We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quality for the low budget!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Pont Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Le Pont Hotel to your Saves list
Le Pont Hotel
62-64 Rue Nui Ngoc, Cat Ba, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Cat Ba
Svendborg, Denmark
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great quality for the low budget!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stayed at this hostel for three days. The dorms are on the sixth floor and they have an elevator! If the weather is good I'm sure the view is amazing. The beds are quite hard and I hurt my neck the first night.
The bathroom is quite bad - hot water but the power of the water is too low.
They have free wifi and free computer to use. Wifi only worked on the rooftop on my smartphone and was not the best, but what can you expect more of 3,5 dollar per night.
It was quite difficult to communicate with the staff sometimes though it's only the girls and the australien guy who speak English.
The location is quite good - only two minutes walk from the pier in the town.

Great value for less money!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    18
    2
    4
    9
See reviews for
Families
0
15
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Great price for a really nice, clean room - with wifi! The rooms are huge... Most of the rooms come with two beds (even of you only need one bed) - which was great for re-organizing your backpack.The staff was always really helpful and accommodating too!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We have had a good time a Le Pont Hotel. Manager Mr Jim was very kind. The rooms are basic but clean. The boat trip that has been organised by Mr Jim was awesome! Recommended for backpackers! Don't go to Cat Ba on independence day like we did, all the hotels are fully booked at that time

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The hotel is good, and value for quality is definitely good.

The tours proposed by Jim are great: great experience, no pressure during your day tour, he provides lots of information, and there isn't any trap/hidden money to pay in the middle. Worth for what you pay, you really feel on holidays :)

This was one of our highlights of Vietnam.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I loved my time stayin in Le Pont, mainly down to the excellant service "Mr Jim" provided.
I visited twice, once with the lads and had a great laugh:Kayaking/Beaches/Scooter rides/cheap massages to name but a few things we did. Obviously the highlight was heading out into the Bay itself which Jim organised personally and was top rate!!
I enjoyed it that much there, i went back a month later or so later with a girl that i had met and again we both loved it-this time Jim organised a private boat&crew for us, allowing us the freedom to explore this beautiful World Heritage site:))
Pk

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nepal
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Whether you stay here or not (we did and it was cheap, clean and good), go and see Jim to arrange a tour - we had a great day out with him in the bay.

The rooms and clean and simple and really good value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

Since every single hotel in Cat Ba seemed to be fully booked, we ended up here in the dorm. We were 4 in the dorm but as there is only one shower and something like 14 or 16 beds available, I think it can become busy if everybody wants to take a (tepid) shower..! The dorm is really clean.
We took a day trip with Mr Jim and I can tell you that it is one of the best memory of my entire trip! Even if you're only two people (it's a bit more expensive in this case) do not hesitate to go. Jim is a very passionate guide and will lead you to hidden caves and beautiful creeks!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Pont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Pont Hotel

Address: 62-64 Rue Nui Ngoc, Cat Ba, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Cat Ba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Cat Ba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Le Pont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Pont Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.