We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good value for money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Castle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Castle Hotel to your Saves list
The Castle Hotel
Market Square, Bishops Castle SY9 5BN, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off a Break Away
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bishops Castle
Certificate of Excellence 2014
UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Not good value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This hotel is situated at the top of the town and thus has marvellous views of the surrounding hills. There is plenty of parking and a useful well appointed patio/garden at the rear. The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. The food was reasonably well cooked and the menu quite varied. The building is Grade II listed and has been well maintained. Our room was rather disappointing, being small and with minimal windows that we could only see out of by standing up. The room fittings were old fashioned (particularly lino on the bathroom floor), although the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was a good size; to have then installed the smallest shower cubicle we have ever seen was inexplicable. The shower itself defeated all our efforts to control the water temperature. The room rate was significantly more than we had paid in other hotels/B&Bs in Shropshire with better quality rooms. Overall not good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    79
    11
    4
    0
See reviews for
42
232
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Situated at the top of the hill in the town, with views of the gorgeous hills all around, this is an idyllic location. A garden terrace at the rear has tables and chairs where you can enjoy the vista whilst eating and drinking. Our bedroom had long windows to the front, overlooking the town. It was large, spacious and clean and the bed was comfortable. Staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. The food was plentiful and of reasonable quality. There was a lot of useful information for walkers, including maps which could be borrowed - a real bonus. Another plus was that there was ample car-parking. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We spent 2 nights here and couldn’t have been more delighted. It’s an old building which has been updated and obviously well maintained. The bar and restaurant were top notch and the service was perfect. Breakfast in the morning couldn’t have been better. Adequate (outdoor) parking for our motorbikes was available. The rooms were great. A wonderful place to spend a few days.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We were given a voucher for Great Little Places in Wales and this was one of the few Hotels that not only welcomed dogs but did not charge for them either. An old Hotel that had been refurbished but still retained its character with wood panelling and beams, we found it very comfortable although staying during a heat wave meant that the room, under the roof, was very hot. We had spectacular views over the town from our window at the front of the hotel, while at the back there were gardens with plenty of seats for eating al fresco if you so wished. Food was very good, especially the fish dishes and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. It is a good location for walking in the beautiful countryside of the borders and near many attractive towns such as Montgomery, Clun, Church Stretton etc. Dogs were welcome at meal times in designated areas so they never had to be left on their own, which was great. The Castle Hotel has such a warm and friendly atmosphere that I would not hesitate in recommending it to people who like a place with charm. For those who prefer a new, contemporary hotel, this probably is not for you.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the building had beautiful views over the Shropshire hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodnewton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

The hotel is wonderful, full of charm with staff that are willing to go out of their way to help you. The rooms are comfortable and stocked with a large range of hot drinks for you to make. The beds are very comfortable and at night you can here a pin drop, it's that quiet!

The food is excellent and is presented very well on a variety of mediums. The menu is varied and changes from day to day with some days being set aside for special menus, such as the Local Fish menu on a Thursday. Breakfast is very good and the staff are happy to offer you breakfast outside of the standard times as well as preparing you a packed lunch should you require it.

The hotel is in a mesmerising setting and indeed looks down on the town. I would recommend it to all!!

Room Tip: All rooms are good, if your tall don't go for room 9. Call in advance and staff will try to acco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I wish I had gone onto the Castle’s own website rather than accepting Booking.com’s (only) quoted price of £115 (link via Trip Advisor), thinking it was the standard rate for all rooms. The room (no. 9) was in the roof area and half of it had a sloping ceiling that restricted walking upright to just a few feet’s width. The rest was only wide enough to accommodate a standard double bed. On checking with the receptionist, I found this was a 'small' double. The hotel website shows a range of prices for different room types, so I would have been able to choose a more suitable room (if available). As it was, I was disappointed at the room size, so will avoid Booking.com next time.

The room was nicely furnished and the shower room fittings were very good. The dinner and breakfast were superb, served in a historic, very pleasant wood panelled room. All the young staff were lovely and very professional. Bishops Castle is a great small town to visit and wish we had spent longer there.

Room Tip: Avoid room 9!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthin, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Bishops Castle has a beautiful setting and Castle Hotel is ideally positioned to take advantage of this. Centrally-located for amenities yet in an elevated location top get the most of the panoramic views over surrounding valleys. Loved the clean and subtly decorated bedroom suite with large Georgian window. Terraced garden areas ideal for drinking - even had our own terrace overlooking the valley for that early morning coffee or afternoon tea - perfect. friendly and helpful proprietors, excellent food and beer brewed in the town ( and excellent too ) - what more could we want? Even had hot sunny weather for our stay. Will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Hotel

Address: Market Square, Bishops Castle SY9 5BN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Bishops Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bishops Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian Coaching Inn in one of Shropshire’s prettiest towns, with lovely gardens, countryside views and no passing traffic. Eight pretty en-suite bedrooms, three bars with open fires and an oak paneled restaurant serving great value modern British food. Or relax with a cooling beverage on our fabulous south-facing terrace and watch the buzzards and hang-gliders soar the surrounding hills. Great walking from the hotel front-door. Ludlow, Clun, Shrewsbury and Powis Castle all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, T4B, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castle Hotel Bishops Castle, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.