We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the place to slow down, recharge, have fun.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Copamarina Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Copamarina Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Copamarina Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Rte 333 Km 6.5 | Caña Gorda Beach, Guanica 00653, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Guanica
Annapolis, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“This is the place to slow down, recharge, have fun.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My husband and I wanted someplace different to celebrate our anniversary. We love anything on the water, love kayaking, boating, hiking, and this place offered it all. Since we live near DC, we decided not to go to San Juan. The reviews we read of this place were mostly great, rave reviews, with a few bad ones. Do NOT believe the bad ones! From the time you pull in you are greeted with friendly people. We did something we've never done before; at check-in, we offered a $20 to the receptionist, who then cheerfully upgraded our room. Do you need to, I don't know. But we got a room in one of the newer buildings, number 5. And we got the upper floor, which made for an even lovelier view. Building 4 is also newer, the rooms in these 2 are bigger. If a big balcony is your thing, go for #516, it's on the end and has an extra large balcony.
Our room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. The king bed was heaven to sleep on, the refrigerator kept our drinks nice and cold, everything worked great, good water pressure in the shower, big soft towels, comfy sofa. But the views, ahhh, so gorgeous. The grounds of the Copamarina are simply beautiful and well kept. Lots of hammocks to laze in, beach chairs which you can take into the water and laze the day away.
The casual on site restaurant is open all day, the buffet breakfast was delicious. They have an omelet station, and also several buffet options, fresh fruit, breads, everything you need. The prices were not at all outrageous, but again, we're from DC, so we know from outrageous. The more formal dining option was only open on weekends, I guess because we came in June, not their high season. Thank goodness we were there on the weekend, because we had the most amazing churrasco that we've experienced in a long time. I'd heard about the mofongo, but didn't get to experience it there. Two steak dinners with a bottle of wine, and it was barely $100 including the tip. The accompanying salad was also perfect.
Mornings we lazed, in the heat of the day we took road trips. Front desk suggested Cabo Rojo, about an hour's drive west. Unfortunately they didn't tell us that the beach fills up quickly, we were turned back by the "vigilantes", who told us we could park on the side of the road and walk 40 minutes, which we declined. This led us fortuitously to a restaurant where we did experience a mofongo made in heaven. It must have been, because it took a hilariouly loooong time to get! But worth the wait. If you go to Guanica, go to the Bahia Salinas Beach Hotel, it will be worth the drive.
This is not a 5 star resort, it is not all glamour and luxury. It is simply wonderful, from the rooms to the staff to the food to the fun things to do. We did kayak to the private island, and were glad we did. If we'd taken the boat, we'd have been stuck there for an hour til the boat returned. And the island was completely crowded by the locals. We did swim a bit, then kayaked back. Lovely lovely water! We wanted to do a sunset cruise, but there weren't enough people interested, so the boat didn't go. We also did a day trip next day to Ponce, where the front desk suggested we eat at Pita's Seafood on the beach. A lovely location, the food was foul. Don't go there.
Our only complaint was the time it took to get to this resort. It is a traffic clogged 90 mile drive, and road signs and directions are vague, at best. We took the long way back to the airport, around the entire west side of the island. Meh, the traffic was better, but we thought we'd see more water than we did. We did go off the main road twice to check out towns we thought would be interesting to see, bad idea. Took us 3.5 hours to get to San Juan.
All in all, it was a great experience. We both agreed that we would have loved to stay longer, spent some time in San Juan, it is obviously where it's all happening. But we got what we came for, relaxation, good food, and seeing a new place.

