We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay, should have been more!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Castle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Castle Hotel to your Saves list
The Castle Hotel
Market Square, Bishops Castle SY9 5BN, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
33% Off Dinner, B&B Rate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bishops Castle
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“One night stay, should have been more!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We had pre-booked our night at The Castle to break our journey to the Chester area. The route there was very pleasant as was the town of Bishops Castle. The hotel looks a little daunting at first glance and the steps up to the reception may be found difficult for some.
Once inside the atmosphere and staff were excellent and made us very welcome. After unpacking in our large room, we walked the town looking for somewhere to eat, but settled on eating at the hotel. The food was good (same menu in the bar as in the restaurant) as was the beer - with two breweries in town it certainly SHOULD be OK! There is a lot to explore in and around the town and we would have liked to have stayed longer - I guess we will just have to go back!!

Room Tip: Hotel is in a quiet, elevated location. Some rooms may have better views than others ours was at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCastleHotel, Manager at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at The Castle Hotel.
I'm delighted to hear that staff made you feel very welcome and you liked your large room.
We agree that the front steps to the hotel can be a little daunting for some but we do provide a rear entrance from the car park which enables guests to enter the hotel without the need to climb the front steps.
We are pleased you enjoyed your meal with us as well as some of the local Ales we have on offer and cant wait for you to come back and try some more.
Kind regards

The Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    69
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
38
188
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Caernarfon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

My daughter lives in Argoed,Clun. It was her 49th Birthday!! So the family descended on the Castle Hotel to celebrate. We were not disappointed. The food was delicious, and the service excellent. Different people turned up to serve the different courses, which was fine, except we then forgot to leave a tip for such good service, as we were not to sure, who to leave it for.
We will have to remember when we return from North Wales for her 50th!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCastleHotel, Manager at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience at The Castle Hotel.
I'm so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your celebration meal, many happy returns from us all!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon and I can assure you all staff tips get divided fairly each month.
Kind regards

The Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gruyere
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The location cannot be beaten Bishops Castle is a beautiful country town in the English - Welsh border country. My wife and I agree the hotel is the best we have ever stayed in - and we have stayed in many hotels around the world. The location is perfect you walk out the front of the hotel into a beautiful market town whilst the back leads onto a large delightful garden. The views over the town are wonderful, from our room and the beer garden. Breakfast and evening meal were great - especially nice was the fresh condiments instead of the small packages that are so often used. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The service included a daily printout of the weather, helpful guides, leaflets and maps. So many nice touches that I cannot remember them all. The hotel itself is a lovely quirky old building but the room furnishings and bed are good quality and comfortable. Very importantly the en-suite looked new and the shower was great. Free Wi Fi. Lastly, but certainly not least - it is the most walker and dog friendly accommodation we have ever stayed in. Dogs actively welcomed (and not just tolerated as in so many hotels). Finally as far as I know there is no swimming pool but the rating form will not let me leave it blank !!!

Room Tip: We were in room 7 and our friend in 12 they were both great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCastleHotel, Manager at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at The Castle Hotel.
We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your entire stay with us and are delighted that you think we are 'the best hotel you have ever stayed in', what a compliment, I can assure you it has put a smile on a lot of the teams faces.
I'm glad you enjoyed all of our little touches such as the freshly made condiments and suggested places to visit.
We do hope to welcome you back in the near future, in the meantime please keep an eye on our website for the latest special offers and best available rates.

Kind regards

The Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambs, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We were delighted by the genuine welcome we all got at The Castle, having often been disappointed by the grudging tolerance at some so-called pet-friendly hotels. Things got even better when we were shown to our room, which was large, clean and appeared to have been very recently and tastefully refurbished. There was a nice, modern bathroom with shower, supplemented by a large, free-standing bath in the bedroom - which made for an interesting evening (beats TV!). We were also located with easy access to the large, private residents' garden (well-provided with dog bowls). The food was very good, served in the cosy bar where our dog was once again welcome. Bishops Castle is a small, quirky place and The Castle is nicely located at the top of the High St, with easy access to the shops, the Shropshire Hills and the Welsh borders. We had a very nice, relaxing stay and would certainly book The Castle again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCastleHotel, Manager at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay here at The Castle Hotel.
I'm delighted to hear that you all felt 'genuinely welcome' here at the hotel, we pride ourselves in being dog friendly and its always a pleasure to hear customers feedback.
I have passed your fantastic comments about our food onto our team of chefs.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Castle Hotel in the near future, be sure to keep an eye on our website for all of our special offers.
Kind regards
The Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed for two nights as a Group of 10. The staff were so helpful, the dog had a super time and the rooms were really comfortable. Our friends all said what a lovely Hotel it was. the garden is beautiful and the bar was very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was generally great (although sausages v poor) and they coped well with all 10 of us arriving at once, plus other gustes too. The only disappointment was our evening meal, much of which was delicious but the burgers were under seasoned and the meat had a very soft, rather unpleasant texture. All in all, a really great place to stay, possibly needs to consider getting a new butcher.

Room Tip: We had a large double and it was recently decorated and very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCastleHotel, Manager at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you taking the time to write a review about The Castle Hotel.
We are so glad that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us. We were sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy our burgers. As they are handmade on the premises we do like to vary the flavours and were sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy this particular combination of beef, bacon and sun blushed tomatoes. We always value constructive criticism and have passed your comments on to the chef.
I'm delighted to hear that you found the staff friendly and you got to enjoy our beautiful garden - the nice weather certainly makes a difference.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Castle Hotel in the near future, be sure to keep an eye on our website for all of our special offers.

Kind regards

The Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed with our two dogs and all four of us absolutely loved our stay. Our room was gorgeous Thoroughly recommend this hotel if you want to enjoy long walks in the stunning countryside, good food and service and pleasant surroundings.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCastleHotel, Manager at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about The Castle Hotel.
We are delighted all four of you enjoyed your stay with us and we certainly agree that Bishops Castle and the surrounding area provides some wonderful walks that make the most of the beautiful scenery.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Castle Hotel in the near future, be sure to keep an eye on our website for all of our special offers.
Kind regards
The Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belper
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

On a lovely day you would be hard put to find a nicer place for lunch than the gardens of this hotel. The Castle sits well at the top of the town and the view from the gardens over Bishops Castle and the Shropshire countryside is just lovely. The menu is quite extensive and we had the seafood platter for two and thoroughly enjoyed it, sitting in the sunshine and looking out over the fish ponds underneath a shady vine. What a way to spend a lazy afternoon - definitely to be recommended !

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCastleHotel, Manager at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your experience at The Castle Hotel.
We are so pleased you got to enjoy our gardens in the beautiful weather we seem to be having recently, and your certainly right that the 'view from our gardens of Bishops Castle and the Shropshire countryside is just lovely'.
I do hope you are able to come back and visit us for another meal in the near future.
Kind regards

The Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Hotel

Address: Market Square, Bishops Castle SY9 5BN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Bishops Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bishops Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian Coaching Inn in one of Shropshire’s prettiest towns, with lovely gardens, countryside views and no passing traffic. Eight pretty en-suite bedrooms, three bars with open fires and an oak paneled restaurant serving great value modern British food. Or relax with a cooling beverage on our fabulous south-facing terrace and watch the buzzards and hang-gliders soar the surrounding hills. Great walking from the hotel front-door. Ludlow, Clun, Shrewsbury and Powis Castle all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castle Hotel Bishops Castle, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.