We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peaceful natural accomodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Whisper of Nature Bungalow

Save Saved
You added The Whisper of Nature Bungalow to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Whisper of Nature Bungalow
Viet Hai, Cat Ba 1000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Cat Ba
Margaret River, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“peaceful natural accomodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed 3 night's here, climbed Navy Peak, strolled the village and rode bicycles to and from the harbour daily to access tours. Quiet, peaceful location with good food, rooms and opportunity to mix with other travellers and share experiences.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    19
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
18
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

They ask foor ( not less ) money for the moto transfer from the 5 km away berth. HAHA thats really a big joke ! Bungalows can be nicer with less concrete, and can also be cheaper!
Nice nature like everywhere on catba.
The two nights could have been calm , IF not a [--] dog was barking for the whole night and nobody was caring about ( we habe been only vistors at this tim ein january ). I really was in the mood to tape his mouth but didnt find the tape....
And getting away : No clear information about the schedule of public boat. We found out by incident. They asked us to pay for private boat.....
Once is enough

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcata
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This was the highlight of our 17 day tour of Vietnam. Getting there was a delightful adventure via taxi, bus, ferry, water taxi and bike. Lan Ha Bay is beuatiful. I loved the water taxi trip to and from Cat Ba city. The bike ride was fun. Great hiking into the national park from the Bungalows. The hotel site itself was lovely and peaceful. Excellent food! The host was very welcoming.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soest, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

We loved whisper nature bungalows. Getting there is a real adventure first a bus from hanoi luong yen station 190.000 dong per person. To haiphong.A from cat ba town little boat bought as to the viethai quay. After that we did not go to halongbay because this was so nice. You should not pay more than 500.000 dong for the whole boat trip.than you cycle to the bungalows a beautifull ride. At night the neighbours do sing 2 hours of karaoke. Well if you can make stop you better join. We had a seriously great time with them. Be carefull for the lady who sells pearls she is ridiculously high in her price. Smile and wave! We had a great time kayaking. Overall loved it!!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominican Republic
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Great place that we went with because of reviews here. I would say this is not a resort though. It is a few bungalows out at the end of an isolated valley. it has lots of country sounds at night and not much going on other than the great hike to navy peak and short walk to a cave. there is a school you can visit. the bike ride from the ferry (which you can take from and back to cat ba easily) is lovely, even special. great to be in a car free place. i recommend biking back toward the harbor at sunset and just stopping once out of town to hear the jungle come alive. i would say staying here for a night and doing the hike is a must if you are visiting the area for a few days. the guys that run the place are also great cooks and very helpful. they could add some more hammocks and comfy seating to help encourage guests to stay longer than just a night. rooms had ac, but we found the night time temps to be cool enough not to turn it on. hot during the day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Six of us stayed here for two nights over the autumn long weekend break in Vietnam. From Hanoi, we caught two coaches, a fast ferry, another coach, a taxi, a small boat and rode bicycles to get there -- but it was well worth it.

This is an isolated medium-grade resort in the middle of Cat Ba Island, which is in the middle of Halong Bay. We stayed in tiny bungalow chalets, each with a bathroom, and ate in a cafe by a steam. It was idyllic. We saw rare langurs in the jungle treetops. The stay included use of bicycles. It poured overnight but we still managed extensive periods of cycling, kayaking and swimming.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. There appears to be a big dormitory building for backpackers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Staying at Whisper Nature Bungalow was one of the highlights of our stay in Vietnam and Cambodia. We arrived in at the beginning of a typhoon, which added to the excitement. First a Ferry to Cat Ba city - where most people stay - then a short motorbike taxi to another jetty. A one hour ride in a bamboo boat - as trip around the bay - took ust to the jetty where we were picked up and drieven six stunnning kilometers to the Bungalows. We had three peaceful nights in the, albeit basic, bungalow, but were looked after very well buy Duan and his wife, who cooked special, delicious, vegetarian meals for me every night. If discos and bright life are your thing, then this is not the place to be, but for relaxation, wildlife, and a very personal service, (not to mention the extremely good value) and a complete antidote to the traffic and buzz of the city, this place is not to be missed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Whisper of Nature Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whisper of Nature Bungalow

Address: Viet Hai, Cat Ba 1000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Cat Ba
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Cat Ba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short walk from the sea leads to Viet Hai Village, a new APT Travel community tour development. The comfortable bungalows are located under one of the steep mountainsides of the island’s National Park Reserve. There are seven single private bungalows, a large bungalow for groups of people to share and a triangular bungalow where a bar is located with food, drink and wine. Next to the bar is an open space with some tables for you to relax, drink amongst the trees and stones of the untouched natural setting, beside a very clean stream. A movable stage can be provided for music and song. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Whisper of Nature Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whisper Of Nature Bungalow Hotel Cat Ba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Whisper of Nature Bungalow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.