We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, no hard sell from staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Duc Tuan Hotel & Restaurant

Save Saved
You added Duc Tuan Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Duc Tuan Hotel & Restaurant
No: 210 - 1/4 Str, Group 17th, Cat Ba, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 hotels in Cat Ba
Durban, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location, no hard sell from staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Great Harbour view from the room and staff are helpful but not engaging as little English is spoken. No hard sales of trips etc which was a blessing. Food was great. Best of all was we were picked up by hotel staff from the bus which meant we didn't have to deal with hard-sale salesmen selling trips. At $16 per night including b'fast for two of us, it was a good deal and we enjoyed our stay.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buituananh, Manager at Duc Tuan Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
thank you very much for your review.
wish you and your family happy and lucky!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    62
    37
    15
    9
See reviews for
27
83
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Great value for your $$$. This is a mini hotel right near the ferry wharf. Close to all venues of Cat Bà. Pleasant and helpful staff/owner. Room was spacious and clean, bathroom clean and functional. Sea view. Lift. Quiet. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buituananh, Manager at Duc Tuan Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
thank you very much for your review.
wish you and your family happy and lucky!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I booked a 4-night stay at this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews. The $15/night price for a sea-view room seemed reasonable, until I arrived in Cat Ba and similar accomodations were going for $6. When I checked in, the sour-faced and sullen receptionist wanted to charge me an additional $2 for breakfast, which I had thought was included. She got the owner on the phone and he literally yelled at me for several minutes, saying I was pretending not to understand (when I told him I didn't understand why he was so angry). He later arrived and was still yelling, but finally calmed down, apologized, and included breakfast in the $15. The next day, I met some people staying at Duc Tuan who were paying $8. When I asked the receptionist about it, she got the owner on the phone again (no one besides him is comfortable speaking English, apparently). He again started yelling and told me to move out the next day if I didn't want to pay $15. The receptionist hung up and told me I'm a bad person. I left that miserable place the next day and moved into a sea-view room at Phuong Mai down the street for $6 per night. Duc Tuan, I don't know why everyone there is so unhappy, but I wouldn't wish your "service" on the annoying backpacker kids on the overnight bus.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buituananh, Manager at Duc Tuan Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
you are an not ordinary person if I did not say you were crazy, you have a booking confirmation via email, with price is 15usd for room with seaview, but not include breakfast. you have tried to argue is including breakfast, so that you deliberately pretend to cry so we agreed then we said ok, you did not understand this, also require more than...$15/a room 20m2, with seaview, breakfast, wifi, coffee, tea, hot water, computer, heating, elevate ....free!!!
you really are crazy if taken Duc Tuan hotel compare with motels Phuong Mai...
I do not know what to say but the visitors have come here they will help me answer you!
thanks to everyone who came and supported us.
regard
Mr: Tuan Anh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

As far as value for money goes duc tuan is tops. Sure breakfast was not copious but at the price of room didnt expect more. Sure the staff are not smiling a lot but they are really helpful and compared with the pushiness of other restaurants I quite liked the reverse psychology of duc tuan. You eat there if you wanted and if no one came they just closed early. The food is actually as good as any of the hotels in cat ba town. Yes the staff are a little oddball but I think that kind of made the place v human. They ll arrange anything for. Thoroughly recommended

Room Tip: We travelled with tour group from Hanoi. V good value and provided you pay 80000 dong entry at ha l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buituananh, Manager at Duc Tuan Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
thank you very much for your review.
wish you and your family happy and lucky!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

Mostly this was a good hotel, but maybe you can do better? Nice rooms, good noodle breakfast, good location, and only $17. Problem is that you get a slightly disfunctional family with that price. The female is not very easy to talk with and there is some mad screaming from time to time. The man is helpful and charming, but it usually takes two to tango.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menton, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The welcoming is not at all friendly compared to what we have experienced in Vietnam.
Rooms are ok, spacious, bathroom is average but clean. We asked them to clean the room and when we came back they only cleaned the WC..
Mattress is hard and linen is cheap but clean. Breakfast is small, you can only choose 1 item and 1 drink.
We booked a tour in Ha Lond bay with them which was OK and I believed it is the same tour each hotel is proposing in Cat Ba.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Cheap and not altogether cheerful. This hotel was centrally located in Cat Ba and pretty cheap but not quite backpacker prices. The staff were more or less disinterested but not unpleasant. The rooms were clean but there was a stale smell of drains in the bathroom. An unremarkable but functional budget hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Duc Tuan Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duc Tuan Hotel & Restaurant

Address: No: 210 - 1/4 Str, Group 17th, Cat Ba, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Cat Ba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cat Ba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Duc Tuan Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duc Tuan Hotel And Restaurant

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duc Tuan Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.