We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family run gem!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Duc Tuan Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Duc Tuan Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Duc Tuan Hotel & Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No: 210 - 1/4 Str, Group 17th, Cat Ba, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Cat Ba
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Family run gem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

The location of this hotel is great, right on the main strip of Cat Ba. We had the ocean view room which is additional but well worth it. Our room was very basic.

We were blown away by the level of care from the owner, this was the real gem of staying here. The owner took the time to explain the area to us and really made us feel at home. Everytime we came back to the hotel he would invite us to drink tea with his family and share some sweets. We were literally made to feel apart of the family which was a lovely feeling.

We booked a day tour of Ha Long Bay through the owner. The boat driver did not speak a word of English and we often didn't know what exactly was happening / where we were off to next. This made for a fun adventure and we made some friends on the boat who also found the clueless adventure amusing. The tour did include some caves not on most tours and we hardly saw any other tour boats along the way which is a plus.

The food was so great for the price at the Hotel! Essentially a lot of the food along the main road is basically the same (Vietnamese with Western mashed in) and we found this place to be the best value! The included breakfast was tasty. Although - vegetarians beware, the "vegetarian soup" still had balls of meat in it! There are plenty of vegetarian options though.

It is worth noting the lift is only from the second floor, so you have to lug your baggage up a set of stairs initially.

We would definitely return!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buituananh, Manager at Duc Tuan Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear guests!
thank you for your review.
I always wish you have good luck in life!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    85
    54
    19
    9
See reviews for
31
107
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This hotel may be basic (as are most in Cat Ba), but what a fantastic view! And it was so cheap. It is run and managed as a family hotel (a family sleeping area doubles as the computer room/upstairs restaurant; and the family is downstairs in the restaurant watching TV every night), but they are friendly enough. No pressure to book tours through them.

Room Tip: Front room, overlooking harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buituananh, Manager at Duc Tuan Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
thank you very much for recommend us.
good lucky in your life!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Pricing was very attractive - $11 per night including breakfast. Breakfast options were great and so was the coffee. On site restaurant is decent and so is the food. Fantastic location on Cat Ba and the sea view rooms have great views. Staff are somewhat indifferent and not engaging but at the price, who cares!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This is a family owned joint. It has a good location. Travel here from Hanoi or Hai Phong NOT HALONG CITY. The owner has good English and will help you with anything you need. The food there is good. It's right across the street from the water. The rooms were good for the price. There was an odd bright light coming from the top of the door (windows), but other than that sleep was fine.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th and 5th floor are good. It's nice to have a windowless room so you can't he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randers
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The view from the room were amazing and the sitting arrangement before the window was great. The heating in the room was also working fine, eventhough it really was cold. But the cleaniness was below standard and this family really has some issues, as mentioned by many others. The man seems nice, but the "queen" of the hotel is really unpleasant. She tried to cheat us several times and was plain rude. I will recommend them to take these comments serious, since the have the chance of making this hotel so much better if they listened to the advices! Unfortunately I cant give them more than two circles from our current experiences.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buituananh, Manager at Duc Tuan Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
thanks for your feedback, I do not think you are too narrow-minded like that, only a little bit of negligence in credit card payments so that you give us an bad review. I go to work not at home, my sister, she did not know anything about credit card payment, she only spoke to her grandchildren about how the payments, she did not say with you so that you think so it's too much for us? correct customer is king but not just for a few dollars that you want to defame abuse us so. we welcome all guests in the world, welcome to kind people and always courtesy. also people like you value for money is important above all so do not come, we don't want see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Great Harbour view from the room and staff are helpful but not engaging as little English is spoken. No hard sales of trips etc which was a blessing. Food was great. Best of all was we were picked up by hotel staff from the bus which meant we didn't have to deal with hard-sale salesmen selling trips. At $16 per night including b'fast for two of us, it was a good deal and we enjoyed our stay.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buituananh, Manager at Duc Tuan Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
thank you very much for your review.
wish you and your family happy and lucky!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Great value for your $$$. This is a mini hotel right near the ferry wharf. Close to all venues of Cat Bà. Pleasant and helpful staff/owner. Room was spacious and clean, bathroom clean and functional. Sea view. Lift. Quiet. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buituananh, Manager at Duc Tuan Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
thank you very much for your review.
wish you and your family happy and lucky!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cat Ba hotels
6.1 mi away
Catba Palace Hotel
Catba Palace Hotel
#4 of 16 in Cat Ba
4.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Whisper of Nature Bungalow
20.5 mi away
Sunrise Resort
Sunrise Resort
#2 of 16 in Cat Ba
4.0 of 5 stars 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cat Ba Beach Resort
Cat Ba Beach Resort
#7 of 16 in Cat Ba
3.5 of 5 stars 83 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hai Long Hotel Cat Ba
Hai Long Hotel Cat Ba
#5 of 16 in Cat Ba
4.0 of 5 stars 25 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sea Pearl Hotel
Sea Pearl Hotel
#10 of 16 in Cat Ba
4.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duc Tuan Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duc Tuan Hotel & Restaurant

Address: No: 210 - 1/4 Str, Group 17th, Cat Ba, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Cat Ba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Cat Ba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Duc Tuan Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Duc Tuan Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duc Tuan Hotel And Restaurant

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duc Tuan Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.