We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn on the Green

The Inn on the Green
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bishops Castle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn on the Green
Save
You added The Inn on the Green to your Saves list
Wentnor, Bishops Castle SY9 5EF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Bishops Castle B&B and Inns
Albox
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good food and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in August. Our rooms were spotlessly clean and the complimentary drinks, biscuits and water were a lovely touch. The en suite bathroom was again very clean and Kate had thoughtfully provided toiletries and a hair dryer. We ate in the restaurant and the food was freshly cooked and our meals were delicious and excellent value for money. Breakfast was a generous helping of local eggs, bacon, sausage and black pudding, with plenty of choice on the menu for those who prefer a lighter start to the day. Kate and Adrian are great hosts and bent over backwards to make our stay as stress free as possible. The surrounding area is beautiful and very quiet, we had a very good nights sleep with little disturbance from the pub below, just the distant bleating of sheep every now and then.
We will certainly be returning here to enjoy more Wentnor hospitality very soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

Stopped off here for lunch before pitching our tent at the campsite next door. Despite being a very busy Sunday lunchtime, the service was calm and attentive . We bought two very reasonably priced baguettes which were substantial and very tasty.
We returned the following day for evening drinks and hot nuts etc and service was just as attentive. Would not hesitate to return when next in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We recently cycled from Landsend home to the Wirral and were fortunate enough to stop for a night at this Inn. Nothing was too much trouble for Kate and Adrian and they soon found secure indoor storage for our bikes overnight. Our room was spacious, very clean and with plenty of tea, coffee biscuits, bottled water etc. We had an excellent homemade meal in the evening, and there was a great choice off the specials board.Breakfast was a full english with good quality bacon etc. It was an absolute pleasure to see that well known brands of ketchup, jams, marmalade, honey etc instead of the cheaper bulk buy options that are found in many bed and breakfast places. Free WIFI very useful. Perhaps a little bit of low level noise from the bar, but after a couple of drinks and a great meal we were soon asleep in the very comfy bed. A great stay and we hope to return for a longer stay soon to explore the countryside around and also the "foody" town of Ludlow which is closeby..

Room Tip: The family room at the back of the pub is probably the quietest if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Our room was very clean and comfortable, with plenty of space and a modern, reasonably roomy shower-room ensuite. We stayed for a friend's birthday and the evening buffet they put on for only £10 a head was fantastic. Breakfast was delicious too!
The Inn is situated in the middle of stunning Shropshire scenery, ideal for walkers. Very friendly service and great value for money.
The only tiny drawback I can think of is the sound of hubbub/music/singing which travels upstairs from the bar, at least it did on the Friday night we stayed. Earlier in the week may be much quieter, if you're after an early night.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire,UK
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Good carvery - lots of fresh vegetables nicely done. Beef was a little overdone but very pleasant staff and we'd go again

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn on the Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on the Green

Address: Wentnor, Bishops Castle SY9 5EF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Bishops Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Bishops Castle
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Inn On The Green Bishops Castle, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn on the Green, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.