We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab weekend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Armada Guesthouse, Redcar

Armada Guesthouse, Redcar
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Redcar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Armada Guesthouse, Redcar
Save
You added Armada Guesthouse, Redcar to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   28 - 30 Henry Street, Redcar TS10 1BJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Redcar B&B and Inns
up north
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fab weekend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Had a great stay at the armada guesthouse in Redcar in February. The owners were so very welcoming and helpful. The rooms were spotless and beds were comfy. They catered well for my parents, including being very helpful towards my dad who has Parkinson's, and my mum who can't eat wheat. My brother stayed in a single room and I stayed in a twin room with my daughter - all rooms were lovely and the extra touches such as, taking fresh milk up to the rooms were much appreciated. Now we have discovered this gem, we will stay again when visiting family in Redcar!

Room Tip: All rooms were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArmadaRedcar, Owner at Armada Guesthouse, Redcar, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thanks for that. The pleasure was ours. Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    24
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
31
39
24
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

One of the best bed and breakfast hotels around very good value for money nice big clean on suite room great breakfast I'm a contractor so do stop in a lot of bb this is one of the best the owners gill and John really make you feel welcome and can't do enough for you if this was some where else you would be paying double many thank carl wagstaff

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArmadaRedcar, Owner at Armada Guesthouse, Redcar, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments Carl. It was our pleasure. Hope to see you again sometime.
Gill and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

One night stay booked for me whilst working in the area. Looks like a typical budget guest house, couple of large terrace houses knocked into one. I expected the usual basic run down place with poor décor and old furniture. What a nice surprise!!!! The inside was immaculate, very modern and spotlessly clean. I was made very welcome by Gill who showed me to a nice comfy single room and was given a container of fresh milk to go with the coffee/tea tray in the room.
Excellent location close to the sea front and town centre and supermarket.
Small budget guest houses don't come any better than this.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArmadaRedcar, Owner at Armada Guesthouse, Redcar, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed in this Guest House two years ago and wanted to see how it had changed in that time. When we were there last it was work in progress.
The change to this Guest House is wonderful. Real changing rooms type thing. Very smart breakfast room. Very well looked after and the room we had was wonderful. Gill and John go out of their way to ensure they meet your needs. How ever you need to keep in mind that most of the business here providing board for workmen and the breakfast times relate to that. Having said that very enjoyable and would stay again.

Room Tip: On street parking should not put you off
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Booked in for one night while visiting relatives in New Marske, was met by Jill and she was very friendly and helpful. the room was very clean and we had an excellent breakfast the following morning. Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Me & my boyfriend decided to go up North, as my boyfriend used to live there so he wanted to show me all the sites. It was a last min booking but it was an excellent b&b. John and Gill waited for us to arrive at 8:30pm, where they greeted us, let us look round the b&b & took us to our rooms. They were pleasant and polite & extremley helpful. The breakfast they served was also very nice.
The b&b was extremley clean and presented very well. All 3 days we stayed at the b&b john & gill took the time to get to know us & asked whatvwe were up to. It was a fantastic stay & we was very sad to go home. Can't wait to return!

Kirsty & Tom.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

For a stay in Redcar for one night we booked a budget B&B. Unfortunately we were let down as when we arrived (having previously confirmed our ETA) the Landlady was not in or contactable despite several messages.
This misfortune turned good when we eventually began to look for an alternative, and our first call was to Armada GH. Spoke to Jill/Gill and there was a room to accommodate the three of us.
On arrival we were warmly greeted. The place is very clean, modern, spacious, and comfortable....a real treat. Our room was the same - comfortable beds, a lovely shower, and little extras that make a difference such as decent coffee, cushions, toiletries etc.
Breakfast was lovely, with a good choice of juices, cereals, fruit, breads, and of course full English.
Gill and John got up extra early to accommodate our plans - thanks.
Trip Advisor only allows a 5* max but I would give 5*+.
We won't bother with anywhere else on our next visit to Redcar.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArmadaRedcar, Owner at Armada Guesthouse, Redcar, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind remarks. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. Hope Jamie enjoyed her dancing competition. See you again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Armada Guesthouse, Redcar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armada Guesthouse, Redcar

Address: 28 - 30 Henry Street, Redcar TS10 1BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Redcar
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Redcar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Armada Guesthouse, Redcar 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Armada Guesthouse House is the ideal destination for visiting family or friends, walking the Cleveland Way, admiring our wonderful North East coast line or venturing over the stunning heather landscape of the North York Moors National Park. Situated only one hundred yards from Redcar’s beach, many rooms have a seaview. Whatever you choose to do, on your return you will be able to freshen up and walk into the town, where you will find lovely restaurants and many bars within a two minute walk. You might like to stroll along the promenade on your way back to get some sea air. In 2006, the new owners, John and Gill began an extensive program of renovation to this splendid Victorian town house, and have currently completed thirteen of fifteen rooms, each with a warm and inviting atmosphere. A full range of rooms ranging from economy singles to luxury family en-suites is available, with prices to suit all pockets and tastes. We are also well equipped for the discerning business traveller as we offer free wireless internet access, digital LCD television, welcome tray and legendary breakfast, voted by our residents, the best in the North East. Huntsman, Ensus, Sembcorp, Invista, Uniqema, Dow, Advansa, Artenius at Wilton International are all within a 6 or 7 minute drive, as are Corus and Teesport. Within five minutes walk is Cleveland Golf Club. Established in 1887, the course is the only true links course in Yorkshire and is also one of the oldest courses in the county. The course offers easy walking and is a fair challenge to players of all abilities. The club has hosted many county and professional events and is the home to the amateur scratch competitions the Cleveland Salver and the Mid Amateur International. All major credit cards, including American Express, and debit cards are accepted. Please note that charges apply: 50p for debit cards and 3% for credit cards. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Armada Guesthouse, Redcar England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Armada Guesthouse, Redcar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.