We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hung Long Harbour Hotel Cat Ba Island

Save Saved
You added Hung Long Harbour Hotel Cat Ba Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hung Long Harbour Hotel Cat Ba Island
268 , 1/4 Street | Hai Phong City, Cat Ba, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 14 hotels in Cat Ba
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This hotel stay was included in our Halong Bay Tour so pricing was not an issue. The hotel seems new so it was very clean & modern with an amazing view of the Bay from our room balcony. The beds however, were less than comfortable - kinda hard ...
We thought the front desk staff were a bit rude upon checkout. I had stained a face towel ( from a small nosebleed ) & they announced this to the lobby filled with our tour group, then charged us 40,000 Dong for it ; didn't mind paying it...( if they had only taken us aside.....quite embarrassing)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    18
    14
    7
    2
See reviews for
7
18
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Our stay at this hotel was included in our trip to halong bay, so im unaware of the price. We found the hotel very nice and clean, with a lovely view over the bay from our balcony. Well situated away from the bars so it's nice and quiet at night.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at the Hung Long Harbour Hotel for two nights as part of a tour package. The price was very reasonable.

The room itself was fine, seemed clean and well-kept. There is no shower enclosure in the bathroom, just a drain in the floor -- we didn't have a problem with this, but just so you know to expect a wet floor in there after showering.

The location is great, overlooking the bay; it was quiet, as there is essentially no vehicle traffic. Our room had a small balcony. It was a five-minute walk to the Cat Ba restaurants, or five minutes the other direction to the Cat Co beach.

Oh, but the beds were awful... the hardest beds I've ever encountered, not much different from sleeping on the floor. Fortunately we carry our backpacker air mattresses with us as insurance against uncomfortable hotel beds, and we really needed them here.

The continental breakfast was adequate -- one morning it was a buffet-style with a selection of hot and cold items, another morning it was items ordered from the menu because the hotel was not busy enough to justify setting a buffet. We were satisfied with both breakfasts. We did not eat dinner at the hotel.

Other than the beds, it was an okay place. If it weren't for the beds I might even give it a very good. But those beds were brutal -- better take an air mattress!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Whilst the facilities of the hotel were adequate - we were with a large group of students - when one of them reported the shower head broken due to a cheap/dodgy fitting, the hotel staff charged us for its replacement refusing to reissue our passports until we paid. Our bus was waiting so we had little choice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We came upon this hotel as part of a package and it provided us with a very clean, spacious room with an amazing view of the harbour. The bed was stunningly hard. and did not suit some of our party at all. I found it ok but a hard bed doesn't particularly worry me. It was quite a shock to sit down on it though - no give at all! The staff were rather off hand. All of them needed to take a course in the Virgin Airline school of customer service. What a difference a cheerful face at the Reception Desk can make. The included breakfast was ok but nother spectacular and once again, the demeanour of the staff needed some attention. I have found most hotel staff in Vietnam to be very friendly and accommodating so this was definitely a bit of an exception. A potentially very nice hotel needing a staff makeover and a bit of character added.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

We got this hotel with the ha long bay cruize deal and we had to pay extra 25$ to get it.

The hotel is still very new meaning that the rooms are clean and not stinky like other hotels in cat ba.

The view from the room was amazing and the room was clean and tidy. But, the food was horrible, we couldnt eat it!!! They served everything in deep fried oil, everything had sea food smell and tasted same. We were overcharged for drinks ( 10 times more expensive than outside).

The "spa" was teriblle, dont ever try it!!

But, after reading all other reviews, it seems that its the best hotel on cat ba...

Enjoy

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here on the second night of our 3 day/2 night Halong Bay boat tour. I don't know the price for a night here because it was included in the tour price, so keep that in mind if you plan to give my below review any merit.

Anyway, with that caveat, the hotel was great. And it is a big "sterile" hotel, so don't stay here if that is not your thing. The room was spacious, clean, and had a nice balcony overlooking Cat Ba bay. The bed was comfortable, the sheets were clean, and the flat-screen TV had a few English-language channels to watch as you drift off to sleep. Both the front desk and other staff were also friendly. The in-hotel restaurant was OK (again, however, we did not pay because it was included in the tour price), but I suspect you could round up tastier seafood down the street.

Cat Ba town itself is more or less a one street town, but its ocean front street is nice to stroll down. There is not much "nightlife" to speak of if you are looking to go out, particularly at the Hung Long Bar connected to the hotel (I was the only one there when I stopped to have a beer). If you do spend a night in Cat Ba town, the best thing to do is go walk up the hill behind the hotel and hit up the nearby local beach. It is only a five minute walk.

All in all, I really liked the Hung Long Hotel. Particularly because it was included in the price of our Halong Bay boat tour.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hung Long Harbour Hotel Cat Ba Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hung Long Harbour Hotel Cat Ba Island

Address: 268 , 1/4 Street | Hai Phong City, Cat Ba, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Cat Ba
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 hotels in Cat Ba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hung Long Harbour Hotel Cat Ba Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hung Long Harbour Hotel Cat Ba Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.