We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full-service hosts!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edenhouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Edenhouse to your Saves list
Edenhouse
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   213 Orinoco Valley, Motueka 7196, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Motueka
San Francisco
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Full-service hosts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Planning my next trip to NZ reminded me that I never did reviews for my last one. Bobbi and Peter are consummate hosts, they will do anything to make sure you have everything you need. My guess is that if a single guest said to them that they wanted to find a spouse that they’d even matchmake – and probably quite successfully! With only 3 rooms, it’s definitely an intimate property, so probably not a great choice for those who don’t want much interaction. At times it feels (mostly in a good way) like spending the weekend as part of a house party on an estate.

The property is beautiful, lovely rooms and grounds, very peaceful and relaxing. Pick anything you want to do or see in the area, and Bobbi and Peter will know how to arrange it and make it happen. And if you’re not sure what you want, they’re a wealth of creative, original ideas.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

It's no surprise that all the reviews of Edenhouse are so good! The Orinoco Valley, inland from Nelson and Motueka and within half an hour of the Tasman National Park, is spectacular, and amidst the lush valleys and bucolic farmhouses, Peter and Bobbie Martin have created a beautiful thriving garden to complement their lovely home.

Accommodation is available within the Martins' main house, but with three children we opted for the equally luxuriously furnished cottage, where the adults shared a spacious bedroom overlooking the garden downstairs, and the children had the run of upstairs - their own space that we didn't need to venture into!

Peter and Bobbie have fascinating stories themselves, having lived in Australia and London before finding this little corner of New Zealand heaven. Bobbie's artistic talents are evident in the interior decorating, though she is equally passionate about her garden. Whilst the decor is undoubtedly elegant, it manages to be so without being ostentatious or intimidating. Both Bobbie and Peter both clearly love having guests to stay. Peter simply cannot do enough to find you information, make bookings, and introduce you to local gourmet secrets - he absolutely thrives on making sure his guests enjoy an exceptional experience at Edenhouse.

Dining is a treat - we ate in for two evening meals, and enjoyed lots of local produce and wine - but our hosts were not above recommending the excellent fish & chip cafe at Mapua Wharf for our third night.

I can't complete this review without a nod to our charming third host, Annie, the Martins' dog, who was very keen to be part of our stay whenever possible, and clearly loves the heated floors in the house as much as we did! Oh, and keep a look out for the chickens, who do a fabulous job of supplying fresh eggs, but are sometimes found to have wandered into the house.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong whichever room you end up in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We recently stayed with Peter and Bobbie while on our honeymoon. I must say our three days with them were more than we could have hoped for - we enjoyed all the benefits of staying with family - a warm greeting, great conversation/company over dinner, etc. with all you hope for from a luxury hotel - superb meals, great wine, incredible hosting (from arranging a biking tour to helping us get to Abel Tasman), etc. etc. Aesthetically, the property is just lovely - their gardens are like a dream, the setting is idyllic; the perfect place to truly depart from life, not because you need to escape anything but because while you are there you really can just enjoy the simplest moment by soaking in all the calm and beauty that surrounds you. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield County
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Every once in a while travel brings a time of beauty, hospitality, serendipity and perfect convergence of all things wonderful. Such was our stay at Edenhouse, an elegant English style B&B with interesting things around every corner. There are 2 rooms and one cottage in the 48 acres of private property comprised of gardens, vistas, fruit and flowering trees, sculpture, ducks, quail, birds, sheep and of course, Annie, the hospitality lab. The beautifully designed home carefully designed and appointed by owner, Bobbie interior designer, is a celebration in English style--interesting artifacts, collections, fabrics, books, art, flowers and personality. The home is also comfortable and lived in. Breakfast is included and is cooked to your pleasure. Dinner is also included and is preceded by drinks and delicious appetizers. Two chefs, alternating nights, create delicious meals. Peter pours wine with hospitality and style. Everything has the little touches that create a special event--lavender on the pillows, flowers on the table and platters--all to perfection and not excess. Proprietors, Peter and Bobbie Martin provide the best in guest experience including arrangements for daily activities, lovely picnic lunch for helicopter ride and lunch on Mt. Olympus, directions to attractions, picturesque table settings, local history and graciousness. There are many special places to eat or to read or to relax. Arriving to the property and having champagne under the pergola getting to know our hosts and some other guests, I thought I had just landed at an old friend's home in the English countryside. We LOVED our stay here.

