We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Park Hotel to your Saves list
The Park Hotel
Granville Terrace, Redcar TS10 3AR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Redcar B&B and Inns
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Surprisingly nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

The hotel doesn't look great from the outside, but once inside it looks a lot better.

The car park at the rear of the hotel is VERY useful as, in my opinion, parking is at a premium in Redcar. The room, No 14, was very nice. A lovely view of the sea and a REALLY comfy bed.

Breakfast was very nice in the morning - and the complimentary newspaper (ordered the night before) was a nice touch.

The wallpaper on the third flight of steps could do with a bit of touching up but I'm being a pit picky there. The other half thought the shower wasn't powerful enough, but I didn't have a problem with it. Would definitely go back if I was in that area.

Room Tip: A room on the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    22
    16
    9
    5
See reviews for
16
31
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

A great hotel, had a suite overlooking the sea front and watched the Sun go down, magnificent! Great staff and food, cannot fault in any way.

Room Tip: ask for one overlooking the sea front
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

we stayed at this hotel for a works night out in redcar and would reccomend to everyone,the staff are very polite and the food is excelent,the room was very clean,well done pake hotel we will be back

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Have just returned from a 2 night stay. Could not fault anything.
Booked a double room, great sea view ,very spacious,clean,plenty wardrobe space etc. Bathroom very clean. There was a bath with overhead shower. Soap,shampoo,shower cap etc provided .They also have suites which i would imagine would be better than the bedrooms.
Breakfast was full english, buffet style, eat as much as you wan't. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Very good bar food and carvery available every day. Large helpings,well presented.
Overall from checking in to checking out we could not fault it. All staff very friendly and helpful regardless of their position.
Will stay again without a doubt. May book a suite next time.

Room Tip: Ask for room in main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stayed here for 3 weeks as we were working locally. We had a triple room as there were 3 of us and it was the cheapest option for us.
Pro's:
-Friendly staff who can were helpful and polite at all times.
-Complimentry newspapers every morning.
-Breakfast very nice, (buffet style hot food aswell as cereals) choice of bread, and eggs etc. No messing around, and very organised.
-We ate dinners there several times, and couldnt once complain. The Carvery is every day and is nice for a change.
-rooms were spacious enough, even with 3 of us. Plenty of cupboard space etc. Tv was a 19" flat screen.
-Location was good, right on the sea front, and a 2 minute walk to the shops and bars etc. Also only 4 miles from the Wilton international site.
-The sound of the sea if you leave your window open! :0)

Con's:
-Beds were pretty awfull overall. Obviously that may not be the case in all rooms! We stayed in 2 different rooms and out of 6 beds only one was of a decent standard.
-hot water pressure not the best in the shower.
-parking can be a problem at peak times, but we managed to squeeze our van in their so not bad.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

The room was tiny it was actually a single room but they gave it to us as a double which I felt a bit hard done by as we were there for 3 nights.The room was clean but really needs doing up it was shaby and the bed was old!The bar area had cobwebs all around the celing and was very shabby to say the least.The food was very nice and all staff were nice and friendly.Its the little things in this place like the crokery and cutlery are old and dated and the curtains in the bar were filthy.There is absolutely nothing in Redcar so if you are trapped in the hotel.Overall I have to say the staff made the stay as pleasant as possible but the hotel needs a severe update. I dont feel in these days those standards are acceptable

Room Tip: Make sure to ask if there is a shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

stayed here for 2 nights. room allocated was not what booked, however it was a nice room with lovely furnishings and a big bathroom. Moved 2nd morning to sea view suite , a much bigger and brighter room with large windows at front and a large window at rear.
However, the plaster work was continually falling from ceiling at bay window and under rear window big hole in wall with loose plaster. carpet filthy and curtains hanging off rail. You know with a wee bit of investment this could be remedied. breakfast was fresh and enjoyable. Dinner good, but the portions are huge. reception staff were pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Hotel

Address: Granville Terrace, Redcar TS10 3AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Redcar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Redcar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Park Hotel Redcar, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.