We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotelito Desconocido, paradise on Earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotelito Desconocido

Save Saved
You added Hotelito Desconocido to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotelito Desconocido
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Playon de Mismaloya SN, Km 133.50, La Cruz de Loreto 48380, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hotelito Desconocido, paradise on Earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This hotel is very special. We flew to Vallarta and were picked at the airport by the pre arranged transportation. The 2 hour plus drive is great, tropical forest, lush landscape. We arrived and we promptly received by Irene and José. We reserved ocean front cabins, yarda away from the magnificent Pacific. Every cabin is different and is huge and with a special touch. You can shower in a cascade like almost outdoor superb way. The pool is wonderful with hammocks inside. The beach is pristine and the "estero" a bird sanctuary. Service is perhaps the best we have experienced, personal and discreet, yet efficient. It is as good as a Banyan Tree, yet much more personal and friendly, more authentic. The included meals (all of them) are top notch, alcohilic beverages have a fair price. The spa is great, Paty is friendly and professional. Its ecological approach is unique and authentic. It ranks as a world class boutique hotel. We are definitely going back. Dont mind the safety warnings f the US Dept, which are paranoid. Perhaps they should publicize the crime rate in DC before seeing the straw in others eyes.

Room Tip: If you can, ask for either El Arbol or El Valiente cabins
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose S, Director General at Hotelito Desconocido, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Madam/Sir,

I would like just to thank you for your opinion posted, it has been a pleasure to have you with us and please do not hesitate to contact me if you would like to visit us again.
Best regards
Jose M Sanchez-Harguindey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    8
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
9
64
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
EDMONTON, ALBERTA, CANADA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We were on our way to the beach by La Cruz de Loreto, and had been staying at the hotel in town Santa Rosa (maybe the only one in town!), when we saw signs to the Hotelito (Hotelito Desconocido). We made the detour (it's about 15 minutes from town) to go check it out, however the hotel was closed for maintenance during the low season and was not due to open until Sept 9th (2012). I talked with the manager and he very kindly gave us a tour of the hotel reception area, the cabañas for guests, the restaurant, and bar/lounge area as well as the grounds. As the staff were also there and preparing for the new season, we were able to have a drink and fruit plate at the bar and stayed for an hour enjoying the tranquility of the hotel, lagoon, and ocean and watching the various birds enjoying the lagoon, and stumbling across at one point a giant iguana which quickly ran away up a nearby palm tree. I was able to get a photo of a much smaller version a few minutes later along the same pathway.

The hotelito is what is described as an ecological hotel, and I think they have met this goal exactly. The amount of manufactured product in the hotel and on the grounds is at an absolute minimum: this really is an ecologically friendly hotel and rustic elegance would be the best way to describe the whole area. Electricity for lighting is not used in the cabañas, just candles and light sticks along the pathways. This would be a super romantic get-away location. I loved the almost outdoor shower area in one of the guest cabins which gave a great view of the lagoon, ocean, and outdoor natural beauty. I could just imagine being out in a secluded jungle showering under a cascading waterfall - well heck that is what it just about was!

One area of guest residences is only reached by a short boat ride crossing the lagoon. The boats do not use noisy gas engines, they are powered by oars. mmm do we remember what they are? Nothing disturbs the tranquility of the area except that provided by nature. There are no discos close by. Later that day we went further along the beach where there is a research station protecting and studying the turtles that come every year to lay their eggs and return back to the ocean. I will return soon to accompany one of the researchers that I met to go out at night and watch the turtles coming in to lay their eggs. The researchers move the eggs to a safe protected area so the eggs can hatch in safety and not be taken by some of the locals to sell later.

There is an incredible expanse of undeveloped virgin beach on both sides of the hotel if you want to take a short or long (or a very long) walk along the beach at any time night or day.

The hotel is surrounded by a what could best be described as a stockade-like fence. Something that you could imagine was used hundreds of years ago when the Americas were first being settled (a polite euphemism for what it actually was). There are also various high towers in the compound where you can go to get a spectacular view of the surrounding area (ocean, beach, jungle, mountains) and also to be served a wonderful meal at night by candlelight. I can just imagine that!

There is a very large spa area for massage, yoga, etc where I was immediately relaxed just being there and looking at it.

I don't know if my pockets will ever be that deep to allow me to be able to come for what would be an incredible romantic weekend but I will surely return for a meal or just to relax in the bar area the next time I am in this area which is less than 2 hours south of Puerto Vallarta.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose S, Director General at Hotelito Desconocido, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Madam/Sir,

Thank you very much for your comments posted. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you would like to visit Hotelito Desconocido again.
Best regards
Jose M Sanchez-Harguindey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We spent 4 days and 3 nights at El Hotelito Desconocido. The place is breathtaking and the service outstanding. Jose M and Irene manage the facility with great attention to detail and they go out of their way to make you feel welcome. The entire staff is eager to please and take good care of you. Every meal was a treat. The Palafitos are very well designed, charming and comfortable – each very unique. Service ranged between outstanding to excellent. Our 4 days at El Hotelito were the closest to paradise we have ever been.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose S, Director General at Hotelito Desconocido, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Madam/Sir,

Thank you very much for your comments posted, please do not hesitate to contact me if you would like to visit us again.
Best regards
Jose M Sanchez-Harguindey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We drove to Hotelito from Vallarta and it was totally worth it. The hotel grounds are IMPECABLE!!!! The staff is well trained the food is delicious. The rooms are beautiful and romantic. Yes it is expensive but you get what you pay for! And we gladly payed. We went with a group of friends and it was fun. It is perfect for couples. We would all go back!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose S, Director General at Hotelito Desconocido, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Dear Madam/Sir,

I would like to thank you for all your comments about your stay with us at Hotelito. Please do not hesitate to contact me for anything you may need or if you would like to visit us again.

