Bay's national parks, wineries, beaches and galleries. It is a secluded, quiet, relaxing and convenient facility.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
32
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Karlsruhe, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the Waters on our honeymoon and it was by far the best stay on our New Zealand round trip! The host were so nice to talk to, gave us very helpful advice about what to see and do in the area and even helped us organize our daytrip to the Abel Tasman NP! The rooms were nice, spacious and clean but the best were the amazing views to the ocean. Loved everything on the stay, from the delicious in-room breakfast and the birds at the lake to the peaceful views of the ocean in the evening!!! The hardest you have to do is to decide whether you want to have your breakfast on your terrace (ocean view) or in your balcony (lake view)! We absolutely recommend a stay at the Waters!!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
322 reviews 322 reviews
131 hotel reviews
Reviews in 152 cities Reviews in 152 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

The location is a good base to explore the regio ( 45 drive from Nelson and 45 drive from Kerikeri - base for Tasman - ) ! The restaurants are not far away. A vehicle is necessary. The BB is wonderful ( location and design)! The units ( " loft bedroom and bathroom ) are modern, large and well decorated. From your bed a view and a terrace overlooking a pond, in front: a garden to the sea ( no access beach). The website is realistic. Large parking lot. Claire is really pleasant and friendly. She gives a lot of informations and tips about the area. She is really available. This place looks like a boutique hotel. We had the pleasure to have a charming wine tasting. This place is recommended for a stay of seval days. A small negative point: the breakfast is prepared the night before and in your fridge. The quality is excellent, it s easy but maybe for the standard of the place....I recommend without limit

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We could not say enough positive praise for our 4 night stay at The Waters. Everything about this property is beautiful, peaceful and perfect. The rooms are very private, spacious, modern and clean with spectacular views. We enjoyed the views of the surrounding olive groves, vineyards and ocean bay plus walking the private beach right from the property was truly special. Sitting by an evening fire enjoying some wine and the views was an unexpected added bonus.

The Kina Peninsula location is not too far from Nelson and very near the lovely town of Motueka. It was also an easy day trip to the Abel Tasman National Park. We were made to feel very comfortable and Phil and Claire were very friendly with helpful advice on the area, eating, activities and wine selections. Our stay at The Waters was a highlight of our 2 week visit in New Zealand. We only hope to be able to return to this beautiful place!

Room Tip: All three rooms are identical with the same stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

This property is an unexpected dream come true. We booked out the property for ourselves and our family for our wedding in the Abel Tasman national park. We arrived to blue skies and a property that surpassed all expectations. The setting is magical and the management are so welcoming. Claire was always checking to ensure we had everything we needed and seeing if there was anything they could do to help.

I cannot recommend this enough, go, get away from it all and enjoy!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire G, Manager at The Waters, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
This was a very special time for you and your family and it was a delight to share a small part of that time with you. We are so pleased everything worked out so well. I know a lot of effort and planning had gone into this time and you had all travelled such a long way to get here. We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your time in NZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

A 2 day stay at the Waters ended our 10 day South island honeymoon. It was idyllic. Wonderfully comfortable, stunning views and run in a very friendly manner. The weather was glorious and we cannot wait to return. A lovely breakfast is left in your fridge and we took it as the sun rose over the sea. With balconies back and front one can retreat from the warmth whenever. Near to restaurants and of course the incredible NZ wineries. The manager is a wine maker and will advise where to go and doubtless let you taste his latest. do not miss the Austrian grape, Gruner Veltliner. An incredible experience not to be missed. As very seasoned travelers we couldn't have chosen better

Room Tip: All 3 are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

This review is long overdue. Our stay at The Waters was one on the highlights of fabulous trip to NZ. Was worried that this would be too long a trek for our first stop after flying from Toronto to Auckland, then Wellington. We didn't regret it one bit. The Waters was a wonderful quiet place to relax and rest up. Claire and Phil are lovely and kind hosts. They provided some good advice and a great breakfast. The architecture and setting are stunning.This is a good base for exploring the surrounding countryside. We did a day trip to Abel Tasman from here, took the water taxi, then did a beautiful hike. Our only regret was having only 2 nights here. We really hope to go back to The Waters again someday for a much longer stay.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire G, Manager at The Waters, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for the lovely review and for choosing The Waters as your first stop in New Zealand, very glad we did not disappoint! Particularly after a long flight or drive sometimes the extra day here really makes a difference. Most people do explore the Abel Tasman area and that in itself is a big day. We hope you did have some rest and relax time throughout the rest of your stay in New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Waters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waters

Address: 182 Kina Peninsula Road, Motueka 7173, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Motueka
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Motueka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Waters 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waters is part of the 10 ha Erinaceus Estate with over 400 m beachfront and it's award winning olive oil from the own olive orchard and vineyard.The Waters is a luxurious boutique bed & breakfast dramatically set above the turquoise Tasman Bay, in the heart of the Nelson Wine region, New Zealand. Three private, beautifully appointed accommodation suites offer spectacular unspoilt panoramic views over the Tasman bay to the east (Nelson) D'Urville Island,Abel Tasman N.P. and snow-capped Mount Arthur to the west. Our guests can enjoy our luxurious retreat while having superb access to some of the most beautiful landscapes in New Zealand with it's vineyards and artists abound. We offer relaxation, comfort and all the amenities you could want in a sumptuous environment. With a flexible range of services on offer to cater for your every need we strive to make your stay with us an unforgettable experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Waters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waters Motueka, New Zealand - Nelson-Tasman

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.