We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting away from it all” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Whisper of Nature Bungalow

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Whisper of Nature Bungalow to your Saves list
The Whisper of Nature Bungalow
Viet Hai, Cat Ba 1000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Cat Ba
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Getting away from it all”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Six of us stayed here for two nights over the autumn long weekend break in Vietnam. From Hanoi, we caught two coaches, a fast ferry, another coach, a taxi, a small boat and rode bicycles to get there -- but it was well worth it.

This is an isolated medium-grade resort in the middle of Cat Ba Island, which is in the middle of Halong Bay. We stayed in tiny bungalow chalets, each with a bathroom, and ate in a cafe by a steam. It was idyllic. We saw rare langurs in the jungle treetops. The stay included use of bicycles. It poured overnight but we still managed extensive periods of cycling, kayaking and swimming.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. There appears to be a big dormitory building for backpackers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    22
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
21
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Staying at Whisper Nature Bungalow was one of the highlights of our stay in Vietnam and Cambodia. We arrived in at the beginning of a typhoon, which added to the excitement. First a Ferry to Cat Ba city - where most people stay - then a short motorbike taxi to another jetty. A one hour ride in a bamboo boat - as trip around the bay - took ust to the jetty where we were picked up and drieven six stunnning kilometers to the Bungalows. We had three peaceful nights in the, albeit basic, bungalow, but were looked after very well buy Duan and his wife, who cooked special, delicious, vegetarian meals for me every night. If discos and bright life are your thing, then this is not the place to be, but for relaxation, wildlife, and a very personal service, (not to mention the extremely good value) and a complete antidote to the traffic and buzz of the city, this place is not to be missed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We used slopony adventures for directions to get from Hanoi to Whisper (not for the faint hearted) but great for adventurers, with final 5 kilometer bike ride along stunning waterway then into valley, through Viet Hai village to arrive at Whisper Bungalows. Heavy rain both nights, bring your own cards and spirits. Blessed with great day weather for kayaking and swimming on isolated beach, all organised by young Xuan for $22 for the day each. Basic accommodation with hot water and lovely flowing creek. Few things scampering over the roof at night but you are in nature. Our party of 6 had a great weekend.

Room Tip: Bungalows set along small creek (fast after night rains !) in lovely garden greenery, some greens us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I found this place on Trip Advisor and I am so glad I did. It is just fantastic! We came as a group of friends and just getting here was an adventure - we didn't quite know what the next steps would be! The journey was a lot of fun, and to end up on the pier near Viet Hai village was magic. The manager was waiting for us, took our backpacks on his motor bike, and gave us bicycles to ride to the Bungalows (4km). The scenery was breath-taking: The water, the limestone crags, the trees, the rice paddies - clean air.... what more could Hanoi-residents ask for!
The Bungalows were basic but comfortable and clean, with everything you need for a few days stay. The staff met all of our needs - ice for our own drinks, a table to play cards, food to meet everyone's needs.
We took a trip into the Bay on one day, and had the beauty of the bay, plus kayaking and swimming from a small beach, lazing in the sun.
We wanted to go to Halong Bay, without going on a tour, and this was perfect. Very cheap, very good value.
Would recommend that they get the bicycles serviced, though!
PS Didn't see a single cockroach!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Even the rain cannot spoil this lovely scenery. Limestone cliffs rising above a fertile valley. The bungalows are basic but have a toilet, shower, comfy bed with good mosquito nets and AC. They have a small seating area and a short path to the dining room/bar and terrace. The nature reserve surrounds the hotel and the small village of Viet Hai with exotic birds butterflies and dragonflies all in abundance. To top it off bikes are free. If you are up for a strenous walk/scramble then at the top of the nearby mountain you get panoramic views of Halong Bay. Even the trip from Cat Ba city is an adventure, travelling through the protected fishing zone with its floating villages on a 'Bamboo Boat'. Finally - the staff are lovely people.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rennes, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This hotel is a great way to relax off mass tourism's beaten track. Getting there is itself a bit of an adventure, and once arrived you have the teeming jungle on one side and a charming little village of Viet Hai on the other. Nature Whisper is the only hotel for miles, so the locals are not unduly affected by tourism. The bungalows are pretty basic, but have air conditioning and effective mosquito nets. The manager's wife is a good cook, and the portions are generous. There's not much to do except chill out.
The disadvantage of being so isolated is that you become a captive market for the hotel. For instance, we negotiated the Cat Ba-Viet Hai boat trip at Cat Ba for 200,000 VND, but the Nature Whisper manager couldn't or wouldn't do better than 250,000 VND for the same trip. The manager's “friend”, who organises kayaking excursions, does not negotiate either. They are sharp enough to know that once at Nature Whisper, the traveller has no real choice. A traveller would be well-advised to call in at one or two of the numerous travel agencies at Cat Ba before going to Viet Hai. If you don't get a satisfactory price for an excursion or boat transfer from Nature Whisper, you could just telephone Cat Ba. Another piece of advice: avoid swimming in the nearby sea. Sadly, the sea and beaches are filthy with litter.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

