We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views of Redcar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Redcar Beacon

Redcar Beacon
Coastal Road, Redcar, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 9 things to do in Redcar
Attraction details
Brotton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Views of Redcar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

By accident we happened to be passing on the weekend the new Beacon opened, it was a lovely sunny day so joined the short queues wanting to visit the top. From the road I did think that it seemed a waste of money, short and stumpy, but from the top, the height is good enough to see the surrounding areas. Although the viewing balcony doesn't go right round the top, you can still see 360deg. Not all the shops were occupied as yet and we haven't visited the cafe at the bottom yet, although it looks OK (we had actually just eaten in the new Tuned In cafe opposite the leisure centre which is excellent value for money and the food is good) On the whole, I think its worth it and I live in the area!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    35
    46
    27
    29
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“just a great view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This expensive to build feature was slightly disappointing . Yes it has a great view over Redcar and nearby , but it left us underwhelmed . On each floor as you make your way up the stairs there are small shops , several of which were not open ,which considering it was a Saturday afternoon ,their owners perhaps missed a trick . We did not visit the ground floor cafe which was well used . It maybe better on evening when there is floodlighting of it we were told . There is a lift ,but the walking up stairs gave us the fitness benefit for visit

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A major improvement”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have visited Redcar many times over the years but, despite good sands, the thing which militates against it ever being a successfl holiday resort is its geographical position on the North Sea coast. Even in the height of summer the wind from the sea can be bitter and many locals use the North Eastern word 'nithered' to describe how they feel in the cold. It is also not the most sophisticated of towns, the main cuisine being fish and chips, while the views along the coast take in excellent views of the steel works.

However the council should be given credit for making an effort to beautify the town, in particular by laying out a greatly enhanced promenade and by building the Redcar beacon (originally called the vertical pier), a kind of enlarged helter skelter, which affords elevated views not available along that part of the coast except from cliff tops.

I would not advocate anyone booking a lengthy stay in Redcar but the beacon is worth visiting, perhaps as a diversion on the way to more traditional resorts such as Whitby and Scarborough.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The Beacon”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We visited the Beacon today and im sorry to say it should be painted White and have a trunk on the front because thats what it will become in a very short space of time , all the shops apart from one were empty there are only two toilets for either sex so that wont attract people , and the view is not 360 degrees but it is a good view, and the only redeeeming feature in my opinion .

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Redcar Beacon.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Yes it is new and different. Yes there is a great view from the top. Yes there is a lift to get you up there. On the down side, Seasons cafe in the beacon is very over priced for what it is and what you get. I had a BLT and my friend had the soup. The BLT turned out to be an open sandwich with fatty bacon and small leaves not lettuce and the roll with the soup was a piece of stale baguette. The slices of cake were far from fresh. The two lattes we ordered were small cappuccinos. While there we saw a woman in a wheelchair trying to get into the cafe. The button to open the door from a wheelchair is on the inside but not on the outside of the door. Not very well thought out for £35million!!!!
Also although it has only been open a few weeks it looks dirty outside already. The starlings and seagulls are sitting all over it at night and the mess is awful.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Redcar Beacon also viewed

Redcar, North Yorkshire
Redcar, North Yorkshire
 
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Redcar Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Redcar Beacon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.