We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless Stay in Cottage.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Awatea Tasman Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Awatea Tasman Bay to your Saves list
Awatea Tasman Bay
204 Motueka River West Bank Road | Brooklyn, Motueka 7196, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Last Minute Special
Ranked #1 of 26 Motueka B&B and Inns
Bath
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Faultless Stay in Cottage.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

John & Scott have got it right. Their Cottage is spotlessly clean and beautifully appointed with a view to die for. They manage that difficult balance of being caring hosts without being overbearing very well. Everything from home-made cake upon arrival, chocolates and thoughtful additions were welcome, generous extras; their attention to detail is unrivalled. We couldn't recommend Awatea Tasman Bay high enough. Well done you two, it was the highlight of our NZ trip.

Room Tip: The Cottage is self-contained, has everything you'd wish for and a veranda-view makes you feel o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, Owner at Awatea Tasman Bay, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Your comments are very generous and all the more meaningful coming from fellow B&B owners like yourselves, thank you. And we just love the small book on Bath that you left us as a gift – we are truly inspired to revisit this special historic area of the UK where you are so lucky to live!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
44
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We have just had a fantastic two night stay. If in the future we return to the area I would make sure we stayed here again. The Cottage was just perfect, fantastic views which photos cannot do credit to. The afternoon tea Scott provided on our arrival was sublime, it really felt that these guys will go out of their way to ensure that guests have the best stay possible. It is also clearly appreciated that this will be a different experience for different guests. Our last holiday was our honeymoon, and this accomadation and our hosts attention to detail knocked the socks of that stay!
I have never contributed to trip advisor before, but felt compled to after such an excellent stay!

Room Tip: This experience is based on staying at the cottage which is the self catered accomadation on site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, Owner at Awatea Tasman Bay, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
So glad you enjoyed our homemade black currant & yoghurt teacake with berry compote! It is one of our favourite afternoon treats, especially because there are so many fresh berries available from the local farms at this time of year. Thank you for your thoughtful review, and we hope the road washouts along the West coast didn’t interrupt your holiday plans too much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We had the most perfect time at The Cottage over New Year. The location is fabulous, with stunning views all the way round. The Cottage itself is exactly what we were looking for, everything you need is there and it is beautifully finished. I honestly can't think of a single thing that I would change.

Scott and John gave us good tips on where to go cycling as we had our mountain bikes- and warned us about attempting to cycle up the hill on the way back! The walks nearby in Abel Tasman and down the coast at Motueka are close by, so plenty to do to work off the after effects from the great coffee and cake stops.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, Owner at Awatea Tasman Bay, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
We agree – our Cottage is in a great location but it is a challenge for anyone on a bike to try and ride up our driveway (it climbs about 90 metres over the 500 metre length)! Best to work up to the challenge with plenty of mountain bike workouts in the nearby Kaiteriteri Mountain Bike Park or some relaxed cycling along the beachfront and inlet cycle trails of Motueka (and stopping for replenishments of coffee & cake at the many cafes in Mouteka, yum!).

We really enjoyed chatting with you about your daily activities when you both joined us for our evening playtime with Molly (our small dog) and we all had fun throwing the ball for her to fetch. Thanks for such a great review too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

An absolutely perfect accommodation, with the most majestic view, run by gracious hosts.
Everything about the design and aesthetic of Awatea fits the needs of the modern traveler. We really appreciated the attention to detail and cleanliness. The location could not be any more ideal. Perched on top of a mount ovelooking the Tasman bay and the rich valley that borders Abel Tasman. Just minutes drive away from the national park, abundant cherry and apple orchards, the wineries and the beaches.
Scott and John were wonderful hosts that catered to our every need. Months before we arrived they provided us with all the information we required, even helping us book our christmas lunch. And they could not have been any kinder in person. They even got us christmas gifts! They truly love what they do, and we felt as though we were with friends.
It was the perfect spot to rest and regain our strength on a whirlwind NZ adventure. We had an absolutely perfect stay. Thanks guys
Sasha

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, Owner at Awatea Tasman Bay, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you Sasha for taking the time to write this lovely review. We are really glad that we made you both feel special while you were staying with us and we thoroughly enjoyed preparing and sharing our Christmas Eve dinner with you (and the other couple who were also staying with us). The evening was so lovely dining out under the stars along with great company and conversation, which made it very memorable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Scott and John gave us a holiday to remember. Having recently opened, they were extremely excited about their new venture and full of enthusiasm for their beautiful B&B. Simply stunning inside, the interior was modern and vibrant with a fantastic homely feel. The magnificent views cannot be overstated, and we wasted hours staring out over Motueka. Scott is a great cook, while John couldn't do enough for us. For that extra special getaway, the private cottage is an absolute must. The perfect location and the perfect hosts. :-)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, Owner at Awatea Tasman Bay, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
It was great to see you both again in December (2012) – your second time staying here! For us, it was like friends coming to visit again, especially when we had time over breakfasts to chat, while sitting out in the sunshine on our east deck, overlooking the Motueka River each morning. We look forward to seeing you again...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Langley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

New Zealand is the land of the lodge, many of which can be over-priced for what they offer. In the Awatea Lodge near Motueka, we found not only excellent value for money but a level of personal service that would put many a 5 star hotel to shame. John and Scott have created a little piece of paradise on a ridge which provides outstanding views of the Tasman Sea and Abel Tasman National Park. Waking up to this view and fuelled by their excellent breakfasts provides the best possible start to a day on holiday. This is a wonderful part of the world and our hosts were able to provide great recommendations on where to go - be it walking in Abel Tasman park or something a bit more challenging in Kahurangi Park, visiting the sandy expanses of Farewell Spit right at the top of the South Island or ideas for local places to eat - although with the excellent the meals that John and Scott can provide on request, there is little need to venture out! Thoroughly recommended for the idyllic location and the quality of the welcome and facilities.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

A bit out of the way to get to but well worth the effort. Scott and John - and not forgetting Molly -are wonderfull hosts. The house and cottage are very stylish and comfortable. Great location to tour the Abel Tasmin area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Awatea Tasman Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Awatea Tasman Bay

Address: 204 Motueka River West Bank Road | Brooklyn, Motueka 7196, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Motueka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Motueka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A slice of heaven atop a hill overlooking the beautiful Motueka River Valley and Tasman Bay with views to die for, Awatea Tasman Bay offers a peaceful, private, relaxing getaway in comfortable, stylish, welcoming surroundings. There are two boutique Bed & Breakfast rooms in the main house, plus a separate, one-bedroom self catering luxurious Cottage apartment (just next door to the main house); outdoor spa pool, breakfasts, views, close to Abel Tasman National Park, restaurants in Motueka, cafes, Nelson vineyards, and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Awatea Tasman Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Awatea Tasman Bay Motueka, New Zealand - Nelson-Tasman

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Awatea Tasman Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.