We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All Inclusive only when exclusive of problems” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Copamarina Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Copamarina Beach Resort to your Saves list
Copamarina Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Rte 333 Km 6.5 | Caña Gorda Beach, Guanica 00653, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Guanica
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“All Inclusive only when exclusive of problems”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Another diving adventure, but now in Puerto Rico. We heard so many good things about the Black Corals in the South of Puerto Rico, we decided to try it and booked an all inclusive getaway; all beverages, food and diving. The accommodations were nice and huge, condo like with Balconies and views of the ocean.
Our first day of diving, the boat went kaput, so headed back and scheduled for the afternoon instead......but not so....not repaired yet, so the next day.
Next day came the second boat also went kaput, so headed back in a hurry to catch another boat from Parguera (45 minutes away).....
Aside from the problems, which could happen......the hotel management refused to give us anything in return, as we bought the package that included diving for 2 days, which we had to pay at another dive outfit since their boat was not in good shape. They didn't even offer to pay for our dive trip elsewhere......all inclusive? Well, issues are inclusive as well.......

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    274
    106
    40
    20
See reviews for
254
327
18
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bayamon, Puerto Rico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Good place to see the sea front the hotel in the day and also the night and relax, Once you get there you park almost in front of the front desk so that is great. Have two restaurants to eat (Las Palmas Cafe) open every day for good breakfast, lunch and diner and other formal (Alexandra Restaurant) , And the night near the beach is is amazing.Clean, fresh, good service excelent for all seasons.

more

Room Tip: "Rooms on the south side are quieter"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

If you want to enjoy a relax atmosphere, this is the place. No crowded people, only Caribbean Sea breeze and a lot of water sports to do in this quietly waters. Gilligan Island is amazing, you can do snorkeling or simply sleep in front of the view. Restaurants are pretty clean and menu was great in an affordable prices (if you did not buy any all inclusive package). You can walk awhile to visit the Dry Forest and appreciate the biodiversity there.
We had a great time with my family. Remember, if you want to be relax, this is the place.

Room Tip: 201 and 301 buildings are great if you want to enjoy the Caribbean Sea from your balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Good place to relax, but to expensive for the quality of the room especially the bathroom. Getting there is not easy is a long drive from San Juan. Once you get there you park almost in front of the front desk so that is great. They have two places to eat Las Palmas Cafe open every day for breakfast, lunch and diner, good food and not expensive. The other place is Alexandra these is a fine dinnig restaurant is only open on the weekends so that I din't try but have a great menu and is not that expensive. They have all kinds of watersport things to do, kayak, snorkleing, hobby cat. They even take you to these island that is a most name Gilligan's Island. Also have 5 pools great for kids and grownups. The rooms are very simple nothing fancy. One of the problems is theres no coolers allow so that makes it dificult for bringing stuff for drinking or anything you want to bring, even thou they have small refigirator in the room. The service is good but not great.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabin O, General Manager at Copamarina Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
“It should not be a $260.00 a night hotel”

Elsuper07,

Thank you for your comments in regards to your stay at Copamarina.

By mid of 2013 we are expecting to have renovated our rooms with new upgraded features such as: new furniture, fresh neutral color paint, new linen, among others to better serve the comfort and relaxation of our guests in all of our different rooms category .

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed the food quality offered at our property Restaurants. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Rabin Ortiz

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My boyfriend and I had an overall satisfactory time at Copamarina. The pools were nice, there were plenty of chairs at the beach, and the two restaurants had mostly great food.

Our initial impression was not the greatest as we arrived one hour early and told our room was not yet ready (completely understandable). After one hour, we went back to check-in and told that our room was still not ready. With no place to change or put our things, we spent the next hour waiting in the lobby. Finally when our room was ready, we found the bathroom was not as clean as we would have liked (we found some hairs in the bathroom, not a huge deal, but unpleasant) and were confused about why we had to wait so long. Overall the room was furnished well and had a great balcony. I would recommend asking for a room on the second floor so you have a full ocean view. The grounds are also kept very nicely.

Our second issue was with the dive shop. The staff was friendly, but they lost or somehow confused our snorkeling reservation even though we had called ahead a week in advance. Their reservation system is just a white board, so I think it could use some improvement. We ended up not going snorkeling at all.

We also took the ferry to Gilligan's Island, which was not a pristine beach like we thought, but a small mangrove island packed with people.

This was both of our first times to a Caribbean resort, so it is possible our expectations were a little too high. Overall, we enjoyed our time together here for 3 days, but I think we will try out other resorts in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction CO
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The South coast of Puerto Rico is a sleepy family atmosphere. We stayed a weekend here, driving down from San Juan. Rooms are perfectly nice, clean and well-kept. Pillows were lumpy and thin, mattresses could use an update.

Pool and other areas were well kept as well (and it was booked when we were there). Staff were friendly and helpful if you asked for anything.

There really are no southern beaches - there is a strip you can walk along, the water has turtlegrass. It won't hurt you, but if you are thinking of sugarsand beaches with no seaweed, think again. If you want to swim in the glassy-still lagoon, you need to jump off the pier end where it's deeper. They have a floating platform too for lounging on.

One thing I didn't like was a lack of drinking water in the rooms - there was some available in the lobby area. Coolers are not allowed in the rooms and there are no fridges.

Restaurants were pretty decent. We ate there a couple of times. Service was good and food was solid, if not stellar. Remember - this is a rather isolated area.

I'd say it was a good dependable "average". If I were in the area again, I might choose to stay there again, but then I might try someplace else (caveat - there aren't too many other places).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabin O, General Manager at Copamarina Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Cynthia G.,
We appreciate your comments. We are glad you had a good timer at our Resort.

We are currently undergoing room renovations which are expected to be completed by mid of 2013. These new add-ons to the Resort will include king size pillows and linen for your comfort.

We recently incorporated an amenity request system to our reservation department. Any moment prior to your date of arrival or during your stay you may request to have your mini fridge filled up with your favorite soft drinks, snacks, fruits and/or wine.

Looking forward to greeting you on your next visit to Copamarina!

Rabin Ortiz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Copamarina is a nice resort with excellent service and friendly employees. Mr. Rabin Ortiz, the general manager, is always smiling and very helpful. The rooms are very clean and each have a nice balcony. The beautiful gardens are well kept. The resort is kid-friendly. It has a playground, 2 children's pools, and the beach has shallow waters. On Friday night there is live music, and Saturday is movie night! The food is great and fresh. You have to try the "Mofongo relleno de mero" (mofongo stuffed with grouper in garlic & lemon sauce). Delicious!
We are definitely coming back soon! Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabin O, General Manager at Copamarina Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
“The best place for a quiet relaxation in Guánica!”

Dear ZuleikaLiz,
Thank you for posting your comments in regards of your stay at Copamarina. We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed our facilities. Hope to see you soon!

Rabin Ortiz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copamarina Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copamarina Beach Resort

Address: Rte 333 Km 6.5 | Caña Gorda Beach, Guanica 00653, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Guanica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Guanica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Copamarina Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Puerto Rico's undiscovered Southwestern coast is one of the Island's best-kept secrets. This beautifully landscaped, 20-acre tropical resort is situated on an isolated 3/4 mile crescent of Caribbean beachfront. The resort offers the finest in relaxation, dining, diving, sailing and eco-tourist wonders to create the perfect vacation experience. All inclusive package available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Copamarina Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copamarina Beach Hotel Guanica
Copamarina Beach Resort All Inclusive
Copamarina Beach Resort Puerto Rico/Guanica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copamarina Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.