We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Curry in Bishops Castle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ganges

The Ganges
12 Market Square, Bishops Castle SY9 5BN, England
(+44) 01588 638543
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Curry in Bishops Castle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is good value food, take your own alcohol. I went with my 5 cycling friends and it was excellent value for money. What a lovely town. I would love to return

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    15
    9
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jurmala, Latvia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fill Yourself”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Maybe I`m not common with Asian food in high quantities, but this explosion of taste shocks me in most beautiful way. I keep this place in my heart

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Excellent food in this small Indian Restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The selection of food was very good and the lassi drink was almost as good as in Jaipur. We ate here twice during our recent stay in the area. Although they don't serve alcoholic drinks you can take your own. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good curry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Took the advice of other reviewers and booked ahead for Saturday evening. We had a lovely curry each with a very tasty garlic naan. If visiting Bishops Castle again would definitely choose eat here. PS thanks for the tip about taking your own beer.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cannock staffordshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Service not quite spot on and food a little bland. But then again we are spoiled by having a fab indian in our town and always seem to compare every other place we visit to it and nothing gets close

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ganges also viewed

Bishops Castle, Shropshire
 
Bishops Castle, Shropshire
 

Been to The Ganges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ganges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.