Room Tip: The cottage is wonderful and very private. The 2 rooms in the house are equally lovely. We staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Top Contributor
323 reviews 323 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Edenhouse is run by an extremely personal and professional couple, Bobbie and Peter Martin. Edenhouse is a first class lodge with understated luxury and comfort on a beautifully landscaped property. Edenhouse is surrounded by 48 acres of private grounds and well-maintained gardens. There are flowers everywhere inside and outside. Located between Nelson and the Abel Tasman national park, wineries, restaurants, stunning beaches, golf, fly fishing, hiking, helicopter and boat tours, and a vibrant arts and crafts community are all nearby. There are only three accommodations available and accordingly, reservations are a must. Guests receive incredible personal attention from the hosts. Great wine and cuisine are included in the room tarrif. The cocktail hour and the dinners cooked by two chefs alternating every other night are special events. Peter and Bobbie will arrange any and all activities for you. They, together with their Labrador, Annie, are a team you will not soon forget. The rooms have air conditioning which is very much appreciated in January-March when some of the afternoons are quite warm. The interior of Edenhouse is a decorator showcase and guests have full use of a number of beautiful rooms and outdoor terraces on the first floor.

Room Tip: If the cottage is available, book it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevis
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We recently spent three nights at Edenhouse and had a simply marvelous time. From the moment we arrived until we left Peter and Bobbie made us feel like welcomed friends rather than paying customers. When we arrived it was early spring and Bobbie's English style garden was just coming into bloom and one could see how much effort and love she has put into designing her garden.

The first evening we enjoyed cocktails and canapés in from of a roaring fire which took the chill off the cool nighttime air. That was followed by a wonderful Rack of Lamb dinner, a perfectly matched pinot noir and some truly enjoyable conversation that lasted well into the evening. We weren't dining with strangers but rather seemingly long-time friends we just hadn't gotten around to meeting until a few hours earlier.

Peter gave us plenty of hints on what to see and do during our stay in Nelson and every one of his suggestions proved to be unique and interesting. We also thoroughly enjoyed taking with Bobbie about her love of gardening. A special mention must be made of Annie, a golden lab who loves to be petted and will steal your heart away with a simple tilt of her head.

On our second night we went out for dinner and when we came back Peter was there waiting in the driveway with a flashlight to help light our way - now that's going beyond the scope of expected service.

I had told Peter how much I enjoyed driving around New Zealand so at the end of our stay he gave m some special directions to our next destination which would take us along some "back country roads" so we could see a small part of the country not normally found by most travelers. It turned out to be one of the most pleasurable driving segments of our month long trip.

Stay here, you'll be glad you did.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Eden House is not a hotel or lodge but a charming country home situated on 48 acres of private grounds. The proprietors and hosts of this lovely home are Peter and Bobbie. They make you feel like this is your home and could not be more gracious. Expect to fall in love with Annie the dog. She is a sweetie!

Coming from the US and never driving on the other side of the road we had such anxiety about the drive to Eden House as it was nearing sunset. To our amazement Peter came to meet us at the airport so we could follow him home. It was unexpected and so appreciated :-)

We had a very spacious and comfortable room with a large bathroom and beautiful views out of every window, fall is like a bouquet of many colors. Meals were severed in the "artists" studio or formal dining room. Cocktails and hors d'oeuvres were served in the sitting room. Bobbie and Peter joined us for dinner.

Eden house is a short drive to many boat tours going to Abel Tasman National Park or the many wineries in the area. Peter can also make suggestions or make arrangements for things you might want to do. Another thing not to miss is the WOW (World of Wearable Art) Museum. Fun!

Make Eden House a stop on your trip. You will not regret it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Edenhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edenhouse

Address: 213 Orinoco Valley, Motueka 7196, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Motueka
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Motueka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Edenhouse 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a serene valley in the heart of rural Nelson, Edenhouse is an overdue reminder of the genuine meaning of luxury. This enchanting country retreat, set in fifty acres of private grounds and eight acres of gardens, may just be the finest boutique hotel you will encounter.The focus is on comfort, relaxation, understated luxury, attention to detail, and fine food and wine. Edenhouse accepts only 6 guests thereby retaining the "country house-guest" experience.Tatler, the UK society magazine, named Edenhouse as one of the “101 Best Hotels of the World” in its internationally acclaimed Travel Guide, describing it as an "instant word-of-mouth winner". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Splendia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Edenhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edenhouse Motueka, New Zealand - Nelson-Tasman

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edenhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.