We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food for miles around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sweet Pea Cafe

Sweet Pea Cafe
37, Rath Road, Warrenpoint BT34 3RX, Northern Ireland
028 41753938
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 13 Restaurants in Warrenpoint
Price range: $8 - $40
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Nestled in the Mourne Mountains just two minutes’ drive from the centre of the scenic seaside town, Warrenpoint, is Sweet Pea Café/Bistro an idyllic hidden gem. Tucked into the delightful grounds of Annett’s Garden/ Outdoor Living Centre,Sweet Pea offers delicious homemade treats, wholesome food with gourmet Bistro nights each Friday and Saturday. The exposed natural beams, half doors and delightful terrace give this country kitchen a charming old world ambience where you can expect a warm welcome and enticing fare whatever the occasion. Sweet Pea also has private dining facilities for intimate gatherings and celebrations. Menus can be tailored and the café operates a ‘bring your own policy'.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best food for miles around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Been twice for evening meal. Love the rustic cottage vibe but the food is just brilliant. Local, seasonal and clearly cooked with creativity, passion and attention to detail. Good value as well with polite staff.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    8
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warrenpoint, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hard work pays off”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Nuala has created something really special on the outskirts of Warrenpoint - a coffee shop during the day - bistro at night. The food is always top notch and the ambience and service are so welcoming. Situated in Annetts garden centre, which is one of the best in Northern Ireland, Sweet Pea is a place to bring your family - young and old alike. I regularly go there with my parents (accessibility is good for my father, who can't walk long distances).

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Ireland
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Great after a walk round a great garden centre.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

A lovely building but would agree with an earlier review, no sign & when someone pointed the cafe out to us, it looked closed, upon opening the door we found it open, a sign informing. Not only that this is the cafe but you are open & when you open & close.
A cold day when we called, the staff were fine, no problems there, the food was very good, worth the money, didn't like the glass we were served our dessert on but maybe that is. Personal thing, thought it didn't really suit with a white, cup, saucer, teapot, milk jug, didn't get it at all, actually found it hard to eat off & scraping your fork on it tends yoursend your teeth a little mad.
Very handy cafe after a walk round a great garden centre. Lovely outside with all the shrubs & flowers.
Must call & haveameal in evening as I noticed hey open Fri &. Sat evenings.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Wonderful food in a magical setting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I recently went to this wonderful and atmospheric restaurant with my wife and two friends.The setting alone and the beauty of the restaurant building put us all in an anticipatory mood for an enjoyable evening.From the moment we entered this charming restaurant we were warmly greeted and given excellent and attentive service. The menu selection was very impressive which showed imagination and an ability to satisfy all our different tastes.The flavour, texture and presentation of of the food was simply exquisite and proved that the chef was obviously dedicated to local and seasonal food. The staff were particularly friendly and attentive to making sure we had an enjoyable dining experience. Needless to say it was unbelievable value at £25 per head for a three course meal. Looking forward to our return visit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

5 of us (3 adults, 2 kids) had lunch here on Sunday, Food was very good, great quality and taste, and good value. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Pea Cafe also viewed

Warrenpoint, County Down
 

Been to Sweet Pea Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweet Pea Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.