We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and expansive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Haparanda Stadshotell

Haparanda Stadshotell
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Haparanda Stadshotell to your Saves list
Haparanda Stadshotell
Torget 7, Haparanda 953 31, Sweden   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Haparanda
Umeå, Västerbottens Län, Sweden
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice and expansive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Fantastic building in Haparanda. The banguet room upstairs is really something. Room OK, nothing moore. wi-fi OK. In central Haparanda. Breakfast is OK.

But Character is fantastic. Doors etc is from another century, ver nice

But expansive.....

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    19
    15
    3
    2
See reviews for
3
18
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Not expensive by Swedish standards I suppose as Sweden is an EXPENSIVE country. Nice room, friendly staff and beautiful city. Sauna was clean and breakfast was very good as well as healthy with yogurts, fruit, breads and muesli.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

A very nice hotel. A bit expensive, but you get what you pay for. Good food, nice rooms, and very good with the free sauna. Wish we lived closer to the stairs/elevator, a bit far in the hallways to walk. Breakfast was ok, and wifi was great. Should have had some stores close by, but not the hotels fault.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harstad, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

When we arrived the first time no one was at the reception! I rang the bell and waited for several minutes before i decided to go out and come back later.

-Came back a couple hours later and was met by a friendly older woman who gave us a double room. When entering the room the disappointment was huge, it was down right dirty! The bathroom was full of dark long hairs all over the place.. rather nasty! Since we arrived in the middle of the night we were too tired to complain and decided to go to bed. Laying in bed my friend felt a sharp pain, and we discovered the bed was full of broken glass!!!!!

We were both shocked, and after discussing it we came to the conclusion not to complain.. we just didn't have the energy to wait for our room to be cleaned or change the room!

The decision to never come back was already made!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lulea, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

A friend and I arrived at the hotel at about 20:00, with no reservation. The hotel staff were very friendly and immidiately made a plan to offer us a room. The lady at reception even offered to keep the sauna on for an extra hour to allow us time so settle in before using it! The room was very nice, as was breakfast the next morning. Very nice finishing touches. Only reccommendation for the hotel would be an upgrade of their bathroom.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I had really good time in this hotel. The building is beautiful and most importantly staff is super friendly. We also enjoyed really good dinner there. Top quality. The breakfast was ok, but example bacon was quite burned etc. So a little focus to breakfast in the future. Also the rooms need a modernization. Showers are aweful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The building is beautiful, but the inside is in desperate need of some renovation. This could be so much better with a bit of redecorating. The room was small but functional, unfortuneatly also kind of dirty. Dust and spiderweb on the furniture, and as the top madrass came a little out of place we saw ALOT of dust on the bed. Disgusting! The corridor outside our room smelled like all the steam from the restaurant downstairs came out directly in it.

Breakfast is very good and check in/out quick.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Haparanda Stadshotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haparanda Stadshotell

Address: Torget 7, Haparanda 953 31, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Norrbotten County > Haparanda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Haparanda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Haparanda Stadshotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haparanda Stadshotell Hotel Haparanda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haparanda Stadshotell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.