We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming country hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Castle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Castle Hotel to your Saves list
The Castle Hotel
Market Square, Bishops Castle SY9 5BN, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
33% Off Dinner, B&B Rate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bishops Castle
London
1 review
“Charming country hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Castle Hotel in December. The hotel is a charming country hotel with character and beautiful views. The rooms appear to be newly renovated and are very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Downstairs there is a old-fashioned bar with a very wide selection of local ales and log fires, just what is required on a cold winters night. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    69
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
38
187
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This is the 2nd lovely meal we've had at the Castle Hotel. We were staying near Presteigne, and both times had intended to try and eat at another place in Bishops Castle, but were told there - in rather abrupt terms - that they were full and we should have booked.

The Castle Hotel food was good last time we went, so we returned there on Saturday 8th December - the lady said they were pretty full but if we could eat and vacate the table by 8pm they would fit us in gladly. as it was only 5.50 we thought we could manage that! The kitchen wasnt meant to open until 6pm but they took orders straight away, and the food was delivered quickly, was fresh, hot and very tasty. The warm chocolate brownie dessert was amazing, one of the best I've ever had.
Next time we visit the area we won't bother trying anywhere else, we'll just book and head to the Castle Hotel straight away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I stayed here for two nights on business. Bishops Castle is a very interesting quiet town that time seems to have forgotten. Both the town and the hotel are very pleasant. My room had obviously been recently re-decorated and was quite large and nicely furnished. My bathroom had a shower cubicle but no bath.
The dining areas comprised a small room used as a restaurant in which breakfasts were served but it was not available on the two evenings I was there as it was in use for meetings by a private group. Three rooms in the bar area are also used for dining, one small enclosed one and two linked ones. I was allocated tables in one of the two linked rooms both nights. The food was good but the dining areas were not really to my taste, I found them a little drab and a bit on the cool side despite the open fires. I asked to move tables on the second night as there was too much draught coming from an ill fitting window.
Overall, I enjoyed my stay and thought it good value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Hotel was suggested by friends getting married locally. Excellent location and great ambience with beams, real ales and open fires enhanced by comfy chairs and plenty of reading matter dotted around all adding to the warm welcome. The only downside is the church clock chiming on the quarter hour which did distract from a perfect night's sleep but other than that I would heartily recommend it and also suggest that if you need a taxi then book early as there is only one in the town!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hotel had a lovely country feel and rooms were comfortable. We ate in the restaurant on our first night which we thoroughly enjoyed. Hotel is animal friendly which is good for dog lovers not so good for allergy sufferers! Would definitely stay again next time we visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Emlyn, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Enjoyed an all too brief one night stay at the Castle Hotel, with a nice welcome, lovely room, and great food and service.
It was so nice just to have a peaceful nights sleep in a quiet location that is all too hard to find with many hotels these days.
Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The Castle Hotel in Bishop's Castle was built as a hotel in the early 18th century using stone from the castle that had been demolished. It's fascinating to see what people 300 year ago expected when staying in a hotel; indeed what the characters from a Jane Austen novel would have experienced. Now there's plumbing and heating our ancestors wouldn't have known but there's still the panelled dining room and creaking staircase.
The decor looks rather tired but the bed was comfy and the showerroom newly done up.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Hotel

Address: Market Square, Bishops Castle SY9 5BN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Bishops Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bishops Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian Coaching Inn in one of Shropshire’s prettiest towns, with lovely gardens, countryside views and no passing traffic. Eight pretty en-suite bedrooms, three bars with open fires and an oak paneled restaurant serving great value modern British food. Or relax with a cooling beverage on our fabulous south-facing terrace and watch the buzzards and hang-gliders soar the surrounding hills. Great walking from the hotel front-door. Ludlow, Clun, Shrewsbury and Powis Castle all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castle Hotel Bishops Castle, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.