Best regards

Jose M Sanchez-Harguindey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

That is the greeting that awaited us at the Hotellio Desconocido reception. And what a home it felt like. Situated an hour and a half south of Puerto Vallarta is the most incredible coastal estuary and white sand beaches with beautiful thatched roofed pavilions incredibly situated between the estuary and the ocean. Eco tourism at its most luxurious, with netted canopy beds and 1000s of candles lighting the night. Dinners in the open sided pavilion cantilevered over the estuary were the freshest of farm to the table, most grown or caught or raised in the adjacent properties... Guests are rowed across the wildlife laden estuary to their private pavilions after dinner. So far away from light pollution, the sky is alway ablaze with stars.. As a sea turtle sanctuary, guests are encouraged to assist with releases of sea turtles when they hatch and are ready to return to the sea. Time stands still in the most perfect of holidays. And in the morning, you open a tiny window and raise your flag to let staff know you are ready for your morning mexican coffee and cookies. Luxurious, romantic, relaxing, worth the effort to get there (tho they will pick you up in PV and drive you to the resort if you desire) How can I heap higher praise on this intimate incredible resort.... I dare say I cannot...

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room by the ocean on the far side of the estuary from the dining pavilion
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose S, Director General at Hotelito Desconocido, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Dear Madam/Sir,

I would like just to thank you for all your comments posted about your stay. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you would like to visit us again.

Best regards

Jose M Sanchez-Harguindey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Hotelito Desconocido is a marvelous concept of Sustainable Ecotourism Resprt & Spa located in a priviledged location within the Mexican Pacific Riviera in a the state of Jalisco. Me and my partner went on a get away vacation as a previous celebration of our anniversary. We could not have chosen a better place. The high standard of hospitality and care for nature were constantly permeating us with beauty all around us during our stay. The rustic abient created by candle lights and torches at night made it very special, and the clear night sky filled with stars is a reminder of celestial harmony.
The high quality of food, environmentally friendly setting and service are spectacular. And the last but not least important, the Spa is a must! Rosangela who directs the Spa will make sure you will go back home feeling totally renewed and with a healthy mind, body and spirit.
We started our day with great coffee and fruit service at our terrace while enjoying the sunrise and observing flocks of beautiful birds all around us, our day followed by Rosangela's Yoga instruction, revitalizing and soothing. Later in the day the Chlorine free infinity pool was awaiting us overlooking the vast blue Pacific Ocean.
The food, the hospitality, the Birdwatching and the Spa are just a few reasons to go back.
Gracias Jose Maria, Irene, Rosangela, Gabriel y Don Cruz por hacer de nuestra estancia algo muy especial.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Touring The World
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

I had been dying to visit this hotel and was delighted to hear it had finally reopened after a complete rebuild. It was SO worth the wait! It is hidden away off Highway 200 around an hour and a half south of Puerto Vallarta (an easy drive or they'll come pick you up from PV airport).

The entire hotel is a huge wildlife sanctuary, set on a stunning strip of beach and a beautiful lagoon. So peaceful.

Our room was fantastic (we went for El Musico on the ocean which meant a row boat ride across the lagoon for Breakfast and Dinner). HUGE, with a fabulous circular bed and enormous tub. Every detail in the room was perfect, from the furniture to the lovely cookies and chocolates on our first night. Despite being only lit by candlelight at night, every room still had plenty of sockets so we could keep out technology charged. It really was the best of both worlds.

The food was fabulous. Exceptional even for the luxury hotels on this coast. The chef is a very very talented young man who has created some stunning dishes using interesting and unusual local produce.

The staff were superb. Open, friendly and informal. Spending time there was like being at a very exclusive house party (if you wanted it to be - if not, you were allowed privacy and space). It was well run but an extremely competent manager who could not have been more helpful and welcoming.

We didn't try the spa but the facilities and menu of treatments looked great.

We will definitely be back. Our only regret was that we didn't stay longer.

Room Tip: The ocean front rooms have lovely seabreezes but you do have the noise of the waves. We loved that b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose S, Director General at Hotelito Desconocido, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Dear Madam/Sir,

I would like to thank you for your comments posted about your stay with us. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you would like to visit us again.

Best regards

Jose M Sanchez-Harguindey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotelito Desconocido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotelito Desconocido

Address: Playon de Mismaloya SN, Km 133.50, La Cruz de Loreto 48380, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Costalegre > La Cruz de Loreto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in La Cruz de Loreto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotelito Desconocido 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotelito Desconocido means “little unknown hotel.” And this sanctuary reserve and spa, hidden along Mexico’s perfectly pristine Costalegre, is an ecological wonderland of virgin beaches and blue lagoons—with the Sierra Madre Occidental as a stunning backdrop. Built to resemble an enchanting fishing village, the hotel consists of individual, thatched-roof palafitos, lit by candlelight and perched along the beach and lagoon, accessible via winding wooden walkways and boats. It’s a magical place to completely disconnect from the world and feel sequestered in sheer luxury, whether enjoying a seaside massage, dining on fresh seafood or horseback riding at the water’s edge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splendia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Hotelito Desconocido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotelito Desconocido Hotel La Cruz De Loreto
Hotelito Desconocido Mexico/La Cruz De Loreto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotelito Desconocido, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.