We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, decent pricing, indifferent staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Duc Tuan Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Duc Tuan Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Duc Tuan Hotel & Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No: 210 - 1/4 Str, Group 17th, Cat Ba, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Cat Ba
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, decent pricing, indifferent staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Pricing was very attractive - $11 per night including breakfast. Breakfast options were great and so was the coffee. On site restaurant is decent and so is the food. Fantastic location on Cat Ba and the sea view rooms have great views. Staff are somewhat indifferent and not engaging but at the price, who cares!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    84
    53
    18
    9
See reviews for
31
105
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
St. Paul
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This is a family owned joint. It has a good location. Travel here from Hanoi or Hai Phong NOT HALONG CITY. The owner has good English and will help you with anything you need. The food there is good. It's right across the street from the water. The rooms were good for the price. There was an odd bright light coming from the top of the door (windows), but other than that sleep was fine.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th and 5th floor are good. It's nice to have a windowless room so you can't he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randers
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The view from the room were amazing and the sitting arrangement before the window was great. The heating in the room was also working fine, eventhough it really was cold. But the cleaniness was below standard and this family really has some issues, as mentioned by many others. The man seems nice, but the "queen" of the hotel is really unpleasant. She tried to cheat us several times and was plain rude. I will recommend them to take these comments serious, since the have the chance of making this hotel so much better if they listened to the advices! Unfortunately I cant give them more than two circles from our current experiences.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buituananh, Manager at Duc Tuan Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
thanks for your feedback, I do not think you are too narrow-minded like that, only a little bit of negligence in credit card payments so that you give us an bad review. I go to work not at home, my sister, she did not know anything about credit card payment, she only spoke to her grandchildren about how the payments, she did not say with you so that you think so it's too much for us? correct customer is king but not just for a few dollars that you want to defame abuse us so. we welcome all guests in the world, welcome to kind people and always courtesy. also people like you value for money is important above all so do not come, we don't want see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Great Harbour view from the room and staff are helpful but not engaging as little English is spoken. No hard sales of trips etc which was a blessing. Food was great. Best of all was we were picked up by hotel staff from the bus which meant we didn't have to deal with hard-sale salesmen selling trips. At $16 per night including b'fast for two of us, it was a good deal and we enjoyed our stay.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buituananh, Manager at Duc Tuan Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
thank you very much for your review.
wish you and your family happy and lucky!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Great value for your $$$. This is a mini hotel right near the ferry wharf. Close to all venues of Cat Bà. Pleasant and helpful staff/owner. Room was spacious and clean, bathroom clean and functional. Sea view. Lift. Quiet. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buituananh, Manager at Duc Tuan Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
thank you very much for your review.
wish you and your family happy and lucky!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I booked a 4-night stay at this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews. The $15/night price for a sea-view room seemed reasonable, until I arrived in Cat Ba and similar accomodations were going for $6. When I checked in, the sour-faced and sullen receptionist wanted to charge me an additional $2 for breakfast, which I had thought was included. She got the owner on the phone and he literally yelled at me for several minutes, saying I was pretending not to understand (when I told him I didn't understand why he was so angry). He later arrived and was still yelling, but finally calmed down, apologized, and included breakfast in the $15. The next day, I met some people staying at Duc Tuan who were paying $8. When I asked the receptionist about it, she got the owner on the phone again (no one besides him is comfortable speaking English, apparently). He again started yelling and told me to move out the next day if I didn't want to pay $15. The receptionist hung up and told me I'm a bad person. I left that miserable place the next day and moved into a sea-view room at Phuong Mai down the street for $6 per night. Duc Tuan, I don't know why everyone there is so unhappy, but I wouldn't wish your "service" on the annoying backpacker kids on the overnight bus.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buituananh, Manager at Duc Tuan Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
you are an not ordinary person if I did not say you were crazy, you have a booking confirmation via email, with price is 15usd for room with seaview, but not include breakfast. you have tried to argue is including breakfast, so that you deliberately pretend to cry so we agreed then we said ok, you did not understand this, also require more than...$15/a room 20m2, with seaview, breakfast, wifi, coffee, tea, hot water, computer, heating, elevate ....free!!!
you really are crazy if taken Duc Tuan hotel compare with motels Phuong Mai...
I do not know what to say but the visitors have come here they will help me answer you!
thanks to everyone who came and supported us.
regard
Mr: Tuan Anh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

As far as value for money goes duc tuan is tops. Sure breakfast was not copious but at the price of room didnt expect more. Sure the staff are not smiling a lot but they are really helpful and compared with the pushiness of other restaurants I quite liked the reverse psychology of duc tuan. You eat there if you wanted and if no one came they just closed early. The food is actually as good as any of the hotels in cat ba town. Yes the staff are a little oddball but I think that kind of made the place v human. They ll arrange anything for. Thoroughly recommended

Room Tip: We travelled with tour group from Hanoi. V good value and provided you pay 80000 dong entry at ha l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buituananh, Manager at Duc Tuan Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
thank you very much for your review.
wish you and your family happy and lucky!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Duc Tuan Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duc Tuan Hotel & Restaurant

Address: No: 210 - 1/4 Str, Group 17th, Cat Ba, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Cat Ba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cat Ba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Duc Tuan Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Duc Tuan Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duc Tuan Hotel And Restaurant

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duc Tuan Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.