We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, but a few issues to be aware of” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunrise Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sunrise Resort to your Saves list
Sunrise Resort
Cat Co III Beach | Cat Ba Island, Cat Ba 215420, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Cat Ba
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, but a few issues to be aware of”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We absolutely loved the location of this hotel and the private beach. Moreover, it looked as all rooms have ocean view. The rooms were excellent, nothing to complain about.

Then we bought the spa package and our experience was not that great. The staff member could not speak any English and was unable to explain the procedure to us, eg. how long we should stay in the sauna, how to tell it's time to leave, the indoor "heated" spa was ridiculously cold and the most awkward moment was when the massage staff asked for a tip.

The other negative of this hotel was the restaurant, not only was the food average but they also allowed guests to smoke inside right next to our table.

But all in all, having learnt our lesson, we would definitely go back here and strongly recommend this place to our friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    59
    24
    14
    5
See reviews for
33
102
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

This is a difficult review to write as there are so many good things about this place and we enjoyed our stay despite what I am about to say.

A lovely hotel in a fantastic location with good rooms and grounds with a fine swimming pool and its own pleasant beach. The breakfast is especially interesting with a range of chinese dishes as well as the usual Vietnam breakfast fare.

Whilst customer service is not great with poor staff English and a lack of understanding of guest needs this can be understood given the relative immaturity of the tourist market on Cat ba and, to be fair, is no worse than many places in Vietnam Less difficult to excuse is the staff's inclination to turn any guest transaction they can into a request for money. The prices in the resort are already high for its class for the rooms, food and drinks but we encountered the following:
- On asking directions to some attractions on the island; 'Here is a map - that will be $2 please' ( for the sort of thing given away elsewhere)
- After an ok massage in a cold room: please tick this box on the satisfaction survey and give me $5 tip (total focus on the tip rather than the customer's unsatisfactory experience).
- On enquiring about a shuttle-bus into town: yes, that would be $5 (for 1.5 km - we ended up walking or getting moped lifts).
- On finding out that much better rates were available to walk-ins than we had got just the day before through booking.com: Tough, cancel on booking.com and we will then give you the walk-in rate.
- At check-out the receptionist's preoccupation was getting someone to check we had not purloined the contents of the minibar rather than addressing our needs with luggage and onward transport.

Unfortunately when one is treated as a source of revenue rather than a valued guest what could have been an excellent stay becomes merely an adequate one.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This place is amazing. If, like me, you're not particularly used to 'living it up' then do yourself a favour and book this place on your visit. Making use of it's own private beach the resort is beautiful and very well maintained. As guests you get access to everything including the pool, jacuzzis, beach with umbrellas....the whole lot. We went off season (September) and although the room rates are very expensive compared to, well anywhere else on the island, usually, at that time of year it was about £50 a night and totally worth it! Food was excellent, service was great, facilities are very good and above all, that view from your beach-front balcony will leave you wishing you could stay forever....at least it should.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed here only for one night ( wish it was longer!) it was part of 2 night 3 day ha long bay tour. The resort was fabulous clean rooms, spacious, beautiful view of the ocean. The only thing missing was the warm weather! The food was amazing at sunrise. Dinner and breakfast were including in our tour. There was 5 of us in our group and 2 are vegetarian, they brought enough food to feed 2 vegetarians that all 5 of us could of ate just vegetarian and had left overs. But our family of big eaters enjoyed the "buffet" we had on our table of assorted meat and vegetarian dishes. The food was amazing. The staff was great, very friendly and accommodating. I believe there was only one other couple that was staying at the resort when we were there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

At the end of a month long trip in Vietnam we chose 7 days at this relaxing resort on Cat Ba Island. It really was the best way to finish our holiday with fantastic staff, delicious food, relaxing accomodation (all rooms have a view), superb pool and of course the fabulous beach. We really did not want to leave.
Thank you for such a wonderful time.
Cheers Adair and Barry.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingshurst, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stayed here for four nights, we loved it , nice and relaxing after a tough motorcycle tour. Room was beautiful, the whole place was very clean, staff were always busy clearing flower beds etc, netting debris from the sea in the mornings, and everybody from front desk to cleaners always said Hello, Good Morning etc when passing. Beds were at the most firm, but very comfortable, probably softest that we experienced in Vietnam. I must agree with dwo99 regarding comments by other reviewers, if you dont like real life, stay at home and watch travel programmes, or go to Disney. As far as staff speaking English, how much Vietnamese can you all speak? The people that need English, front desk etc spoke good English, and waiters, bar staff etc did OK. If you want everyone to speak your language STAY HOME and stop moaning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Granted, we were here in the off season (November 2012). But this place was a welcome relief from the hotel scams in Hanoi and Saigon (see my other reviews for more info). Beautiful setting, quiet, and every convenient to town.

Pros: Excellent service, staff, amenities, and rooms. Stunning views

Cons: plumbing needs some work (shower does not drain properly

The only issue I had at all had to do with the other guests. You will be sitting on your balcony, enjoying the breeze, the fresh air, etc. and then one of your neighbors will force you back inside by SMOKING. The resort would do well to ban all smoking on the premises, at least the rooms and balconies.

Some of the other comments in here about this place were comical. First, the beds. Yes, they are firm, but VERY comfortable. By Vietnamese standards, this place rocks. If you want 5 star perfection, please stay home.

Second, a few people complained about the walk into town. I am here to tell you that it is an easy, beautiful stroll that will take 15 minutes normal pace, but much longer if you stop to enjoy it. So quit whining, get off your fat, lazy, western duff and walk already!

I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: 3rd floor in the middle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunrise Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Resort

Address: Cat Co III Beach | Cat Ba Island, Cat Ba 215420, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Cat Ba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cat Ba
#1 Spa Hotel in Cat Ba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Sunrise Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Hotel Cat Ba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunrise Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.