We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice after busy hanoi.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Whisper of Nature Bungalow

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added The Whisper of Nature Bungalow to your Saves list
The Whisper of Nature Bungalow
Viet Hai, Cat Ba 1000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Cat Ba
Soest, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very Nice after busy hanoi.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

We loved whisper nature bungalows. Getting there is a real adventure first a bus from hanoi luong yen station 190.000 dong per person. To haiphong.A from cat ba town little boat bought as to the viethai quay. After that we did not go to halongbay because this was so nice. You should not pay more than 500.000 dong for the whole boat trip.than you cycle to the bungalows a beautifull ride. At night the neighbours do sing 2 hours of karaoke. Well if you can make stop you better join. We had a seriously great time with them. Be carefull for the lady who sells pearls she is ridiculously high in her price. Smile and wave! We had a great time kayaking. Overall loved it!!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    19
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
18
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dominican Republic
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Great place that we went with because of reviews here. I would say this is not a resort though. It is a few bungalows out at the end of an isolated valley. it has lots of country sounds at night and not much going on other than the great hike to navy peak and short walk to a cave. there is a school you can visit. the bike ride from the ferry (which you can take from and back to cat ba easily) is lovely, even special. great to be in a car free place. i recommend biking back toward the harbor at sunset and just stopping once out of town to hear the jungle come alive. i would say staying here for a night and doing the hike is a must if you are visiting the area for a few days. the guys that run the place are also great cooks and very helpful. they could add some more hammocks and comfy seating to help encourage guests to stay longer than just a night. rooms had ac, but we found the night time temps to be cool enough not to turn it on. hot during the day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Six of us stayed here for two nights over the autumn long weekend break in Vietnam. From Hanoi, we caught two coaches, a fast ferry, another coach, a taxi, a small boat and rode bicycles to get there -- but it was well worth it.

This is an isolated medium-grade resort in the middle of Cat Ba Island, which is in the middle of Halong Bay. We stayed in tiny bungalow chalets, each with a bathroom, and ate in a cafe by a steam. It was idyllic. We saw rare langurs in the jungle treetops. The stay included use of bicycles. It poured overnight but we still managed extensive periods of cycling, kayaking and swimming.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. There appears to be a big dormitory building for backpackers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Staying at Whisper Nature Bungalow was one of the highlights of our stay in Vietnam and Cambodia. We arrived in at the beginning of a typhoon, which added to the excitement. First a Ferry to Cat Ba city - where most people stay - then a short motorbike taxi to another jetty. A one hour ride in a bamboo boat - as trip around the bay - took ust to the jetty where we were picked up and drieven six stunnning kilometers to the Bungalows. We had three peaceful nights in the, albeit basic, bungalow, but were looked after very well buy Duan and his wife, who cooked special, delicious, vegetarian meals for me every night. If discos and bright life are your thing, then this is not the place to be, but for relaxation, wildlife, and a very personal service, (not to mention the extremely good value) and a complete antidote to the traffic and buzz of the city, this place is not to be missed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We used slopony adventures for directions to get from Hanoi to Whisper (not for the faint hearted) but great for adventurers, with final 5 kilometer bike ride along stunning waterway then into valley, through Viet Hai village to arrive at Whisper Bungalows. Heavy rain both nights, bring your own cards and spirits. Blessed with great day weather for kayaking and swimming on isolated beach, all organised by young Xuan for $22 for the day each. Basic accommodation with hot water and lovely flowing creek. Few things scampering over the roof at night but you are in nature. Our party of 6 had a great weekend.

Room Tip: Bungalows set along small creek (fast after night rains !) in lovely garden greenery, some greens us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I found this place on Trip Advisor and I am so glad I did. It is just fantastic! We came as a group of friends and just getting here was an adventure - we didn't quite know what the next steps would be! The journey was a lot of fun, and to end up on the pier near Viet Hai village was magic. The manager was waiting for us, took our backpacks on his motor bike, and gave us bicycles to ride to the Bungalows (4km). The scenery was breath-taking: The water, the limestone crags, the trees, the rice paddies - clean air.... what more could Hanoi-residents ask for!
The Bungalows were basic but comfortable and clean, with everything you need for a few days stay. The staff met all of our needs - ice for our own drinks, a table to play cards, food to meet everyone's needs.
We took a trip into the Bay on one day, and had the beauty of the bay, plus kayaking and swimming from a small beach, lazing in the sun.
We wanted to go to Halong Bay, without going on a tour, and this was perfect. Very cheap, very good value.
Would recommend that they get the bicycles serviced, though!
PS Didn't see a single cockroach!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Even the rain cannot spoil this lovely scenery. Limestone cliffs rising above a fertile valley. The bungalows are basic but have a toilet, shower, comfy bed with good mosquito nets and AC. They have a small seating area and a short path to the dining room/bar and terrace. The nature reserve surrounds the hotel and the small village of Viet Hai with exotic birds butterflies and dragonflies all in abundance. To top it off bikes are free. If you are up for a strenous walk/scramble then at the top of the nearby mountain you get panoramic views of Halong Bay. Even the trip from Cat Ba city is an adventure, travelling through the protected fishing zone with its floating villages on a 'Bamboo Boat'. Finally - the staff are lovely people.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Whisper of Nature Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whisper of Nature Bungalow

Address: Viet Hai, Cat Ba 1000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Cat Ba
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Cat Ba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short walk from the sea leads to Viet Hai Village, a new APT Travel community tour development. The comfortable bungalows are located under one of the steep mountainsides of the island’s National Park Reserve. There are seven single private bungalows, a large bungalow for groups of people to share and a triangular bungalow where a bar is located with food, drink and wine. Next to the bar is an open space with some tables for you to relax, drink amongst the trees and stones of the untouched natural setting, beside a very clean stream. A movable stage can be provided for music and song. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Whisper of Nature Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whisper Of Nature Bungalow Hotel Cat Ba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Whisper of Nature Bungalow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.