We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort for the whole family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Copamarina Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Copamarina Beach Resort to your Saves list
Copamarina Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Rte 333 Km 6.5 | Caña Gorda Beach, Guanica 00653, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Guanica
Pleasantville, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great resort for the whole family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

As a person and family who are not usually the "resort type" we really enjoyed it and will return in the future.

I actually stayed with my family for a three day stay last September, 2013. It was a lovely resort with nice grounds, lovely staff and surprisingly good food. As a Puerto Rico native who lives on the mainland it was nice to have inventive, tasty takes on local favorites on the menu of a resort and not just the usual continental fare usually found at these establishments. Even though the food was not cheap it was of good quality and it came with an amazing view! Nice pools and kiddie pools located throughout. Just a nice place to stay. Our only reason for knocking one star off is that they should create a better children's play area. There is certainly plenty of room to create a truly great kids playground/play area that is tucked away from the guest rooms so as not to bother anyone and give kids a blast. the existing plyground was not that great. But other than that a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Splurge for the ocean view rooms, especially the once on the ground floor if you have kids. Makes ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    276
    106
    40
    21
See reviews for
255
328
18
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cabo Rojo, Puerto Rico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

From the I time I got in the staff was very accommodating. You can tell the staff get along well and work as a team. The service from the restaurant staff is excellent. Very friendly staff. I carried my SUP board and they were willing to accomodate me in a room very close to the beach.
The maintenance staff is up early everyday to keep the surroundings clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed there for 3/2. Three adults in one room, and we were confortable. The restaurant prices are affortable. And the Gillingan's catamarand was excellent an accesible. The hotel guest relations is knowledgeable, very polite. A family member used it, prior to our stay, for a wedding and it was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

After piloting my rented, gigantic four-wheel-drive truck from San Juan through the highways and rural roads of the Puerto Rican night, the warm light, teak, and fresh air of Copamarina greeted me. Relaxing Caribbean music ebbed from the restaurant and bar, and I soon found myself seated for an outstanding dinner. The cocktails were well made, the dinner was fantastic, and the wine selection suited my needs perfectly. Throughout my stay, regardless of the meal, the food, cocktail program, and service exceeded my expectations. Great seafood was always available.

The pool stays open late and I enjoyed an after-dinner dip under the stars, with only a few other aquatic night owls sharing the space. Retiring to my simply appointed but comfortable room, I fell asleep to the sound of waves crashing on the beach. Upon waking, daylight revealed that my patio opened to an expansive lawn with views to the beach cabanas, the ocean, and the pools. There are resort activities, including an excursion to Gilligan's Island, which is worth the trip.

The staff deserves mention as being very friendly, available, and professional. It appears that the people working at the resort enjoy it.

The aura permeating this place is one of relaxation. This was where I felt most laid back during my trip, which threaded through several areas of Puerto Rico. I highly recommend this place and would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, New Jersey, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

A nice resort hotel, in a quiet and beautiful waterfront location. Friendly helpful staff, very nice good quality food and drinks n the cafe, with an especially good white sauce Mofongo with Grouper!
It's not cheap for the facilities on offer, the rooms are clean and comfortable, but pretty basic if truth be known. At this price one might expect a complimentary breakfast, but it's an a la carte pay as you go (albeit very good). We stayed three nights, which was enough to do and see all we wanted in the area.

We left happy, but feeling a little underwhelmed.

Room Tip: Beach view of any sort....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Great hotel in front of the Caribbean Ocean. Take the boat to Guilligan Island for a day on the beach. My kids had a great time. You can rent kayaks. All the rooms have view to the gardens and ocean. Has two pools and two kids pools. The food is excelent. Try the mofongo with dorado .... amazing!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights over a weekend last week. The setting cannot be faulted. A superb private beach in a secluded bay with very calm and crystal clear waters. The view from a beachfront room was amazing.

The staff are very friendly. This is an excellent resort for water sports and we can highly recommend the kayak rental out to Gilligan's Island. It was a trip highlight for us and so beautiful (worth taking snorkelling gear out with you as well).

Some minor annoyances made it fall just below perfect. The WiFi was very inconsistent when the hotel was busy, shower never really got past warm to hot being hot and it took over a day for a requested iron/iron board to appear.

However, these were minor quibbles compared to the great time we had here and we would definitely stay again. The locals pack this place out on weekends and that can only be a good sign!

Room Tip: Beach front rooms fantastic.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copamarina Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copamarina Beach Resort

Address: Rte 333 Km 6.5 | Caña Gorda Beach, Guanica 00653, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Guanica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Guanica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Copamarina Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Puerto Rico's undiscovered Southwestern coast is one of the Island's best-kept secrets. This beautifully landscaped, 20-acre tropical resort is situated on an isolated 3/4 mile crescent of Caribbean beachfront. The resort offers the finest in relaxation, dining, diving, sailing and eco-tourist wonders to create the perfect vacation experience. All inclusive package available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Copamarina Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copamarina Beach Hotel Guanica
Copamarina Beach Resort All Inclusive
Copamarina Beach Resort Puerto Rico/Guanica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copamarina Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.