We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, what an experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sea Kayak Company

The Sea Kayak Company
506 High Street, Motueka, New Zealand
035287251
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 19 things to do in Motueka
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Sea Kayak Company is a family owned business that operates guided and freedom rental kayak trips in the Abel Tasman National Park.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Quebec City, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wow, what an experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Wow, what an experience. The kayaking was awesome, the guide was fab, the other holidayers were great fun and entertaining and if I had a complaint it is only that the sun was too hot !!! What a scorcher - we had been warned and took full precautions and protection but even so, the kiwi sun's brutal esp out on the water. I've no idea what has got up the noses of the other reviewers who complain about poor customer service, every thing was proffessional, well organised and done in a way that didn't treat us like lemmings or kids. We got to do pretty much what we wanted at whatever speed we wanted that gave us the ability to truely relax and experience the fantastic beauty that is the Able Tasmin park. 2 thumbs up.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    22
    7
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leipzig, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“nice tour with a few drawbacks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Went on the Ab Fab Marine Reserve Tour last week. We were picked up directly at our accommodation in the morning, which was great service. However, we then had to wait around several times before and after boarding the water taxi, and we were never really told why or for how long. Once we were on the boats, everything was fine - except if you had very limited kayaking experience (which was the case with me) because they did not really give much of an introduction. Also, nobody mentioned to me I should bring along spare clothes for the afternoon walk - mine were soaking wet after paddling so I had to walk around in a dripping shirt and pants for the rest of the day... The self-guided walk after lunch, however, was truly spectacular, and our guide Kim was very nice!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Non existent customer service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

We booked a 3 day enchanted coast trip in December for departure at the beginning of February. The trip was confirmed.

We made flight and accomodation bookings to suit that.

Less than 7 days before the departure date we were told that the trip was cancelled as others in that trip had changed dates.

I find it interesting that their terms and conditions penaltise the customer if a booking needs to be changed but there is no protection if the company change a confirmed booking.

I found it extremely disappointing and only after many emails and with them trying to encourage us to join a 2 day trip did they suggest another company.

Shocking customer service, a confirmed booking should stay confirmed and the people changing their date should be the ones inconvenienced.

Be careful!

We did not travel with this group.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warkworth, New Zealand
1 review
“what a great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We were part of a group of 11 family/friends who did the full monty trip with this very friendly sea kayak company. We were very well looked after, by the enthusiastic and fit guides Sally and Harley. Weather was perfect, meals yum, equipment worked well. A great few days!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“Wonderful Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We recently went on a full day kayaking trip with The Sea Kayak Company. Our high expectations for the trip were exceeded! Sally our guide was fantastic and really made the experience for us. We have, and continue to highly recommend The Sea Kayak Company to fellow travellers.

Thank you for a wonderful snapshot of Abel Tasman.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sea Kayak Company also viewed

Abel Tasman National Park, Nelson-Tasman Region
Marahau, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Marahau, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to The Sea Kayak Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sea Kayak Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.