We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Most Spectacular Wide Sea View Terrace” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Split Apple Rock HomeStay

Split Apple Rock HomeStay
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Motueka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Split Apple Rock HomeStay
Save
You added Split Apple Rock HomeStay to your Saves list
Tokongawa Drive | Split Apple Rock, Motueka RD 2, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 26 Motueka B&B and Inns
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
282 reviews 282 reviews
120 hotel reviews
Reviews in 158 cities Reviews in 158 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
“The Most Spectacular Wide Sea View Terrace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed four nights in the Queen room (12m2) and shower (2.5m2), but with a super grand terrace of about 80m2 having a grand view over the sea towards the east. We were welcomed to make use of the kitchen anytime to make tea/coffee and store our wine in the fridge. Although we ate out once, we preferred to buy some things like cheese and smoked salmon and sit out on the terrace enjoying the 200 degree sea views with a glass of fine NZ wine. Made some nice foto’s of “the long white cloud”. Spectacular sunrises seen from your bed or at the breakfast table. One evening Thelma made us a wonderfully delicious home-cooked meal which we shared all together with husband Rodger and a visiting friend of the family. Great evening. Breakfast with delicious with self-made jams and other goodies. They helped us with booking the tours for kayaking, a super and exclusive boat trip swimming with the seals, and informed us about other activities to do. This was a very nice homestay indeed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in February 2013 as part of our honeymoon. We were in the front double room which had a fantastic view of the water and up into the Abel Tasman NP. On the first night we took a walk down to the local beach and had the place to ourselves for a lovely swim. Thelma was a fantastic host and made us feel very welcome. Breakfast was very good and was just what we needed for a full day walking and kayaking in the park. The B&B was in a very quiet area but only 5 mins drive to either Kaiteriteri or Marahau for the water taxis and evening meals. Our view is that this is an excellent choice of accomodation for visitors to the area.

Room Tip: The front double has fantastic sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our family (with 2 young children) had an excellent stay. The guest area is private and the rooms were very clean & comfortable. The views across Golden Bay from both rooms (and their adjoining balconies) is fantastic.The home cooked breakfast, with lots of locally grown fruit, was a highlight. Thelma is a wonderful host and we would love to stay there again.

Room Tip: Both rooms are great but the front double room with balcony and sea views across Golden Bay is the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiteriteri, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

Thelma will look after you as a friend. She knows a lot about the region and rooms enjoy spectacular view. A hidden gem overlooking the ocean.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Split Apple Rock HomeStay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Split Apple Rock HomeStay

Address: Tokongawa Drive | Split Apple Rock, Motueka RD 2, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Motueka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Motueka
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Split Apple Rock HomeStay Motueka, New Zealand - Nelson-Tasman

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Split Apple Rock HomeStay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.