I've never felt so much like the quintessential British adventurer in my life. All I was missing was the thick English accent and the inherited funds to go with it. Here we found an ideal location with beautiful scenery, local charm, leisurely pace, friendly people, and peace and quiet. This place was amazing! It was the highlight of our trip to Vietnam. I wish we had spent more time here. We spend two nights and I wish we had stayed five. To start off with, when the boat dropped us off the "father" of the bungalow met us at the dock and carried our luggage up to the bungalow on motorbike. We hopped on bikes with the rest of our group and biked up the path to the Viet Hai village, passing lush greenery, goats, and beautiful beaches. Viet Hai was a village out of a travel book, picturesque in every way. The bungalows were cute, came equipped with mosquito nets, and had a great little porch for sitting out on. At night you could hear all the creatures from the dogs to the pigs to somethings, I'm not sure what exactly they were. The food they serve is delicious. The apple pancakes were a great breakfast), the dinners provided several different dishes of local food, all tasty, and as always the coffee is wonderful. There is good internet access in the main pavilion area.

However, the best part of the bungalow was the people who worked there. They bent over backwards to make us feel welcome and we certainly did. They tolerated my pitiful attempts to speak Vietnamese and were very willing to answer questions about the village, Vietnam, and general discussions about life. I wish I had gotten their e-mails. They organized a hike for us over the mountain to Cat Ba, motorbikes to town, and a boat back to Viet Hai with a guide and packed us a lunch. The hike itself was an adventure! It was disturbing how our guide could walk up and down the wet, steep slopes without even bending over and I was hanging on with both arms and legs. The trek was through beautiful jungle and we even got to see some of the local langurs. I could write a whole review just on the hike, but back to the bungalow. As an example of how friendly, I was looking at the Phu Quoc breed of dogs and they were helping me find other pictures (on-line) and showing me pictures of their pets. The "father" of the bungalow joined us after dinner & it was wonderful to hear his very positive outlook on life. I would have loved to have spent more time here talking with them, exploring some of the surrounding areas more, and just relaxing.

Bottom line: This is a great place to sit back, enjoy life, & think. If you're looking for fast-paced excitement, probably not your place.

I can definitely see how you could have trouble getting here. I would strongly recommend making arrangements for getting here before you arrive. We made ours through APT travel who were very good and worked around our desire to stay here for two days instead of the usual 1.

Room Tip: There are only a few, the one we had was a detached one and really amazing, the porch was facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Whisper of Nature Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whisper of Nature Bungalow

Address: Viet Hai, Cat Ba 1000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Cat Ba
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Cat Ba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short walk from the sea leads to Viet Hai Village, a new APT Travel community tour development. The comfortable bungalows are located under one of the steep mountainsides of the island’s National Park Reserve. There are seven single private bungalows, a large bungalow for groups of people to share and a triangular bungalow where a bar is located with food, drink and wine. Next to the bar is an open space with some tables for you to relax, drink amongst the trees and stones of the untouched natural setting, beside a very clean stream. A movable stage can be provided for music and song. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Whisper of Nature Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whisper Of Nature Bungalow Hotel Cat Ba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Whisper of Nature Bungalow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.