We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dave's Restaurant

Dave's Restaurant
92 High Street, Mablethorpe LN12 1AS, England
01507 473659
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 47 Restaurants in Mablethorpe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $26
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Traditional style restaurant with table service, polite courteous staff. Good selection of family favourite meals,"Just Like grans"
1 review
“Excellent breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Family from Leeds 2 adults 3 children daves was recommend to us by a local. The breakfast was beautiful just what was needed before are journey back home staff really friendly. If ever come back to mablethorpe will defo call back to daves thanks guys :)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DivesMablethorpe, Owner at Dave's Restaurant, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you family from Leeds, hope you had easy journey home despite the weather. We are really grateful you took the time to review us, personal recommendation is the best. please let us know if you are in again so I can thank you personally. Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    363
    58
    22
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mablethorpe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Christmas Party”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Thanks Dave for the great Christmas Lunch We were a party of 10. and had an excellent meal The atmosphere was just right and we were waited on by Dave who couldnt do enough for us. Definatly be back in the coming year

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DivesMablethorpe, Owner at Dave's Restaurant, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you Joyce for your review.We try very hard to ensure everybody enjoys their time with us, as well as the fayre consumed. Our local trade is so very important, we try to show gratitude at christmas and ensure a happy atmosphere. THANK YOU AGAIN. Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Can't ask for more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is a really nice place with friendly and efficient staff, good food and great value. It is not stylish or pretentious, but comfortable & welcoming. Where else do they ask if you want a tot of Baileys in your milky coffee?

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DivesMablethorpe, Owner at Dave's Restaurant, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your review, We are so pleased you felt comfortable and relaxed. The trade in Mablethorpe is mostly families, we try to make everyone feel welcome regardless of age.Our Menu cater's for one & all, The team try their hardest to ensure satisfaction is prioty at all times.
No frills just honest to goodness food with a warm welcome. Please call again and make yourself known so I can thank you personally for your effort. Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“we always visit Daves when we come to Mablethporpe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

There is something warm and welcoming about Daves - the staff are lovely and the food is home cooked and delicious !! Dave is often there and chats to customers as he walks round !! we will be returning to Mablethorpe again soon and we will be visiting Daves - yum yum !!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DivesMablethorpe, Owner at Dave's Restaurant, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
I am so pleased you took the time to write a review, thank you for your comments. We are a family orientated venue, it,s gratifying that it is appreciated. Our staff are the backbone of the business, they all work together with very little argument. As in all workplaces the occasional rift occurs. We are fortunate that mostly we are one big happy family. It creates the ambience you describe. Please ask for me when in next so I can thank you personally.Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Average Experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Not quite sure why people rave about this place, it seems to be suck in the past. I felt quite uncomfortable surrounded by news articles displaying past plaudits and awards and yet they seem, firstly not to have won anything recently and secondly content to rest on these long shrivelled laurels.
We ordered bacon butties (which were fine) and coffee I was taken aback that the coffee was instant another reminder of the past.
We left as quickly as we could happy to be out of there until we realised we had forgotten to pay and had to return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DivesMablethorpe, Owner at Dave's Restaurant, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, also for returning to pay. We take all comments on board, As for resting on our laurels, you are entitled to your opinion, the majority of our customers are regular clients. There's a choice of coffee available so I fail to agree on that score. We are shortly to undergo our annual re-fit after a long winter.So there are a few matters / items need attention. In Mablethorpe we are very restricted on pricing, we feel we give as good as it's possible to give in the circumstances. Hope to see you again, please make yourself known so I can thank you personally for making the effort to review and for being so honest. Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dave's Restaurant also viewed

Mablethorpe, Lincolnshire
Mablethorpe, Lincolnshire
 
Mablethorpe, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Dave's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dave's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.