We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Balmoral

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Balmoral to your Saves list
The Balmoral
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   13 Seaview, Warrenpoint BT34 3NJ, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Warrenpoint B&B and Inns
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Service very poor had to wait 1 hour on breakfast being served. For dinner our table wasnt ready for time booked until an hour after arranged booking time took 3 hours for r meal to b served very disorganised and understaffed wouldnt recommend it . It was my first and will be my last time there

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    16
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
7
35
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
killinchy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

From the moment we arrived the staff were helpful, friendly and attentive. We ate in the restaurant and had a fantastic meal, service was excellent. I cannot fault the Balmoral and would highly recommend you sample for yourself. Neil and Pascal we want to thank you for everything, keep it going! I think it falls into the category of boutique hotel, will definitely be back

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Had a groupon voucher as a christmas gift. The weekend was very stormy and wet so it didnt help that our window was not closing properly hence the lack of sleep. On the second night the handle of the door fell off and then we were told that there was a fault with the window and door. We were offered a change of room but we didnt want to make a fuss. On the up side the staff were friendly and helpful and the food was good and rooms clean. No reception or foyer so it was to the bar we made our way as it was so wet and windy - Was astonished at the amount of very young boys and girls who were being served drink and they were already very much under the weather. Definitely not a place for the older folk at the weekends.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We had a Groupon for the hotel stayed here on Tuesday and Wednesday. We were delighted to be told we had been upgraded to the bridal suite which was unbelievable. The room was gorgeous and the views were to die for. We stayed in the hotel for both evening meals which is completely out of character for us but the food was that good we had to try it twice! The staff are so friendly and willing to help with any issue- even something as trivial as resetting the wifi! We loved the few days and would definitely stay again!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary B, Owner at The Balmoral, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for your kind review, we're delighted you have an enjoyable stay and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Co Down
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Stayed here on a Saturday night. On our arrival we discovered there was no reception desk but Pascal the barman quickly sorted us out. We were fortunate to be given the Cloughmore Suite which was amazing with fantastic views over Carlingford Lough. Fantastic room. Dined that night in Restaurant 23. The meal was brilliant. The breakfast the next morning was also brilliant. Can't say brought good things about this hotel. Everything was first class and the staff so friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary B, Owner at The Balmoral, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review, we're delighted your stay was enjoyable and we hope to see you again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

My family & I had a lovely lunch here today when we were passing through Warrenpoint, food was lovely & very reasonably priced, Barman was very friendly, we had our wedding here in 2009 & have been back for food on several occassions, always of a very high standard!! Well done The Balmoral & good luck to Donna on the forthcoming arrival of your baby (we asked the barman if Donna was working & he told us she was off on maternity) - Martina & Gareth Murtagh x

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary B, Owner at The Balmoral, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you for your review, its great to get positive feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

A very nice place to stay in beautiful surroundings with pleasant helpful staff and food worth writing home about. What more could a traveller want.
The Cloughmore suite was spacious and well appointed and boasted a balcony providing the stunning views attached however it is worth checking if entertainment on in the bar if an early night is required as low levels of music (all be it very nice) can be heard in the room.
Well done and a merry Christmas to all.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary B, Owner at The Balmoral, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you for your review, we're glad you enjoyed the room and the views it offers, hopefully we'll see you again soon and hope you too have a Happy & peaceful Christmas & New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Balmoral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balmoral

Address: 13 Seaview, Warrenpoint BT34 3NJ, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Warrenpoint
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Warrenpoint
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Balmoral 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Balmoral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Balmoral Warrenpoint, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Balmoral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.