We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, lovely people and cracking view from my room!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thu Ha Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Thu Ha Hotel to your Saves list
Thu Ha Hotel
205, 1-4 Street | Cat Ba island, Cat Ba, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 40 Cat Ba B&B and Inns
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, lovely people and cracking view from my room!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed here for the end of a trip around Vietnam. The staff were super friendly and helpful. They also arranged a trip on a junk boat for us. The food was great with egg dishes featuring heavily on the menu.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tbshooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Aalter, Belgium
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Good hotel centrally located at the waterfront of Cat Ba Town, 200m from the hydrofoil dock, 100m from Hoang Long ticket office.

The hotel was recently refurbished and the equipment is in good condition. The room is basic but more importantly clean and spacious. Mine had even two big beds. Had lovely sea view. The bathroom is a wet room and properly maintained.

Staff is friendly and speaks good English. They offer tours (via Cat Ba Ventures) and you can rent motorbikes (free choice if you want to use these services). You can also eat at their restaurant and the food is good.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 501. Quiet room, sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Belgian_traveller118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed at Thu Ha hotel 2 nights and have found it is much better than the Lonely Planet mentioned.
We had a front room with great garden and sea view, the room has good quality with 2 soft beds and new facility room. The staffs were friendly and helpful. This hotel has a good location, near the bus station and boat dock and a reasonable price (we paid $12/night for twins room without breakfast).
We had dinner there and they cooked a great food. Overall though a fantastic value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel has a location in Cat Ba town, 150m from hydrofoil station. The hotel is new and rooms are nice and clean with and wifi, elevator... The room where I stayed had a beautiful view of Cat Ba bay and garden through the window. The food at the hotel's restaurant was great.
The best of all was the quality of service of the staff in this hotel. They are always courteous, friendly, and helpful.
I recommend this hotel for any travelers visiting Cat Ba island.

Room Tip: You should stay in 6-8 floor where the view is great and more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

The Lonely planet was highly recommending Thu Ha Hotel. When we came there, we were very surprise with all things were different. They rebuilt a new hotel with all new equipments. There was elevator, wifi in the room.
We stayed in 8th floor with a great sea view, the room was cleaned everyday, the bed was extremely comfortable. The staffs were extremely helpful. They gave us a Cat Ba map and had a lesson for us to drive scooter by ourself. There is a dinning room with AC in second floor, we got amazing Vietnamese food there.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank my h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for two nights at this hotel - the first nights of our Vietnam trip. The hotel was very basic but for the price everything was very good - the rooms were big enough and quite clean, the view was nice towards the ocean and the aircon was working fine. So all in all, a basic hotel with a price to match. Would recommend if you're looking at staying at the island and don't fancy luxury but a basic, good place to sleep at.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hukhuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cat Ba hotels
6.2 mi away
Duc Tuan Hotel & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
The Whisper of Nature Bungalow
6.2 mi away
Cat Ba Beach Resort
Cat Ba Beach Resort
#7 of 18 in Cat Ba
3.5 of 5 stars 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.5 mi away
Sunrise Resort
Sunrise Resort
#2 of 18 in Cat Ba
4.0 of 5 stars 248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Catba Palace Hotel
Catba Palace Hotel
#4 of 18 in Cat Ba
4.0 of 5 stars 123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alibaba's Hotel
Alibaba's Hotel
#2 of 40 in Cat Ba
4.5 of 5 stars 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thu Ha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thu Ha Hotel

Address: 205, 1-4 Street | Cat Ba island, Cat Ba, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Cat Ba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Cat Ba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting spectacular views over beautiful Cat Ba Bay and the neighbouring islands, the family owned and run Thu Ha Hotel has an elevator, Wi-Fi throughout and is situated on the town’s esplanade by the pier. All the run hotel’s rooms have a flat-screen TV and en-suite bathroom, with many overlooking the natural harbour. Apart from the local seafood, the menu includes a variety of meals, with both Vietnamese and continental breakfasts available. The hotel is also very close to the hydrofoil ferry terminal and bus stand.Being on the waterfront, the hotel is in the midst of a host of restaurants and bars that offer a selection of the finest locally caught seafood and is just minutes away from the islands best beaches.Ms Nguyet and her staff always try to satisfy every guests need and request and are very willing to help with information on travel and local tours. English is spoken. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Thu Ha Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing