We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cat Ba Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cat Ba Hostel to your Saves list
Cat Ba Hostel
160 Nui Ngoc street, Cat Ba 35000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Cat Ba
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Supanburi, Suphan Buri, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Helpful, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I definitely enjoyed my stay at Cat Ba Hostel. I stayed in the dorm room and it was very clean and comfortable. They only had small lockers for valuables so you couldn't lock your whole bag up, which would've been nice. The shower wasn't the best and had to be shared by all 8 beds. Luckily I was there during the low season so I had the whole room to myself for a couple nights! The hostel was also a little further up the hill than the rest of the accommodations, but only like a 10 minute walk at most to the waterfront. The staff was incredibly nice and very helpful. I was even able to book an affordable tour of the bay (other tours were very expensive) and I had a great time on it. Overall, I enjoyed it and it was a great value for the extra cheap price! I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    29
    10
    7
    4
See reviews for
3
25
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile


Great family run hostel. Rooms were basic but had everything you needed. Shower was a little awkward and beds were hard, and would recommend eating breakfast elsewhere (for the price/quality) but it's clean and tidy and it's a hostel so we didn't expect much. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful, and booked us a day tour to Ha Long Bay and Lan Ha Bay for $21 USD pp on a little wooden junk with a fresh seafood lunch. Started with around 15 people and ended with 7 as they were dropped at various places. End of the tour was spoiled by the boat's engine 'supposedly' breaking - conveniently next to another boat run by the company, which we were escorted onto (sadly for the couple who had privately rented that boat!) and then we were dropped on the wrong side of Cat Ba island, and encouraged to pay for taxis. Group power won over in the end and were given free lifts back to the main town. We also didn't get to snorkel and weren't sure if we ever made it to Ha Long Bay.. But apart from that it was great! Food is a little more expensive on Cat Ba island and good food is hard to come by, so have a look around first!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are clean with clean bedsheets and clean floors. Tv, aircon and fan. Staff are friendly and offer good value halong bay one day tours ( 21$ which is the price a few other travel agents quoted me as well). Location is 3 min walk to the main strip on catba but far away enough to avoid the noise. There are literally hundreds of hotels around though so if youre worried about booking dont be !

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Checked into the Cat Ba Hostal with no real knowledge of the hotel but was pleasently suprised. Had a good stay big rooms, nice and clean and the location is brilliant. I would recommend this hotel to a anyone.

Room Tip: Room on second floor ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

The room was small but oke, it had 2 fans and an ac so that worked good.
Bathroom was clean but the old toiletbrush was laying in the shower! And the ac waterexhaust was also in the bathroom!
Last day we had a bloody towel what was really disgusting!
The staf was very friendly abd helpfull breakfast and beers are cheap but the room could do for 10 us instead of 12usd
It is also a quite hotel in the back of a sidestreet so that was nice.
Overal a Good place to stay but dont expect the hilton!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We caught three cleaning staff sitting in our room with our bags opened and they were counting my money. They weren't cleaning, they were just sitting there watching one person count my money. This is unacceptable.

Otherwise, the hostel was good for its price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilbao, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Good Hostel not far away from the beach, they can help you to booking day trips, tours or other sports activities. My family a couple and my son three years old were happy with the staff. Very friendly and english spoken.
Food, drinks, motorbikes are others are available and inexpensive....
Relation price-quality is perfect.
You should visit or book it in advance before. Don´t waste your money... paying for big hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cat Ba Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cat Ba Hostel

Address: 160 Nui Ngoc street, Cat Ba 35000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Cat Ba
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Cat Ba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cat Ba, the most beautiful and the largest one in the archipelago of 1969 islands, is a natural world heritage amid the Ha Long Bay and was recognized by UNESCO as a World Biosphere Reserve on April 1, 2005. Lying about 60km northeast of Hai Phong city, Catba is awarded by nature primeval beauty with mountains, hills, seashore, forest and caves. All of them create wonderful and charming scenery.Standing in the tourist center of Cat Ba, the catbahostel , thanks to its favourable location, has a magnificent architecture with a leading diversified system of service of the island that always attracts tourists. With 15 standard , equipped with up-to-date facilities (such as a system of international telephone, a TV network with more than 20 channels transmitted via satellite, air conditioners, free Wi-Fi and comfortable bathrooms, the Catbahostel is always a reliable address for tourists when they come and stay in Catba. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Cat Ba Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cat Ba Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.