We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Princes hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catba Princes Hotel

Catba Princes Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Catba Princes Hotel to your Saves list
Catba Princes Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ha Long Bay, Cat Ba, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in Cat Ba
Australind, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Princes hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

The hotel under construction but 70% almost finish for upgrade as standard
Restaurant food very good plus good seaview and services, recovery from construction
Room it ok.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    7
    5
    13
See reviews for
8
10
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
World
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

We had this hotel as part of a three day Halong Bay tour with one night on Cat Ba island.

When we were there they were totally renovating the whole hotel and if you try to look through the mess now you can see that they are really making an very nice hotel. Construction stops at 5 so that's early enough to not be bothered unless you like to stay in your room all day.

Staff was very helpful an friendly.

The room we were in was very already finished and was very beautiful and very big too.

Buffet breakfast and Diner was well made also.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

This was truly the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. It was booked as part of a tour, and I had made the mistake of assuming that since it was a reputable tour company, the choice of accommodations would be, at the least, decent. And, I understand that booking cheaper hotels is one of the ways a package tour makes a profit. But, still, this was ridiculous. Cockroaches in my room, a moldy shower that flooded the whole bathroom when used, horrible sewage smells in the lobby at times, a rat outside my room, having to make a dash to my room once through the thick smoke of (no idea what, but there were people in masks trying to deal with it), and don't ask me about the morning breakfast. Was there anything good? A nice sunset view of the harbor from my room, and some friendly staff people. I'd like to say that there's nothing here a fresh coat of paint wouldn't help, but this place has a long way to go.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

This three stars hotel is a fake! (as the pictures of the website). The service is poor, well inexistant in fact. The room was dirty, no enought hot water, no hair dryer, not welcoming drink or basket fruits as they mentioned on their beautifull website. The food was not good at all, and the restaurant seems to be on-building. Flee it!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

The reason for Terrible feedback is that there was renovation going on when we stayed. It was not told when reserving the room (of course). Considering the wideness and noisiness of the renovation the hotel should have been closed.

We got an unplesant wake up at 5 AM when the work started and continued until the night. We checked out after one night.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

This hotel was a building site which we were woken up very early each morning to. Arriving at breakfast we then had to wait around for 45 minutes before any food was put out on the buffet. This was hardly worth the wait and consisted of a very basic selection of bread and fruit.
The rooms were very dated and the first room that we stayed had a body shaped mould within the matress. The shower consisted of a bath hose attachment which could not reach above my thigh. We had to request towels to be left in the rooms and the electricity failed quite frequently.
Enquiring about the hotel gym i was informed that this was closed, and that the spa, bar, restaurant and nightclub were also closed. None of these opened during the entire of our visit. The pool table was unusable and ripped.
We found that communication with the hotel staff was very difficult and all of them seemed to struggle with even basic english.
On checking out the hotel tried to charge us again for our stay and became extremely aggressive towards us when we treid to explain that we had already paid. while we were at reception discussing the checkout hotel staff went and locked the front door to the hotel.
In order to resolve this issue the hotel called our booking agency, which we were charged for the phone call (which was also very expensive).

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

Stayed here for 4 night, paid around $30 USD a night, for a large room, T.V., bathroom, window, A/C, fan, Wifi, and breakfast. Not a bad pick at all for a budget hotel, the outside was freshly painted but the inside was a little worn but still very clean and tidy. The wifi was awful, I had to go up two floors to sit under the signal and even then it was intermittant at best. even in the lobby the connection was very slow. The breakfast was nothing flash, just the basics. The hotel has a back up generator (unlike others in the area) which is good because the power goes out constantly on Cat Ba, but still a little uncomfortable when it went out while we were in the lift, even though 30 seconds later the generator kicked in, after that we took the stairs to the 5th floor! The hotel is only a few buildings from the main street, so its close to everything. All up not a flashy pick but good for the money, clean and comfortable a typical Asian hotel for the money.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Catba Princes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catba Princes Hotel

Address: Ha Long Bay, Cat Ba, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Cat Ba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in Cat Ba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Catba Princes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Catba Princes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catba Princes Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.