We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff + Nice Room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Park Hotel to your Saves list
The Park Hotel
Granville Terrace, Redcar TS10 3AR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Redcar B&B and Inns
West Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff + Nice Room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed one night in room 23, a smoking room (which I did request), with distant sea view, but main view was a row of chimney pots and peoples gardens! The room was nice, spacious, clean, a bath with held shower head, dish of sweets,biscuits + a nice selection of teas etc., decent television, leather sofa. The bed was only a double, ok, but felt small when we are used to a king size. We paid £50 for one night b+b, wouldn't have wanted to pay more. I'm glad we didn't go for the dinner option, because the cooked breakfast was of really poor quality,...nasty cheap sausages and slimy undercooked bacon, soggy hash browns etc. Best thing about this hotel were the staff, so friendly and welcoming. Wouldn't stay again because of the breakfast. Redcar itself is not very 'pretty', I know it has had a facelift, but it's not really nice for a holiday. Plenty of shops though. The new 'Beacon' is HIDEOUS! I hear it's up for an award for the worst design, I think it should win!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    22
    11
    9
    5
See reviews for
14
27
1
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
north lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We wanted a short break with our 13 year old grandson and this hotel was great. On the front overlooking the sea and plenty of parking space. From the exterior it looks basic but inside is well furnished. We were greeted by the friendliest receptionist ever and our first floor room was large with 3 single beds. Loads of tea, coffee etc and biscuits on the tray and plenty of toiletries.
The bathroom was enormous with plenty of fluffy towels and a good shower. Only negative was there was nothing to hold on to when exiting the bath. A grab rail would help.
It was obviously a popular place and there was an excellent choice of meals including a carvery with competitive offers. The large helpings were beautifully cooked and the wine choice was good and quite cheap! Service was attentive and prompt.
The buffet breakfast had a vast choice with pots of tea and coffee and fresh toast and top ups available.
It is easy to walk on the beach and to get to Saltburn by the Sea. A visit there is a must especially up and down the cliffs on the Victorian lifts. It is about 40 mins into Whitby with lots of lovely places to visit on the coast.
Checking out was a breeze with another lovely receptionist giving us directions. We paid about £85 per night for B & B for the three of us.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed in a triple room with my mum and aunt for one night. The best thing about this hotel is the staff. Reception, bar, restaurant and even the cleaning staff were super friendly and welcoming. Beds were comfortable and clean. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent value for money (huge servings) and really yummy. Breakfast was also a great selection of cereal, yoghurt as well as all the cooked usual fare. Parking was free and conveniently located behind the hotel. I would recommend this hotel to anyone needing somewhere to stay in the Redcar area.

Room Tip: Ask for somewhere closer to reception if you want wifi in your room. It didn't stretch to our ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Been to the Park numerous times because we have family in the area and hosting a large dinner party here makes financial sense. A very large suite with see view and breakfast is only about £90 per night and they seem to retain their regular staff who are unfailingly cheerfull.The menu is varied,portions large and adequately cooked without too much " flair" and drinks are sensibly priced. The whole sea front is receiving a substantial makeover and the area seems to be upgrading.
A regular moan I have is that it seems hard to get an email to confirm your reservation!
Go for the Park Suite.Large new bathroom and four big windows with sea views!

Room Tip: All the suites arevery spacious.One,I forget which, has tricky beams which pose problems if you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Couldn't fault this hotel, we stayed in the winton suite fab big room, very clean! Bathroom really modern, clean fluffy towels supplied!

Breakfast was a self serve buffet, lots of choice from fruit, cereals or cooked breakfast!

Staff were all very helpful and cheery! If we ever came back to Redcar we will be staying here!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

So this hotel is a trifle faded, as is most of Redcar, but apart from saying that, the staff and accommodation were first class. A welcoming smile and friendly chat at initial reception, and the room that was offered had a pleasant sea-view (through the mist !) and was delightfully warm. Bathroom facilities were perfectly adequate and the water nice and hot, towels fluffy and very clean. Biscuits and sweets in the room a nice touch. Car parking is around the back and perhaps a little tight, but what do you want for a hotel of this type, it was there, and there was sufficient room to get a fairly large car in adequately. No charge for the car parking either. Breakfast was more than adequate, freshly cooked on a self serve basis, and of a good quality. A super little hotel if you really need to come to Redcar !!.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade, only £10.00. or if you are out of season, probably free !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We went to the Park Hotel in May 2013, to have a family get together for our cousins who were over from Australia.The banquet room was very nice,and very welcoming. As we went to get our carvery style meals we were met for a very angry and aggressive non speaking chef who was slicing the meats. There was one small shriveled up piece of beef on the plate so i asked if i could have a fresh slice from the meat which was on its way from the kitchen .He had no idea what i was talking about and just said "you want meat or no meat" even though the new joint had arrived and the old one taken away. I settlet for ham in the end. Some of our party asked for a small portion of each but were just told the same "meat or no meat" One of the party was given beef when she wanted ham but felt that she had to take what she was given. Then the veg.. oh dear. all the food was only just warm ,soggy veg,yorkshire puddings which were well over done and flat as saucers, potatoes which were full of grease and cold , stuffing which when you went to get some with a spoon the whole lot came out in one big cold lump, top this off with just warm gravy and i think you are getting the picture. When our Auntie complained she was told that last orders were 8 o clock as we were eating at 7 o.clock no more fresh food was being bought out . I would have thought that if you book a meal for 5 o clock you should expect the same quality of meal at 7 o clock the quality should should stay the same and not depend on the time you eat .. We shouldnt have to go out and suffer rude staff,shriveled up, and cold food .Needless to say alot of the food went back uneaten. We had to assure our visitors from Australia that this was not a true reflection of English cuisine. The whole experience was an embarrassment . I am not by nature a negative person and always try to find the positives in life, hiowever i cant think of any positives to say about the park hotel .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Hotel

Address: Granville Terrace, Redcar TS10 3AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Redcar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Redcar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Park Hotel Redcar, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.