We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ghost hunt with Ray Booker” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Clarendon Hotel

The Clarendon Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Redcar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Clarendon Hotel
Save
You added The Clarendon Hotel to your Saves list
2 High Street, Redcar TS10 3DU , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Redcar
stockton on tees
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Ghost hunt with Ray Booker”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

The ghost hunt was really good as usual with Ray Booker. Ray told us things he couldn't of known about our past and the people around us. we did have some confirmation from spirits in the hotel but the ouija board but mainly family in spirit took over and we had lots of confirmed messages. A really good night and a lovely english breakfast to send us off back home.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    7
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
2
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

Yet again made more than welcome with proprieter and all staff .Good hearty breakfast rooms were clean .A real friendly atmosphere .Look forward to next year
PS Thanks for driving us to the racing and back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

The room was dark and noisy with creaking floor boards looked viry tired. Dont get me wrong it would have been perfectly acceptable for a place to crash after a stag party but i was on a business trip and had an early start.

At £30 i should have not expected too much perhaps its my fault.

On the plus side the staff were very welcoming and the pub itself served some good food. Also if a night out in redcar is what your after it is pretty central although why anyone would want a night out in redcar is beyond me.

Parking is an issue that i couldnt be bothered trying to understand so parked 500m away on a council car park (which was free overnight) but i wouldnt like to leave my car so far away on a regular basis especially over the weekend nights.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheClarry, Owner at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay, all feedback helps us improve our service and standards. The Clarendon Hotel is an old building over 200 years old and will have associated noises characteristic of older buildings such as squeaky floorboards. We use low energy bulbs which take a short while to reach their brightest and pride our rooms in being very clean and tidy. We are a family run place which offers en-suite rooms with TV, courtesy tray, towels and toiletries which is more than some modern hotel type establishments offer. Due to council refurbishments and environmental improvements to the sea defences and sea front areas we have had our parking facilities removed but do direct guests to alternative parking facilites which are only 20 to 50 metres away and we refund any parking fee charged with a valid receipt.
If a guest has any issues with their room we will try to resolve them but can only do this if we are informed and had we known the room was 'noisy' we could have investigated and possibly moved the guest to another part of the building.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

i went to the clarry for a army reunion with my wife and felt welcomed to the hotel.overall it was clean&tidy with a good atmosphere the buffet we had was impressive .i will certainly be going back next year without a doubt. credit were it belongs

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEEDS
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

"RPC NOSTALGIA GROUP" REUNION CLARENDON HOTEL, REDCAR. Just like to thank you all (to many to names to mention) for making it such a great weekend, it was the best ever, it was that good the hotel is all ready FULL for next years Reunion, So once again thanks & a special thank you to Sarah & Russell for making it a great weekend, The staff are a credit to you. Rooms were very clean and tidy, the food was excelent through out the weekend, you could'nt do enough for us. GREAT VALUE FOR MONEY. see you next year Allan Sooty Sutcliffe "RPC NOSTALGIA GROUP"

Room Tip: Nice clean rooms excelent food, and a great function room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Just recently stayed at this hotel and everything was excellent. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The food was homecooked and the menu was very varied...something for everyone...I would definatley recommend the parmos! The staff were very nice and seemed to have a good rapport with customers, especially the couple that manage the place.
Would definatley visit again even if it was just for a drink!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

I have no idea what the previous 'awful' review is about and can honestly say whoever wrote it is obviously not getting any as it's pure tosh!!! Sorry but it is. I recently visited family and friends in Redcar and again had the pleasure of staying at the Clarendon hotel, (I had previously stayed there over Easter 2011 at a friends recommendation).
The beer again was fantastic, the room (room 4) was lovely and spotless, the food was fab and the overall atmosphere was great! The husband and wife team and their staff were always helpful and polite and bent over backwards to make my stay a very pleasant one, nothing was too much trouble for them, (they even brought in a phone charger for me as I had left mine at home in Swansea!) If anything this stay was better than the last as I already knew the high standard of the place so therefore knew what to expect and was safe in the knowledge that even if the weather was pants from an accommodation,entertainment and food and drink point of view I was getting the best in town! For people who haven't stayed here the hotel rooms while basic are great value for money; clean and comfortable and very reasonably priced for what you get! A room including either an extremely filling breakfast or a fresh home cooked evening meal for £30 per night slap bang in the centre of town! Bargain!!! As if that isn't enough they even have discount vouchers on their website you can print off and use during your stay!
The food was excellent and again reasonably priced compared with the towns other restaurants and establishments; for any meat and pastry lover the homemade steak pie is divine. They also have a very large and tasty 'parmo' (a must for any smoggy returning home to the North East), in fact all the food I had was great, nothing whatsoever was 'micro-mealed', badly cooked or the likes and any special cooking / food request I had was no problem.
I would highly recommend the Clarendon hotel to any of my friends and colleagues and have already booked in for a fortnights stay at Christmas when I return to see my family again. Well done and many thanks to all there for a most wonderful stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Clarendon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarendon Hotel

Address: 2 High Street, Redcar TS10 3DU , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Redcar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Redcar
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Clarendon Hotel Redcar, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Clarendon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.