We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Whistledown Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Whistledown Hotel to your Saves list
The Whistledown Hotel
6 Seaview, Warrenpoint BT34 3NH, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Warrenpoint
Certificate of Excellence 2014
scotland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“a hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

totally surprised by the whistledown- very friendly staff, really well decorated rooms (well i did have the bridal suite) and such good value for money. Dinner in the restaurant was lovely and reasonably priced too. the view from the room was to die for - sea/loch view from a really comfortable bed. Business travellers (as i am) use this place over and above any venues in Newry. i will be back.

Room Tip: 108 is the bridal suite ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    53
    18
    4
    8
See reviews for
57
62
5
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
McKinney, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have eaten at this restaurant several times in my past visits to Warrenpoint.
This place doesn't disappoint. The menu is varied with enough options for any taste. No reservations needed even on weekends. It's possible to eat in a casual setting in the bar or more formally in the restaurant upstairs. I have always eaten upstairs, the view is fantastic if seated by the window. The staff are friendly and very attentive.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irish Roots
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

last minute decision for a January break with a friend. Found a DBB deal and made a rush decision. We were so pleased we did. Fantastic food, great room, lovely views and nothing too much trouble for the staff.

Room Tip: top floor is best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downpatrick
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My sister-in law is getting married at this hotel next April and she and her Fiance wanted us to see the hotel and have a bite to eat. We brought our two young sons and our niece with us so there were 7 of us in total, we hadn't made a reservation and when we arrived it was quite busy, there was no hassle getting a table, we had a five minute wait for them to arrange our table setting but our kids were kept amused with all the beautiful Christmas decorations. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and the children were given colouring in kits to keep them amused. The food was extremely tasty and plenty of it and the childrens portions were great. The wine selection is quite extensive with a good price range. The toilets were clean but there was only 1 ladies and 1 gents with a bit of a queue at the ladies but as I said it was very busy. We didn't get a chance to see the bedrooms but we seen the function room where my sister-in law is getting married and I can only imagine that it is going to be beautiful. To sum up, the premises is really well manitained with a modern twist to the decor, staff very helpfula nd friendly and the food and wine was delicious with a child friendly/family atmosphere. The only thing I would say in a negative way is poor parking facilities. Looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed here after visiting Santa at his cottage in Hilltown. We were very disappointed with the initial family room we were offered however when I expressed this to the receptionist she kindly moved us to a beautiful suite with a fantastic view. We also ate in the restaurant which was very nice with a reasonably priced and well stocked wine list. The staff really are a credit to the owners, every single one was polite and generally interested in chatting with our young son. He unfortunately bumped his head on the car door and Elizabeth rushed to get him some ice for the swelling and returned with a packet of sweets to cheer him up.The only reason I haven't given the hotel five stars is I feel the rooms are slightly overpriced. However I would have no hesitation in recommending it if you are visiting Warrenpoint or the surrounding area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The room was clean and tastefully decorated. The bed comfy and I slept very well. A colleague of mine was listening to a generator alnight and in my own room there was a hum of something (not sure what) but I slept well in my own room, The shower wa sgreat and the toiletries pleasant and useable.
The room was cold, despite changing the radiator but this was not a massive problem as the duvet was very warm.
The breakfast (only meal taken) was outstanding, proper poached eggs and value for money. I would stay here again. In fact I would find a reason to.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I was told that the Whistledown Hotel served lovely food and we were not disappointed. My husband and I found the 2 night break a relaxing and enjoyable experience. Food excellent,our room modern and clean, the staff friendly,polite always greeted with a smile. When I called the hotel to enquire about a deal they had, a very helpful lady called Elizabeth made me aware of a better deal. That for me is excellent customer service. The Whistledown Hotel we will return and soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Whistledown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whistledown Hotel

Address: 6 Seaview, Warrenpoint BT34 3NH, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Warrenpoint
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Warrenpoint
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whistledown Hotel has a fairytale setting on the shores of Carlingford Lough at the foot of the majestic mountains of Mourne.When you choose to stay at the Whistledown Hotel you can be assured that you are choosing the perfect location, one that combines romantic ambience, a chic contemporary interior, good food, competitive rates and an exceptional team of staff dedicated to making each guest feel extra special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Whistledown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whistledown Hotel Warrenpoint, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Whistledown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.