We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whistledown always good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Whistledown Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Whistledown Hotel to your Saves list
The Whistledown Hotel
6 Seaview, Warrenpoint BT34 3NH, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Warrenpoint
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Whistledown always good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Had lunch last week with a friend. Resturant had been renovated lately looks very modern and funky. The food was as usual very tasty and served piping hot by friendly staff. Not too expensive either. My only gripe is the glass piece in the floor which you have to walk over to sit near the window overlooking Carlingford Lough.This contraption houses knives spoons etc in the shape of a mermaid!!!!!!what egit thought this up? watched people tottering round the edge of this glass avoidance almost falling over to NOT walk on it. This should be covered with a mat and let people walk normally to the seats. Will of course return the food is great but will NEVER WALK ON THAT THING.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    53
    18
    4
    8
See reviews for
57
62
5
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
downpatrick
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stay on Saturday 22nd Sept. For one night....very friendly and helpful staff.Decor in bar and Finn's is lovely. We ate upstairs in the restaurant and the food was gorgeous...only thing was steak was overcooked...asked for med rare but it was well done...not a pink bit in sight...but tasty all the same. Breakfast was fab as is cooked to order.Also a great choice of fresh fruit....melon, pineapple etc.Bedrooms are modern and cosy and well equipped...We will definitely return Thanks Whistledown staff :)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killyleagh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Attended a wedding reception here and, while it was a bit crammed, the accommodation was fine, the food was fine, the place was clean and nicely situated. I'm not sure that I would have wanted my wedding reception here but that's just a matter of taste. Worth considering at least.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Stayed in the Whistledown for one night as a wedding guest. Very pricey at £110 per night for a 3* hotel. we thought was expensive.
Nice sized room, bathroom. breakfast was good, however slow service. lovely location and views though.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenpoint, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We recently held our parents 50th wedding anniversary in the hotel, with family and friends from all over the country coming along. From the very start the staff made sure we were well looked after, from the initial enquiry right through to the night itself. Nothing was too much trouble despite the fact the entire complex was very very busy, with a wedding and a birthday party already in full swing when we arrived.
The room was perfect, everything laid out the way we wanted and everyone had a great time with not one single complaint about the food, service or anything else (and trust me our family can be VERY fussy) In short, a great night and one that will be remembered for all the right reasons. Too many people are quick to condemn hotels and pubs these days, and in my view credit should be given when it's due and in this case it is very well deserved.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Had dinner with family here recently. We had a mixture of pasta and pizza dishes and they were all lovely. The service was excellent and the staff were very friendly - couldn't do enough for you.

Would recommend it especially for young families.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

last friday we went in here for a meal, we had pizza,s these were ok, but have to say side orders a rip of £2 for a small portoin of skinny greasy chips, the same for garlic fries which were over cooked they were hard. Then on to dessert i think they were £4 or £4.50 each not sure we ordered 3 to share between 4 of us, myself and my son had the chocolate brownies which was supossed to be with ice-cream and hot chocolate sauce it just came squashed stale chocolate cake with a little sauce at bottom in a glass, and 1 miserable scoop of ice-cream it looked like something a five year threw in a glass

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Whistledown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whistledown Hotel

Address: 6 Seaview, Warrenpoint BT34 3NH, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Warrenpoint
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Warrenpoint
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whistledown Hotel has a fairytale setting on the shores of Carlingford Lough at the foot of the majestic mountains of Mourne.When you choose to stay at the Whistledown Hotel you can be assured that you are choosing the perfect location, one that combines romantic ambience, a chic contemporary interior, good food, competitive rates and an exceptional team of staff dedicated to making each guest feel extra special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Whistledown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whistledown Hotel Warrenpoint, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Whistledown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.