We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Whistledown Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Whistledown Hotel to your Saves list
The Whistledown Hotel
6 Seaview, Warrenpoint BT34 3NH, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Warrenpoint
Armagh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Stayed there on 29/04/14 and really enjoyed the stay. The food was really nice, the room was great and the view from it was outstanding right accross Carlingford lough. Truthfully I could find no faults with this place. Warrenpoint is a lovely place too.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whistledownhotel, Public Relations Manager at The Whistledown Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Your wonderful review is very much appreciated by all at the Whistledown. Warrenpoint is a beautiful location and the views are indeed amazing. We are most pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    46
    15
    4
    8
See reviews for
52
55
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ballymena
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

Lovely weekend break for me and my hubby booked the junior suite overlooking Carlingford beautiful views 2nd time staying and I'm booked again for November all the staff in the hotel are friendly polite and helpful the hotel is warm and clean and well presented the food is gorgeous and as for the breakfast you couldnt get nicer really looking forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whistledownhotel, Public Relations Manager at The Whistledown Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with others. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you on your visit later in the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Very nice hotel which looks like it has been recently refurbished. Nice bar and Fab bathroom in room 101.

Friendly and professional staff encountered at all times, including reception, in the bar and breakfast room.

Nice room with standard items such as flat screen tv, tea and coffee. Free wifi. Very comfy bed.

At £100 b&b thought the room was a little pricey and had expected a few more extras such as biccies in room. But was bank holiday weekend. Breakfast was cooked to order and excellent - great views from dining room.

Our room (101) was on first floor next to restaurant and over the main entrance. I expect that it would have been noisy if there had been a function on that evening. Luckily there wasn't. But recommend you check when booking.

Overall very good. Although no car park there is plenty of street parking nearby and is within walking distance of the small town of warrenpoint.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whistledownhotel, Public Relations Manager at The Whistledown Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we can look forward to welcoming you again at the Whistledown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Can't fault the room, was clean and comfortable, however was really disappointed with breakfast, one person serving a busy breakfast room, ordered breakfast including tea/toast, had finished the cooked breakfast long before the tea arrived (after reminding the waiter), then had to go looking around for cups to actually drink the tea as the table had not been set, toast didn't actually arrive. There were lots of other empty tables that hadn't been cleared also. Didn't like to complain as could see that the only staff member serving was under pressure, perhaps you need more staff for breakfast. Even so, spoke with a few other guests who also reported the same issues earlier that morning even when it wasn't busy. Disappointing service.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whistledownhotel, Public Relations Manager at The Whistledown Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for your review. We offer our sincere apologies for the service you received at breakfast and acknowledge that there was a staff issue due to unforeseen circumstances which were beyond our control. Unfortunately by the time additional staff arrived you had already left the restaurant.
We offer you our sincere apologies and request that you contact us by telephone so that we can speak directly to you regarding your stay. We hope to hear from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Im very happy with the stay and staff. I was here for 3 nights with view towards the sea living on 3rd floor. Room was clean and nice and I didn´t experience any problems, the staff are friendly and helpfull If somethings wrong. I understod that rooms may vary In quality and a friend changed her room without any problems.

Suitable for kids there Is a park/playground behind the hotel. Good food for adults and they also have a children meny/portions. Good prices I think In general. Bar and pub also good.

The smal town is nice and clean and people friendly. Its good transportation with buss near hotel If you need to go somewhere.

Room Tip: High up with seaview and on a corner Is nicest I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whistledownhotel, Public Relations Manager at The Whistledown Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely comments, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We ate here last week, as a large group from work, 26 of us in total. I had preordered the food and as soon as everyone arrived the starters were ready to be served. Mains and desserts followed in a timely manner, neither too rushed nor were we waiting for any length of time. Portions were filling and there was an abundance of sides provided...everyones food was delicious and from 26 of us everyone raved about their food. The service was excellent, the staff couldn't do enough for us and some of us were able to sit on for a while after. Overall another fantastic experience at the Whistledown...would recommend anyone who hasn't been here to try it out!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whistledownhotel, Public Relations Manager at The Whistledown Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

It gives us great pleasure to receive such a wonderful review. Staff work very hard to deliver excellence in service and cuisine. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. We hope you will visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We ate here today as a large group the food and service were both excellent give it a go. Sometimes with numbers both service and food can suffer but we were very happy. I would strongly recommend a visit here for any occasion business or pleasure.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whistledownhotel, Public Relations Manager at The Whistledown Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Many thanks for your excellent review and recommendation which is very much appreciated. We hope you will visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Whistledown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whistledown Hotel

Address: 6 Seaview, Warrenpoint BT34 3NH, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Warrenpoint
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Warrenpoint
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whistledown Hotel has a fairytale setting on the shores of Carlingford Lough at the foot of the majestic mountains of Mourne.When you choose to stay at the Whistledown Hotel you can be assured that you are choosing the perfect location, one that combines romantic ambience, a chic contemporary interior, good food, competitive rates and an exceptional team of staff dedicated to making each guest feel extra special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Whistledown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whistledown Hotel Warrenpoint, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Whistledown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.