We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fell in love with the place and didnt want to leave...ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunrise Resort

Save Saved
You added Sunrise Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunrise Resort
Cat Co III Beach | Cat Ba Island, Cat Ba 215420, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 hotels in Cat Ba
Leamington Spa, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fell in love with the place and didnt want to leave...ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This place is amazing. If, like me, you're not particularly used to 'living it up' then do yourself a favour and book this place on your visit. Making use of it's own private beach the resort is beautiful and very well maintained. As guests you get access to everything including the pool, jacuzzis, beach with umbrellas....the whole lot. We went off season (September) and although the room rates are very expensive compared to, well anywhere else on the island, usually, at that time of year it was about £50 a night and totally worth it! Food was excellent, service was great, facilities are very good and above all, that view from your beach-front balcony will leave you wishing you could stay forever....at least it should.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    48
    16
    10
    2
See reviews for
29
84
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed here only for one night ( wish it was longer!) it was part of 2 night 3 day ha long bay tour. The resort was fabulous clean rooms, spacious, beautiful view of the ocean. The only thing missing was the warm weather! The food was amazing at sunrise. Dinner and breakfast were including in our tour. There was 5 of us in our group and 2 are vegetarian, they brought enough food to feed 2 vegetarians that all 5 of us could of ate just vegetarian and had left overs. But our family of big eaters enjoyed the "buffet" we had on our table of assorted meat and vegetarian dishes. The food was amazing. The staff was great, very friendly and accommodating. I believe there was only one other couple that was staying at the resort when we were there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

At the end of a month long trip in Vietnam we chose 7 days at this relaxing resort on Cat Ba Island. It really was the best way to finish our holiday with fantastic staff, delicious food, relaxing accomodation (all rooms have a view), superb pool and of course the fabulous beach. We really did not want to leave.
Thank you for such a wonderful time.
Cheers Adair and Barry.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingshurst, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stayed here for four nights, we loved it , nice and relaxing after a tough motorcycle tour. Room was beautiful, the whole place was very clean, staff were always busy clearing flower beds etc, netting debris from the sea in the mornings, and everybody from front desk to cleaners always said Hello, Good Morning etc when passing. Beds were at the most firm, but very comfortable, probably softest that we experienced in Vietnam. I must agree with dwo99 regarding comments by other reviewers, if you dont like real life, stay at home and watch travel programmes, or go to Disney. As far as staff speaking English, how much Vietnamese can you all speak? The people that need English, front desk etc spoke good English, and waiters, bar staff etc did OK. If you want everyone to speak your language STAY HOME and stop moaning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Granted, we were here in the off season (November 2012). But this place was a welcome relief from the hotel scams in Hanoi and Saigon (see my other reviews for more info). Beautiful setting, quiet, and every convenient to town.

Pros: Excellent service, staff, amenities, and rooms. Stunning views

Cons: plumbing needs some work (shower does not drain properly

The only issue I had at all had to do with the other guests. You will be sitting on your balcony, enjoying the breeze, the fresh air, etc. and then one of your neighbors will force you back inside by SMOKING. The resort would do well to ban all smoking on the premises, at least the rooms and balconies.

Some of the other comments in here about this place were comical. First, the beds. Yes, they are firm, but VERY comfortable. By Vietnamese standards, this place rocks. If you want 5 star perfection, please stay home.

Second, a few people complained about the walk into town. I am here to tell you that it is an easy, beautiful stroll that will take 15 minutes normal pace, but much longer if you stop to enjoy it. So quit whining, get off your fat, lazy, western duff and walk already!

I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: 3rd floor in the middle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I totally agree with others who say that this would be an ok place to stay if priced appropriately. Like 40% of their non negotiable rates. The lovely pool does not make up for rock hard beds and unaccommodating service. Hard beds are the norm for budget hotels in this country, and I can accept that. But you can't have the budget beds AND the high end prices (you can get free wifi and AC at every other $15 hotel in town). Frankly it's a backpacker town, which suits me fine. I just feel for visitors who go away feeling jaded and gipped because they were not forewarned.

The other option of course is if Sunrise could rise to a more international standard and offer visitors to the island a more luxurious option to the backpacker hotels. The location has such potential!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Room smaller than expected & bed as hard as a rock but setting & view excellent. Standard of breakfast very poor compared to all other resorts we have stayed at on this trip.Don't order an omelette! Buildings need maintenance, staff lack english, lack of access to activities such as cycles or canoes & a town not geared to tourism makes it a location for a 1 to 2 day stay at the most. Also Beware of local town motorcycle tout rip offs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunrise Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Resort

Address: Cat Co III Beach | Cat Ba Island, Cat Ba 215420, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Cat Ba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 hotels in Cat Ba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Sunrise Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Hotel Cat Ba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunrise Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.