We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Armada Guesthouse, Redcar

Armada Guesthouse, Redcar
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Armada Guesthouse, Redcar to your Saves list
Armada Guesthouse, Redcar
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   28 - 30 Henry Street, Redcar TS10 1BJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Redcar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Having read the other views, I have to agree. Best guest house I have ever stayed in. Lovely rooms, spotlessly clean, lovely fluffy towels, and every thing you need. Gill was very welcoming, and very kind when I felt a bit unwell one morning and sent up orange juice and toast to my room.
Although I do not eat meat, my scrambled eggs and nushrooms were perfect and friend wolfed down the Englias Breakfast. I could not fault anything at all and would definitely use again and recommend to others.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    24
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
37
42
26
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Myself and my son stayed in the Armada Guesthouse and we will be returning!
Gill is a lovely lady, very helpful and called us by our first names.
The pictures on the site do not do the rooms justice! They are clean, fresh and very well decorated. The on suite is impeccably clean and the towels white soft and fluffy!!
If you have forgotten any thing, (soap, shampoo) Gill has some here at a very reasonable price!
There is plenty of tea and coffee in the room and Gill makes sure you have fresh milk not the little pots that don't taste fresh.
We slept really well and woke in time for breakfast. The breakfast room(which can also be used for your take away the night before) is clean and fresh and well loved our full English, and cereal and toast!!!! Can't fault this guesthouse!! And we will return!!
Thank you Gill!!!

Room Tip: Very close to all amenities!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed at this guesthouse for just one night and could not have been treated better, we were welcomed with a room tour complete with an offer of fresh milk for the tea and coffee facilities in the room, Th e rooms were very very clean and nicely decorated, Beds were comfy and we woke to a great English breakfast of extraordinary quality, Gill and John were perfect hosts. We were not sure about staying in Redcar but found it to be a nice town with good pedestrian and good facilities, They are improving the seafront as we speak and it looks like it will look nice when finished, We hope to return soon. As a side note, I left my iphone charger in the room, Gill rang me on my mobile and posted it to my home address, ASo thank you gill.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I stayed at the Armada Guesthouse recently when I was meeting up with friends at the Redcar rocks music festival 2012. From the moment I arrived I was given 5 star treatment, from the impeccable cleanliness of my room to the scrumptious breakfast! All the staff were professional and went out of their way to make my stay at the Armada special and memorable. This is a real 'gem' of a guesthouse, and deserves a 5 star rating.

I will definitely be back again, and recommending it to my business colleagues and friends !

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear of the gueshouse are quiet and peaceful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Welcomed with would you like a different room, en suite, small but beautifully decorated and furnished. Fantastic breakfast. Short walk to the sea front. Recommended really good Indian short walk away. All round could not have had a better night's stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

very comfortable,clean ect. but i thoght the breakfast time was outlandish. 7am -8am.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

This is the second stay I've had and it won't be the last we were made welcome on arrival given whatever information we needed about the area. The room was immaculate the breakfast was fantastic, being a biker there was room for my bike in the back yard for piece of mind. Gill ade us feel at home. Will be staying same time next year

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Armada Guesthouse, Redcar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armada Guesthouse, Redcar

Address: 28 - 30 Henry Street, Redcar TS10 1BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Redcar
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Redcar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Armada Guesthouse, Redcar 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Armada Guesthouse House is the ideal destination for visiting family or friends, walking the Cleveland Way, admiring our wonderful North East coast line or venturing over the stunning heather landscape of the North York Moors National Park. Situated only one hundred yards from Redcar’s beach, many rooms have a seaview. Whatever you choose to do, on your return you will be able to freshen up and walk into the town, where you will find lovely restaurants and many bars within a two minute walk. You might like to stroll along the promenade on your way back to get some sea air. In 2006, the new owners, John and Gill began an extensive program of renovation to this splendid Victorian town house, and have currently completed thirteen of fifteen rooms, each with a warm and inviting atmosphere. A full range of rooms ranging from economy singles to luxury family en-suites is available, with prices to suit all pockets and tastes. We are also well equipped for the discerning business traveller as we offer free wireless internet access, digital LCD television, welcome tray and legendary breakfast, voted by our residents, the best in the North East. Huntsman, Ensus, Sembcorp, Invista, Uniqema, Dow, Advansa, Artenius at Wilton International are all within a 6 or 7 minute drive, as are Corus and Teesport. Within five minutes walk is Cleveland Golf Club. Established in 1887, the course is the only true links course in Yorkshire and is also one of the oldest courses in the county. The course offers easy walking and is a fair challenge to players of all abilities. The club has hosted many county and professional events and is the home to the amateur scratch competitions the Cleveland Salver and the Mid Amateur International. All major credit cards, including American Express, and debit cards are accepted. Please note that charges apply: 50p for debit cards and 3% for credit cards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Armada Guesthouse, Redcar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armada Guesthouse, Redcar England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Armada Guesthouse, Redcar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.