We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly romantic getaway on the West Coast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga to your Saves list
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   State Highway 12 | Omapere, South Hokianga, Omapere, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Omapere
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Perfectly romantic getaway on the West Coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

Set at the bottom of the hill in Omapere, we upgraded to a Superior Room at the Copthorne. We took advantage of their winter special. Our room, upstairs, had a more than adequate sleeping area, shuttered off from the dining area, and huge private veranda, overlooked the hotel gardens and the Hokianga 'Harbour', which is more like an inlet. Very rural, deliciously quiet. The food in the restaurant, whether it was breakfast or dinner, was great. The staff were very friendly, and offered us loads of information of unusual places to visit, and things to do.

Room Tip: Make sure to upgrade to Superior room, which are upstairs, and choose one at the end of passageway a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    145
    45
    19
    5
See reviews for
69
205
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

This hotel is a gem in a wonderful slice of paradise. The north west coast in northland is NZ is wild, untouched and reflect this eco wonderland. The hotel is 4 star and strives to keep this rating. The staff are so friendly and very helpful. The hotel is set up to cater for couples as well as families. It is right on the hokianga harbour and has a swimming pool right in the harbour front. The dining and breakfast rooms all overlook the pool and harbour. The pool is a good size but not many recliners so first in first served. The chef and cooks at this hotel are great. We had lunch, dinner and breakfast. Kids are well catered for re food. I thought the food was good and tasty but a bit limited. However for a nights stay it was fine. I suggest anyone visiting this area they stay. But just be aware of those westerly winds - may make outside dining difficult.

Room Tip: choose the harbour front rooms or apartments. You have direct access onto the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemingford Grey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Arrived around midday not expecting room to be ready, but were shown straight away to a nice clean room on the ground floor which opened out onto the lawns and down to the beach. There was a verandah area with shutters and the room was very comfortable. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent, with lovely views across to the sand dunes opposite. Breakfast was also very good. The hotel is a bit isolated, it took about 40 minutes to walk into Omapere, but it is a great place to relax and enjoy the scenery.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington state
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

We were weary when we arrived and wanted to stay several nights.

We inquired about the internet and the front desk person had no idea the costs telling us it was run by a third party. We logged on and were told the system was wireless and not to transmit any sensitive information over it and then it asks for your credit card info--no thanks!

The room was not clean or had not been rented in a long while.The dining room featured a menu with a limited selection and my meal was less than mediocre and at a dear price I might add. When the waiter came and asked how things were I said "terrible" and he smiled and turned away.

We were given a voucher for buffet breakfast that was so-so, after being awaken early with music on an outdoor speaker from the bar blasting our room's direction.

This place does a disservice to the corporate image. The Fodor's book said the service was sketchy and indeed they weren't kidding. Stay away if you want a decent place to relax, we left after one night and were glad to be gone after a lovely walk on the beach nearby. No other restaurants close by that were open and rather a disappointing stop overall.

When I contacted the manager he was full of excuses, certainly not good customer service but he sets the tone for the entire staff and it shows.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Copthorne Hokianga, its a delightful situation, very relaxing, our room opened onto a lawn leading down to the waters edge. The meals and service in the dining room were first class.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Staff were friendly, beautiful food and great location. Would go again and stay longer

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

We had two nights in this Hotel between Christmas and New Year. Two Adults and Two children. We found the room was OK, a little 'tired' but room enough for all four of us. The restaurant meals were very good, with a wide range to choose from and range of prices. The Kids meals were very good value. The Breakfast Buffet was a highlight for all of us. Staff were friendly and helpful. If you are looking for a relaxed, peacefull get away them Omapere is the place. Stunning views and very tranquil.

Room Tip: You can get rooms right on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga

Address: State Highway 12 | Omapere, South Hokianga, Omapere, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Omapere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Omapere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel And Resort Hokianga
Copthorne Hotel Hokianga
Copthorne Hotel Omapere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.