We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An gem of a hotel in a gorgeous little town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Castle Hotel to your Saves list
The Castle Hotel
Market Square, Bishops Castle SY9 5BN, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
33% Off Dinner, B&B Rate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bishops Castle
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An gem of a hotel in a gorgeous little town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

Visiting our family in Shropshire decided to make a short break out of it and stay in a hotel for a change. Couldn't have chosen better! The Castle is a handsome early-Georgian building in a little square off the main street in Bishops Castle. Our room was huge, pleasantly furnished but not ultra modern, and looked out over the top of the town, and at under a £100 was good value. The bars are a bit retro, with bar billiards and wood panelling, but have genuine character. They had a wide choice of real ale on tap as befits a place like this, but the food was the highlight. Brought the in-laws for dinner and we all agreed it was one of the best meals twe'd had for ages.
Modern, imaginative and beautifully cooked. Ate in the restaurant, which was nice, but should probably have eaten in the bar like everyone else seemed to be doing as it had more atmosphere. Again very good value
All round a fantastic little hotel that doesn't rip you off.

Room Tip: Front and side rooms probably have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    70
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
38
189
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

I have been to the Castle Hotel a number of times before but never stayed until last month. My girlfriend and I decided to make a weekend of our trip and booked a room, knowing that the setting is superb (right at the top of the village), the food has always been good and we wanted to take better advantage of the beer garden, which has amazing views of the surrounding countryside. It really is a good spot to enjoy ale or two.

The Hotel didn't disappoint, we had an excellent stay and were really pleased overall. Our room was well sized, really comfortable and nicely decorated, shower was very powerful (something that makes a big difference in my book) and it was generally very quiet and peaceful.

We have always found the service to be spot on, and staying over has only improved our impression of the Hotel. If you have never been before, expect a traditional Inn with some modern styling and decor etc, a couple of separate bar areas which have a cosy feel, a dining room for restaurant guests, good food and a great selection of local ales. I feel it is well worth a visit!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

We stayed overnight at this hotel over May bank holiday and loved it!

We arrived early so went into the bar area for a coffee where the owners came talking to us to welcome us to the hotel and were both very friendly. We were also able to check into our room earlier than the designated check in time which after an early morning start was great. The room itself was very nice, clean and offered more amenities than most hotels we've stayed in and the decor was gorgeous (turns out it's not long been styled by Laura ashley, I took pictures as want our room the same at home!) we had lunch at the hotel and the food was good and they catered for our 4 year old perfectly and the games that were in the restaurant kept her occupied while we finished our meals. We had a lovely time and found all the staff very friendly and welcoming, the gardens were very beautiful, relaxing and a nice area for our little one to run around and play in. We had a fantastic time and look forward to going again.

The Proctor Family

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, England
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

Having read good reviews about this hotel, we were interested in staying here. So, after having had lunch in Ludlow we stopped here to do a "recce". I'm glad that we did as I would not have wanted my first visit to be an over night stay. To be fair we did not eat here, but there was no one in on a Saturday afternoon at about 3.30, a bad sign. The interior was very run down and not of the standard that their room prices would suggest. We only had a drink and none of us were satisfied. The wine was disgusting. If you like a good glass of wine don't come here, and my husband and friend had a beer which was unpleasant. This is not the sort of place that I would like to stay at and I'm glad that we only had a fleeting visit.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover kent
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011 via mobile

Just spent 5 nights at The castle Hotel. It was really relaxing and enjoyable. The area is stunning and really tranquil. The hotel is beautiful and really tastefully decorated, with some stunning furniture. The room was lovely and had everything we needed. The owners and their dog were so welcoming and went that extra mile by finding our fussy 6 year old a tin of tomato soup from their own cupboard. The food was good with lots of choice. Would recommend this hotel and would be happy to go back there.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biddulph, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

I visited The Castle with my partner last Saturday for an evening meal and had a lovely meal within a traditional old building, surrounded by friendly, attentive staff. The food was excellent, being both hot and delicious and the menu extensive. If you want a superb meal without being ripped off then definitely visit The Castle - if you want fancy trimmings and small portions, all set within a trendy building, then go elsewhere!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

What a great find in a historical and interesting area , I am sure we will be back

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Hotel

Address: Market Square, Bishops Castle SY9 5BN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Bishops Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bishops Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian Coaching Inn in one of Shropshire’s prettiest towns, with lovely gardens, countryside views and no passing traffic. Eight pretty en-suite bedrooms, three bars with open fires and an oak paneled restaurant serving great value modern British food. Or relax with a cooling beverage on our fabulous south-facing terrace and watch the buzzards and hang-gliders soar the surrounding hills. Great walking from the hotel front-door. Ludlow, Clun, Shrewsbury and Powis Castle all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castle Hotel Bishops Castle, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.