We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Copamarina Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Copamarina Beach Resort to your Saves list
Copamarina Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Rte 333 Km 6.5 | Caña Gorda Beach, Guanica 00653, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2 & the 3rd is Free
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Guanica
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice and relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The only annoying part of this hotel is the drive up. The long road up
to the resort is very narrow and twisty. You have to constantly focus to
stay on your side of the road as car or bus passes in the opposite direction.
I only add this because it seems like we went back and forth quite a bit and I hated
the drive!

We checked in at 3pm (check in time), but our room was not ready. They called
me on my cell phone when it was ready (1hr later), and gave me free drink coupons
and another hour added to my check out time as compensation.

The hotels grounds are very scenic and upscale. Several pools, hammocks, and
beach chairs front a beautiful beach. There is a very nice bar/restaurant overlooking the beach with some TV's and tables where they serve breakfast, lunch and dinner. The
indoor restaurant was closed during the time of our stay. There are free kayaks and
water sports available along with a full service dive shop. Unfortunately, due to strong
wind and surf conditions the dive boat would not go out during our stay. The rooms
were very spacious and impeccably clean. No complaints at all. All rooms have large
balconies. We paid extra for an ocean front room, but regretted it once we checked in.
It was great, but looking around I don't think it was worth it as all of the rooms seem to
have a nice view of the beach. We had breakfast, lunch and dinner at the restaurant
bar and all meals were excellent. It is all a bit pricey though, and you should definitely
buy drinks and snacks ahead of time to save some money...the room has a refrigerator.

Room Tip: No need to upgrade to oceanfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    300
    116
    46
    24
See reviews for
277
358
19
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mays Landing, New Jersey
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This is difficult to describe, but lets see what I can do with this. Copamarina is a place for locals.
Its huge on the weekends. And any time of year the winds are coming in from offshore. People go there to relax and eat. The food is the major attraction. Primarily dinner. Its a feast and that is the only way to describe it. Even though its on the water depending on the wind there can be a huge amount of algae and swimming just does not work out. They can function as a regular hotel, but that is not really what they do as others have noted. Just understand what your getting before you get there and you will be fine.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

I went to Copamarina with my husband and daughter (2 years old) from Sunday to Tuesday. When we arrived the room wasn't ready. We have to wait around half and hour. I have no complaints with the room overall. The only thing I didn't like was the loud sound from the A/C. The first night I couldn't sleep very well. I enjoyed the view from our balcony; it was very relaxing. My daughter liked so much the pool and the beach was perfect for her. We have breakfast two days at Las Palmas Cafe and the food was good. We paid around $40 (including tip) each day. The restaurant and pool bar were closed. They are only open on weekends. My advice: 1) you could bring food from home and eat in your room (there is a mini fridge; coffeemaker; and the hotel has ice machine); 2) if you are going to Guilligan Island, you have to pay $7 each for the roundtrip (in the island is nothing to eat, so you have to bring snacks and drinks); 3) do not visit "San Jacinto Club/restaurant" near the hotel; the food is overpriced, so you better eat at the hotel for the same cost and more quality.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I would like to star by saying that this is not a hotel, is more like what Puerto Ricans called “Parador” or small inn, which are cheaper than a hotel, but Copamarina is a parador with a 4 star hotel price. People in the front desk were not very helpful; especially a young lady with a bleach hair had such a bad attitude, like if we were there uninvited, she looked upset every time we asked a question. The beach looks great in pictures, but is infested with mosquitoes, no wonder I never saw anyone enjoying the hammocks and/or beach chairs. No one could stay there for more than 5 minutes. The place is very humid and the AC does not really work, all my paper and bed were always wet.
I was there on a business meeting so we needed it to have breakfast before 7, I was told by the front desk that if we talk to a server in the restaurant they could fix coffee and bagels for us, (there is nothing else around that area where we could buy coffee) When we talked to the person in the restaurant about having coffee, she was so angry that she throw the coffee and bagels to us, literally, she threw the stuff that the glasses broke, we felt so bad, unfortunately, we could change hotels, last day we were lucky enough to have the cook, I think his name was Jose, he was so nice to us, he stopped doing what he was doing to served us, he even apologized for the other lady attitude.
They didn’t change the bed which is ok, but they didn’t change the towels, or replace the shampoo or conditioner, on Friday night they had a live music party right outside my room. I had to work on Saturday and called the front desk to ask until what time they would play the live music. They really didn’t care.
The next day I saw couple of families cancelling their stay due to the loud music the night before.
Copamarina was really a bad experience, I was very happy the moment I left.

Room Tip: if you want to have a good room stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We were in San Juan visiting and old frinend and he suggested we go to the southwest side of the island and try the Copamairna. We booked 2 nights and it was perfect! Check in was a pleasure, the room faced the ocean, a pool and restaurant. The staff was ready to do anything we asked and happy to make our stay the best always smiling and ready. Food and drink was great and prices in line with the type of property, actually a great value copared to San Juan. I wish I had brought my kids here when they were young, they would have had a blast. The pool activities, lawn areas gardens and grounds were very well kept. I plan to send my adult children for some fun!

Room Tip: The newer rooms had quierter air conditioners, but it didn't bother me. The newer rooms seemed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We booked a honeymoon trip to Copamarina in March. In May they called to tell us that they had booked the entire hotel and we would need to stay elsewhere for all but the very last day of our trip. They offered some suggestions (after repeated calls) but made no apologies and offered no incentives. We were left scrambling to find a new hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We spent our Anniversary at the Hotel and my partner scheduled so many wonderful surprises !! Room beautifully decorated with roses, champagne, Sunset Trip and many other surprises in conspiracy with the staff. Everyone of them are special ! Thanks for an unforgettable 12th Anniversary. Expect us back soon !!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Copamarina Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copamarina Beach Resort

Address: Rte 333 Km 6.5 | Caña Gorda Beach, Guanica 00653, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Guanica
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Guanica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Copamarina Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Puerto Rico's undiscovered Southwestern coast is one of the Island's best-kept secrets. This beautifully landscaped, 20-acre tropical resort is situated on an isolated 3/4 mile crescent of Caribbean beachfront. The resort offers the finest in relaxation, dining, diving, sailing and eco-tourist wonders to create the perfect vacation experience. All inclusive package available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp. and Odigeo so you can book your Copamarina Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copamarina Beach Hotel Guanica
Copamarina Beach Resort All Inclusive
Copamarina Beach Resort Puerto Rico/Guanica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copamarina Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.