Room Tip: Buildings 4 & 5 are newer and bigger, upper floors have slightly better view, just from being el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    401
    252
    88
    34
    18
See reviews for
229
295
17
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Copamarina a very nice hotel with beatiful, well-kept grounds on the southern coast of Puerto Rico. Diving, kayak, paddle board, bicicle rentals, beautiful and clean swimming pools and hot tub. Wonderful restaurants serving excellent food and drinks. Rooms are bright, clean with nice balcony. Staff was so nice and professional. We really have a great memories of the Copamarina and certainly will come back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third building will be perfect, second floor more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This was a great experience all around. My husband and I stayed here for three nights last February for our anniversary/Valentines. The Copamarina is a big place, but not so big that you feel lost or swallowed by the setting. Our room was bright and clean, we loved the balcony and way the sun entered the room during the day. There are so many options on or near the property from the pools and hot tub, to walking the beach or dry forest, to the wonderful on site restaurants. If you want to really enjoy this destination, skip Alexandras and stick with Las Palmas, the outdoor restaurant that serves delicious food throughout the day.

We hired a private dive company in Parguera our first full day and rented a kayak on our second from the Copamarina. Kayaking to "Gilligan's Island" was really a treat, and a perfect way to spend a long, luxurious afternoon. Pack a snack, and wear sandals so you can explore all the tiny details.

The staff was so nice and professional. We really have great memories of the Copamarina and if we make it back to this part of Puerto Rico this is certainly where you will find us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punxsutawney
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stayed at Copamarina for three days and was able to rent a kayak and paddle around the shore lines in and out of the mangroves, go to an unihabitated island just off the shore.
The southern side of Puerto Rico is very different from the San Juan region - less tourists, and more Puerto Rican families. Lots of activities on the southern side - there is actually a desert, there is an irredescent bay of water - and on a full moon night if you go swimming at sunset, you glow

Room Tip: From what I could tell, all rooms are great - just depends on the size of you family/group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Copamarina is a very nice hotel with beautiful, well-kept grounds on the southern coast of Puerto Rico. The diving is first rate, along one of the world's longest walls and the boat docks on the property. The area is fairly undisturbed, making it even nicer. The hotel's beach is nice and the pools and whirlpools are great. We enjoyed breakfast and dinner at the outdoor restaurant and the food was good and selection varied. The hotel is next to the dry forest which made for interesting exploring. If you take the road along the beach east from the hotel, you have the dry forest and cacti on one side and the ocean and palm trees on the other side, with some nice beaches. We also went to the main entrance to the dry forest and stopped along the way at a bakery that had really good sweet rolls. Guanica is about a 3 hour drive from San Juan, but well worth the trip.

Room Tip: It looks like all the rooms have an ocean view. Ours was on the first floor and you could walk righ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Had a wonderful time - just wish the beach was more of a beach. Very relaxing in general. Only complaint would be the workman starting on the roof so early. and the BUGS. Restaurant could add some more selection/choices but good overall. With bugs/flys that come with eating outdoors the staff should probably be a little quicker about clearing finished meals. Staff was very friendly and helpful. This is the place if looking for "nothing to do" but relax.

Room Tip: all rooms seemed ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Just came back from a one-night only stay but I wish I would've stayed longer. Girls at the Reception are just wonderful (thanks for everything Jeaseny) as the rest of the staff. Alex with the water equipment rental was particularly helpful and encouraging, so we ended up kayaking to Gilligan Island (the earlier you do it the better as there are strong winds in the afternoon).
Wish I could've stayed longer and wish I didn't leave my purse in the luggage room (just a little piece of advice which should've been common sense). Everything else was just great, already planning to go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Copamarina Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copamarina Beach Resort

Also Known As:
Copamarina Beach Hotel Guanica
Copamarina Beach Hotel
Copamarina
Copamarina Beach Resort All Inclusive
Copamarina Beach Resort Puerto Rico
Copamarina Beach Resort Puerto Rico/Guanica
Address: Rte 333 Km 6.5 | Caña Gorda Beach, Guanica 00653, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Guanica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Guanica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Copamarina Beach Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Puerto Rico's undiscovered Southwestern coast is one of the Island's best-kept secrets. This beautifully landscaped, 20-acre tropical resort is situated on an isolated 3/4 mile crescent of Caribbean beachfront. The resort offers the finest in relaxation, dining, diving, sailing and eco-tourist wonders to create the perfect vacation experience. All inclusive package available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Venere, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Copamarina Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copamarina Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.